We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful breads and goodies” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gamla Bakariio

Gamla Bakariio
Aoalstraeti, Isafjordur, Iceland
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 10 Restaurants in Isafjordur
Cuisines: Bakeries
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Wonderful breads and goodies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stopped in for a coffee and enjoyed a lovely capuchino and breakfast roll which melted in my mouth. Free Internet and friendly staff.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    10
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“A yummy Bakerie with great views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We visited Gamla Bakariio when were visiting Isafjordur for a few days in late May. Their breads are delicious and the pastries are yummy. What we especially loved was to sit at a table by the window overlooking the square while enjoying our pastry and people watch. On one occasion, a group of preschoolers with their teacher walked across the square and came into the Bakerie. They pulled up tables and chairs and put them all together near us. They were extremely well behaved. Soon, out came cocoa and cookies for all the children from the Bakerie ...it seemed to be the Bakeries treat. We really liked this Bakerie.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Good bakery but a bit chaotic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Nice bakery with lots of selections. The service at the counter was a bit chaotic. Maybe it was just the chaotic family in front of me, but there were two staff members and they should have been able to handle things better.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Lives up to the hype”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

I am not sure if there is another bakery in Isafjördur, but with this around the need is not big. Everything we had here was very good, my favorite was the flatbread which was so very different from the supermarket stuff it was hard to believe that it's supposed to be the same thing...

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
1 review
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

the selection of goodies was too much to resist! try the neopolitan!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gamla Bakariio also viewed

Isafjordur, Westfjords Region
Isafjordur, Westfjords Region
 
Isafjordur, Westfjords Region
Isafjordur, Westfjords Region
 

Been to Gamla Bakariio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gamla Bakariio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.