We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and central but noisy...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aurora Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Aurora Guesthouse to your Saves list
Aurora Guesthouse
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Freyjugata, Reykjavik, Iceland (Miõborg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 108 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Athens
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Friendly and central but noisy...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

We stayed at the hotel in two different rooms, at the beginning (Andrea Building) and at the end (Aurora Building) of our road trip in Iceland. Both times the pros and the cons were the same. Starting from the positives, the guesthouse is located in the centre of Reykjavik, in a walking distance from the BSI Station and the main sights of the town. The room was clean and the breakfast was more than satisfying (although the space was small for such a big guesthouse). The owner was very friendly and helpful and despite our late (at 02:00 A.M.) arrival in the first time, everything was organized correctly.
The main disadvantages are two: the noise and the bathroom. Due to the difficult locks and the lack of sound insulation, a late arrival can wake up all the building. The steps are narrow and this makes it even harder. On the bathroom issue, during our first stay, the wash-basin was located in the same space with the shower so you definitely didn’t want to have a shower barefooted. Finally, there is only one shower/wc room in each floor which has 6-7 rooms, so in the worst situation 14 people will need the bathroom simultaneously and the queue will be long, especially in the morning.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    43
    14
    9
    3
See reviews for
8
28
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Great location a few minutes from City Centre and just around the corner from Hallgrímskirkja - you can't get lost. Basic but value for money. Clean, good beds, many of the rooms have wash basins. The owner was very helpful, first by letting me in early (it wasn't high season yet) and later by making phone calls to sort out a booking problem with a tour company. Although this guest house is not on the list served by the Flybus, you can take a ticket to and from guesthouse Sunna, which is just 50 meters away.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Let's forget the (short) queue for bathroom, and the small breakfast area... this is a very lovely place, very clean, and offering warm, oven cooked bread for breakfast. The owner is very nice too, and it's 5 mins walk from the main street. I will go back there !

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

The hotel is small, but has a perfect location, turn the corner and you'll see the Hallgrims. For me who didn't have a great deal of money, this hotel is cheap. And it's clean and has comfortable beds and friendly service. Some people complain that it's terrible to share a bathroom with other 11 people, but I don't think it's true. Each floor has a clean bathroom. Anyway, I slept very well and enjoyed this 5-day-trip there a lot.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

I had pre-booked due to a recommendation in Lonely Planet which I normally find reliable. I wasn't expecting anything great - budget guest-house with shared bathroom. However I didn't expect to share said bathroom with at leat 11 others, down a steep flight of spiral stairs and right next to the kitchen area.
Rooms were clean and bed comfortable. Breakfast great.
But I was to be moved twice in the first 3 nights (after booking at least 6 months ahead). Normally I would put up with this as it happens all too often to single travellers but with the noise, crowding and bathroom inadequacies I moved on ASAP. Siggi was very accepting of this

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

the room was clean and the bed comfortable; the manager and staff were courteous and helpful

Location wise, great for the city centre, But the best thing is is its proximity to the Hallgrímskirkja.

For a short stay, especially when you spend all day out and about in the city, it's a great place to stay. The noise outside and the staircase did bother some people, but if you are a good sleeper it won't bother you.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

Stayed at the Aurora for three nights as part of a tour and stayed in room 23.

Positives - Guesthouse is located close to the centre of Reykjavik (walking distance to central shops/bars and cathedral etc). Room was basic but we had been led to expect this in Iceland (if a bit cramped) and was clean - two single beds, a table & chair, wardrobe, bedside unit, lamp and washbasin and the blackout curtains did a great job of cutting out the 24hr daylight. Breakfast was typical scandinavian fare - choice of cereal, tea/coffee/juice, bread, cheese, meat, tomato/cumber, egg, jam etc.

Negatives - Noise: the layout of the Guesthouse is such that all the rooms lead off one wooden staircase. The noise from people going up and down the stairs and the noisy door locks tended to echo up and down the stairs and could be clearly heard in the rooms. Our room was also next to the toilet/shower and we could hear when people were using the room. We got through this by wearing ear plugs but others in our group weren't so prepared. However, the real issue for us was the shared toilet/shower. Room 23 was on the first floor together with 4 other rooms and there was just one toilet/shower. We checked the guesthouse room plan and even though a couple of rooms were singles others were family rooms, which meant with all rooms full potentially 14 people needing to use one toilet/shower (the toilet and shower are in the same room). It wasn't quite that bad for us - just 8 people booked into our floor, but that was bad enough. The ratio on the other floors wasn't much better. Overall this place may be considered good value based on location (although difficult for us to say how the cost compares because it was booked as part of a package) but if I came back to Reykjavik independently I would choose to pay more and stay somewhere with en-suite facilities or at least where there was a better ratio of bathrooms.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aurora Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Guesthouse

Address: Freyjugata, Reykjavik, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Aurora Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers and Despegar.com so you can book your Aurora Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aurora Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.