We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great cruise on a sunny morning” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Special Tours - Puffin Express

Special Tours - Puffin Express
Reykjavik Harbor, Reykjavik, Iceland
8920099
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$41*
and up
Ranked #111 of 258 Activities in Reykjavik
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Puffin Watching tours with Special Tours, Puffin Express, have been popular for over a decade! Special Tours is a pioneer in Puffin Watching in Iceland. Our expertise, 15 years of experience, and our especially designed boat, Skúlaskeið or “Old Skuli”, make us the leading expert in the area. The Puffin Express adventure starts at the Old Harbour of Reykjavík and they only take one hour. It is an inexpensive and charming option for everyone.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
425 reviews 425 reviews
254 attraction reviews
Reviews in 156 cities Reviews in 156 cities
222 helpful votes 222 helpful votes
“A great cruise on a sunny morning”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

As Puffins are virtually the national bird of Iceland, we thought that we should see more of them than we had seen in northern Iceland. The cruise out of Reykjavik harbour (late morning)lasted for about an hour and circled a small island where they were known to nest. There were many puffins in and around the cliffs and the water and we were able to get lots of good photographs.
This particular cruise in the small boat was full and therefore a bit difficult to move around the boat. A different time slot earlier would have been better.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whalewatchingexpress, Manager at Special Tours - Puffin Express, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
We thank you for your review and for joining our Puffin Watching tour from Reykjavik Harbour!

The Puffins sure are cute - and the great thing is that you can see them just 15 minute boat ride from Reykjaviks Old Harbour, so the 1 hour is well worth it - and as you said its a great photographic opportunity:)

We have 4 departures per day so there should be plenty of space for everyone.

Hope you had a lovely time in Iceland and that you will get a chance to visit again.

Kind regards,
Special Tours Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    21
    11
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“No Puffery Needed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Fun little tour of fun of fun little bird!! Tour guide Ewan knew and the birds. Great talk, fact filled with some heart. A winner.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whalewatchingexpress, Manager at Special Tours - Puffin Express, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
We thank you for joining our Puffin Express Tour from Reykjavik and many thanks for your review.

We are glad that you enjoyed the tour as well as our guide Ewan:) - We always try and put our heart into what we do, and working out on sea around the beautiful wildlife makes it easy to be extra passionate about what we do:)

We hope you had a lovely time in Iceland and that you will be back to visit us again!

Kind regards,
Special Tours Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We saw numerous puffins on this trip (July 20). It is true you don't get right up next to them, but they are a wild animal! But you can see their bright faces and feet as they fly away (or tumble back into the see as they fail to gain altitude!). we also got to see a seal from a distance. This was a great one hour tour that you can easily fit into your day in the city. We also took advtange of a 10% discount coupon found in the magazine aboard Iceland Air.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whalewatchingexpress, Manager at Special Tours - Puffin Express, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
We thank you for joining our Puffin Express Tour from Reykjavik and thanks for the review!

Great think about the wildlife, never know what will happen on the way - and seems that the seals are paying us a visit this summer:P The distance from the island does depend a bit on the weather, tide and such, but we have one of the best tours for getting extra close due to the shallow drought of the boat. We however have to respect the wildlife and the birds so we take caution when around the island as well:)

The puffins are so cute, especially when they are trying to fly - they can be a bit clumsy:P

We sure hope you had a fantastic time in Iceland and that we will get to see you again someday!

Kind regards,
Special Tours Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“puffins plus a bonus seal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

You spend about an hour on a boat that cruises to an island puffins tend to frequent. Be aware that you don't get a chance to see the birds very close up, since the boat just pulls up near the island, but you'll get an OK view. On our tour, we were fortunate to spot a seal eating a catfish, which was actually far more exciting than the puffins. All in all, it's a pleasant hour spent on boat relaxing, which is a nice break in the summer if you've spent your other days hiking and kayaking. If you're lucky enough to get a sunny(ish) day, I'd recommend this tour as an after-lunch digestif of sorts.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whalewatchingexpress, Manager at Special Tours - Puffin Express, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Many thanks for your review and for joining our Puffin Express Tour from Reykjavik!

We are glad that you got to enjoy the tour and that you even got to see the seal on the way - that is whats so great about the wildlife tours, you never know exactly what will happen along the way:) The distance from the island does depend a bit on the weather, tide and such, but we have one of the best tours for getting extra close due to the shallow drought of the boat. We however have to respect the wildlife and the birds so we take caution when around the island as well:)

We sure hope you had a fantastic time in Iceland and that we will get to see you again someday!

Kind regards,
Special Tours Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Puffin Express Tour - Perfect Little Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Puffins are fascinating and fun little birds, but like all animals, you can't really get too close without them swimming, running, or flying off. Therefore, to spend any more than an hour on a boat watching them from afar could become quite tiresome. I thought this trip was perfect...the guide was knowledgeable and funny, the boat was clean and well-maintained, and we admittedly also got very lucky with weather which undoubtedly helped our experience. This place is also a very short and easy walk from all downtown Reykjavik hotels so I think this was a great way to spend an hour or so on our last day in Iceland!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whalewatchingexpress, Manager at Special Tours - Puffin Express, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
We thank you for your review and for joining our Puffin Express Tour from Reykjavik!

We are glad that you got to enjoy the Puffin Cruise and like you said its a great way to spend an hour just minutes away from Reykjavik centre - perfect for the last day or for a early start to a busy day, as we start as early as 08:30 in the mornings:) The island is so close, that we wouldnt need much more time for the puffin tour, 1 hour is the perfect amount we think:)

Hope you had a great time in Iceland and that we will see you again in the future!:)

Kind regards,
Special Tours Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Special Tours - Puffin Express also viewed

 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Special Tours - Puffin Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Special Tours - Puffin Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.