We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff, clean, new and close to the airport” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Keilir

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Keilir to your Saves list
Hotel Keilir
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hafnargata 37, Keflavik 230, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Keflavik
St. Petersburg, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice staff, clean, new and close to the airport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

This family run hotel was a nice find-- right on the "main street" in Keflavik with bars and restaurants right outside the front door. Our room was very comfortable and faced the water. We were so happy to wake up and only have a five minute drive to the airport instead of the 45 minute drive (from Reykjavik).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    43
    28
    15
    9
See reviews for
41
58
25
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

Me and my husband stayed at the Hotel Keilir the 24th of July. We had an early morning flight and thought we might enjoy an hour longer sleep by staying in Keflavík. Hotel Keilir got reccomanded by fellow travellers that we met through our journey. It is surely a shame that we did not stop for longer in Keflavík, as apperantly there is alot to explore there, such as the bridge between two continents, the blue lagoon is only 15 min´s from the hotel and a viking exhibition which actually shows a real vikingship. It is a shame we did not come earlier, as the hotel was great value for money and the husband and wife owning it, showed us much care and were most willing to help us with whatever questions or amendments we needed. Thank you very much for a pleasent stay on our last night of our journey! ! !

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

Really friendly welcome, small but very comfortable, modern & clean rooms. Breakfast was mostly gone at 6am, we think due to large group leaving just before us. Also, be sure to check if their shuttle is operating when you need it - it's not 24/7. We were very happy to spend our last night in Keflavik as it allowed us to explore the beautiful peninsula the day before.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

We stayed at Hotel Keilir after our flight from Keflavik was cancelled. The lady at reception was very helpful and offered suggestions for dinner and arranged our transport for the following morning without us asking.

The rooms were new and spotless clean. Granted, there was nothing in the room beyond the TV and the beds but it was nice.

There was a very loud pub immediately opposite the hotel which was open until after 05:00 but some ear plugs solved that problem.

Breakfast was simple but tasty and we departed with smiles on our faces.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

Very friendly, fantastic that we could get breakfast at 5:30 am, nice sized rooms with a view of the sea at a very reasonable price. Very good fish restaurant recommended, walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

I stayed at the hotel for one night as I missed my transfer to Newark . The place is clean, family run, and has all basic commodities. Rooms have a tv, bathroom with a shower, great view of the ocean, free internet, in-room safe and two twin beds. Breakfast is very good, cereal, yogurt, eggs, bread, jam, ham, cheese , coffee , tea , juice and fruits. The place is run by a very nice couple, they do their best to accommodate the needs of their guests. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a nice, basic, clean place that is also close to the airport . Thanks Bryndis !

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks, North Dakota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

This family-owned hotel is clean, bright, quiet and its owners are "above and beyond" accommodating. We had airline issues that left us stranded in Iceland for 4 days and the owners Bryndis and Ragnar bent over backwards to help us deal with the airline, as well as take great care of us. They encouraged us to "enjoy Iceland" and gave us ideas on how to spend our
time. When we missed the bus to the Blue Lagoon 20 miles away, they personally drove us because they didn't want us to miss visiting the geothermal springs. The breakfast was fabulous and ran from 5:30 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. The hotel is next door to shopping and great dining. Our room had a great view of the North Atlantic and was next to the walking path on the harbor. We couldn't have been "stranded" in a nicer place or with nicer people!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Keilir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Keilir

Address: Hafnargata 37, Keflavik 230, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Southern Peninsula > Keflavik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Keflavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Keilir 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Keilir is a brand new luxury hotel in the heart of Reykjanesbaer. Located on the city's main streat, Hafnargata, shopping and other amenities are within easy walking distance and Keflavik International Airport is just a 5-minute drive away. Hotel Keilir is a fantastic place to serve as your base of exploration for Iceland, especially for passengers looking to make the most of a shorter stopover in Iceland. The view from Hotel Keilir is unique both from the street and oceanside. There are a number of quality restaurants in the vicinity and the Blue Lagoon spa and resort is just 15 minutes away. Reykjavik is 40 minutes by bus or car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Keilir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keilir Hotel Keflavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Keilir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.