We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat, clean, needs one more shower” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Litla Gistihusid

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Litla Gistihusid to your Saves list
Litla Gistihusid
Sundstraeti 43, Isafjordur 400, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 9 Isafjordur B&B and Inns
Switzerland
Top Contributor
284 reviews 284 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
“Neat, clean, needs one more shower”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed one night at Litla Gistihusid and it was ok. Isafjordur is quite small, thus location is not that important. The room was clean and cozy, the kitchen a little bit old. It would have been good with one more shower or at least seperate shower and toilet to avoid lines in the morning. The host was helpful and gave tips on good restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed a few nights - was OK and fairly cheap, but was more like staying in a hostel than what I would consider a guesthouse (Maybe it's different in Iceland).

We had our own twin room - clean, basic and very compact. Self catering kitchen was spacious and well equipped.

Big downside was only one tiny bathroom for the whole guesthouse (our guidebook incorrectly said that there is one bathroom for every two rooms) - it became rather frustrating waiting for it to become free, it seemed to be permanently occupied. Was a bit noisy at night with other guests slamming doors and going up and down the corridor to use the bathroom and kitchen.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Isafjordur is the biggest town in the Westfjords, but there is an apparent paucity of choice in places to stay (and no hostel to provide budget alternatives). Based on the few reviews on TA, we stayed two nights at Litla - and it was OK. It is in a nice old part of town and we had a choice between a more spacious room upstairs next to the kitchen and bathroom that served six, or a smaller room downstairs that shared a bathroom and tiny kitchenette with one other room. It was nice to be offered the choice (we arrived early that day) and chose downstairs as hopefully being less exposed to noise from other guests using upstairs bathroom and kitchen, but regretted the choice as it was not a great place to spend any time indoors, and while the kitchenette and bathroom arrangement was fine when we were the only occupants downstairs, it was not comfortable when the other room was occupied (kitchenette opens straight onto the rooms and you had to walk through it to the bathroom next to it), though would work OK for a family or friends occupying both rooms and sharing the facilities. It does however have a separate entrance to the rest of the guesthouse. This was also one of the more expensive places we stayed in 15 nights in Iceland but did not provide a better standard of accommodation than the less expensive places we stayed. Being downstairs we did not see much of the proprietor, but he did answer without fuss our early morning call to fix our electricity which had gone off.

Room Tip: Choose an upstairs room unless you are family or friends needing two rooms, in which case downstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halle
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Ok strange title but hey his self-made shower was heaven after a 500 km trip to beautiful Isafjordur. Very nice host to chat with and gave us good advice. Will definately stay here again when i'm in the area !

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We were welcomed by the friendly owner Halldor, who speaks brilliant English (he's lived in the USA). He's very knowledgeable about the area and its wildlife, the weather and local restaurants and services. The rooms are simple and very clean with good quality, comfortable beds and a blackout blind at the window (handy in summer if you have trouble sleeping in daylight). The spacious kitchen is very well equipped and the bathroom, as noted by another reviewer, is the best in Iceland. The guesthouse is very well located in the oldest part of town (central - and close to the harbour) and it's walking distance to the supermarket, tourist office and Vinbud. The price was also very reasonable - we were charged ISK 5,000 per person per night for sleeping bag which is currently about £25 each. Halldor would be an ideal source of advice for anyone planning on exploring the local area including hiking and also told us about the best restaurant we've found in Isafjordur - the Tjoruhusid - don't miss it. I would happily go back to the Litla Gistuhusid any time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

we were staying 5 nights in isafjördur and made hiking trips in the surroundings.
very clean rooms, best bathroom in iceland, very friendly and helpful manager, well equiped kitchen, strange wall paintings in the corridor though ;).
we really can recommend this place to stay some nights!
.............................................................................

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

The owner of this guesthouse was very friendly and helpful. We were staying here either side of our hiking trip to Hornstrandir and we were able to leave a couple of small bags at the guesthouse while we were away, which was very useful.

The guesthouse itself has a well equiped, clean kitchen guests can use and clean, comfortable rooms. The rooms had both a black out blind as well as curtains, which was good for keeping out the midnight sun!

Possibly the best thing was the wonderful (shared) bathroom, which provided a very welcome hot shower after 5 days of no washing on Hornstrandir!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Litla Gistihusid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Litla Gistihusid

Address: Sundstraeti 43, Isafjordur 400, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Westfjords Region > Isafjordur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Isafjordur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer homely and cozy accommodation located in the heart of Isafjordur. Conveniently in walking distance to the town centre, coffee shops, restaurants, swimming pool, tourist information, and local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Litla Gistihusid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Litla Gistihusid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.