We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice Thai food, simple decor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Krua Thai

Krua Thai
Tryggvagotu 14, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)
561 0039
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #124 of 289 restaurants in Reykjavik
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Miõborg
Geneva
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very nice Thai food, simple decor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We ate here as a family of six in July and really enjoyed the food especially the red curry and the spring rolls. The style and decor is very simple. You order and pay at the bar and they serve the food at your table. Water from jugs is free and, as my children pointed out, the 2 litre bottles of Pepsi were inexpensive by Icelandic standards. Overall, would recommend if you want a tasty, filling, no frills meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    33
    45
    27
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Great for a quickies...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Our friend and family recommend this one and took us here for lunch.
It's a to go / take out and dine in restaurant.
We order the food first in the main entrance, and major credit card are accepted.

It's simply and minimalist chair and table for dining in and it's nice.
The price is affordable as well.
There is a high table, that you can get your waters for drinks and some condiments, such as chili sauce, soy sauce and utensils. The area is clean and neat.
The food is great, nice portion, it's tasty. Don't forget to try the spring rolls, it's awesome.

They have menu both in English and Islenka, and some of them they do have the food picture too, so it's easier when to order when you don't really know what kind of food is that you like/want.
And they do speak English too, perfect!

Their email is: kruathai@kruathai.is
And free WiFi as well..

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Krua thai is not so bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This use to be my favorite thai place, but now i have to say im little bit disappointed with the food, i had som green curry and it was to salty and not enough curry taste,then we also had pad thai that was my favorite of all there, they could do better with the cooking ! the vegetables where poor and it´s getting to exspensive to eat there.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect for take out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

I had a yearning for Thai food and found this place by accident on my walk back from the old shipping port. I was there early (6pm) and got take out and was the only one in the restaurant. The food was superb!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“uncomfortable”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We went to this restaurant on a cold and windy night and everytime some one entered we were blasted with cold air from the street.The food was unexceptionable we had several dishes and only the stir fried pork was better than average while there specialty the pad thai was one of the worse I've ever had and I do get it often at other Thai restaurants. One other thing I didn't care for was the bell over the entry door which was irritating but atleast let us know we were in for a blast of cold air

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Krua Thai also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Krua Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Krua Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.