We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Keilir

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Keilir to your Saves list
Hotel Keilir
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hafnargata 37, Keflavik 230, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Keflavik
Cork, Ireland
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Lovely place, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2009

We enjoyed our stay at this small keflavik hotel on the main street of the town. We had originally intended to stay here only one night before our flight, but decided to add a night as a base for reykjavik as well. It worked out well for us, it's only 30-40 minutes from the city on an excellent road. 15 minutes drive from the blue lagoon.

The staff are really nice, helped us out with our online flight check-in (printing the boarding passes), booked taxis, very friendly and had loads of advice about the area. The rooms are clean, a bit plain, all white. Good showers, tiled bathroom. Help yourself buffet breakfast, with toaster available too. Standard continental breakfast, hot bacon was also available.

Parking is available across the street. There is a restaurant next door, supermarket up the street, and some bars outside too. View from our window was of the sea.

Taxi to the airport cost 1800kr (around 10euro?), and saved us a days rental of around 130 euro, as we dropped off the rental car the night before our flight.

Curtains are semi-blackout, so decent sleep. Twin beds again (seems to be the norm in iceland) but there are doubles available in some rooms here when we asked, they just had been taken by other people first. Fair enough, we were looking for a last-minute room at 10pm.

A very good hotel, well priced.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    43
    28
    15
    9
See reviews for
41
58
25
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alsace, France
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

This hotel has a non-descript facade on the main street of Keflavik. We were warmly welcomed by the son of the proprietor, and were shown to a minimalist room on the second floor overlooking the sea. Everything worked, though we were surprised to find BBC programmes on the TV. The room was comfortable and clean, very suitable for an overnight before an early flight. The wake up call was on time, and although we were leaving at 5 am, an extremely good breakfast was waiting for us. Our prebooked taxi arrived on time and took only 5 mins to the airport, arriving before the first Flybus of the morning from Reykjavik, so we didn't have to queue for long to check in.

Just two points: we had a very disappointing and expensive meal at the RAIN restaurant - the Bridge - the only one of our holiday. There was no one in the Thai restaurant next to the hotel either, but then it was only 8 pm. It is worth walking to the 10-11 supermarket - 500 m after turning left at the hotel entrance - and buying sandwiches or snacks.

Also ask for a quiet room, as the hotel is opposite a popular Irish pub. We went to bed at 10 pm and saw a few folk entering, but when we got up for breakfast at 4.30 am, it was heaving with clients drinking on the pavement in front of the hotel!!

And finally - the hotel has NO LIFT so you may find your baggage heavier than you thought in carrying it up to your room!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

The hotel is near from the sea, on the centre of Keflavik.

Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2009

I stayed at Hotel Keilir during a stopover in Iceland for one night. Some of the best service I've ever experience. From booking the room via email (a better website could help though), to checking in at midnight no problem, all was super. The hotel and room was very nice and clean, modern and well designed, with an amazing view. Not your typically family run hotel. It exceed my expectations!

They even arranged breakfast for me on my own time as I was waking up later than when it was normally served. I also was offered a ride to the Blue Lagoon by Torsten (who works there and his family owns the hotel) as it was on his way to Reykjavik and it saved me an expensive taxi ride.

Overall, excellent experience! Would for sure do it again and recommend it to anyone who need a place during a stay in Keflavik or a stopover (only 5min from the Airport).

R

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2009

A quiet diversion from the hustle of Reykjavik, our room had a beautiful and oh so peaceful view of the ocean. While the room itself was more than satisfactory, it was the special attention given to us by the proprietors that will make this stay memorable.

Bryndis helped us with bus information and arranged for taxis. Breakfast was included and was in a nice setting, but it was above and beyond when in the afternoon after roaming the town and the coast, Bryndis offered to make us fresh coffee. And for less than our bus fares would have been, we were thrilled when Bryndis offered to drive us to the Blue Lagoon herself on a day when her schedule matched ours better than the city bus.

It was the perfect choice for our last few days/nights in Iceland..

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kóp
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2009

I had a very nice evening in keflavik. it has to offer a very lifely nightlife. The hotel has a great staff and they where very helpfull and friendly .

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reykjavik
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2009

this hotel has great personal service that goes beyond the normal duty of a hotel staff. everything is new and trendy but classic still. the price is very reasonable and its located as downtown as it gets. i can recommend it fully to groups or individuals, no matter the purpose of your visit.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Keilir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Keilir

Address: Hafnargata 37, Keflavik 230, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Southern Peninsula > Keflavik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Keflavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Keilir 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Keilir is a brand new luxury hotel in the heart of Reykjanesbaer. Located on the city's main streat, Hafnargata, shopping and other amenities are within easy walking distance and Keflavik International Airport is just a 5-minute drive away. Hotel Keilir is a fantastic place to serve as your base of exploration for Iceland, especially for passengers looking to make the most of a shorter stopover in Iceland. The view from Hotel Keilir is unique both from the street and oceanside. There are a number of quality restaurants in the vicinity and the Blue Lagoon spa and resort is just 15 minutes away. Reykjavik is 40 minutes by bus or car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Keilir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keilir Hotel Keflavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Keilir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.