We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hostel just a few minutes from Keflavik airport.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fit Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Fit Hostel to your Saves list
Fit Hostel
Fitjabraut 6a | Njardvik, Keflavik 260, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Hostel just a few minutes from Keflavik airport.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

On arrival at the hostel, which is a 5 minute drive from the airport, I have to say it looked a little run down from the outside. After checking in I got to my room. It was a private room, but they all come with bunk beds.

There are 3 or 4 accommodation blocks. My friends got another block from me (2 separate bookings), and theirs was much nicer than mine. My only criticism would be that the bedsheets/linen provided comes with a sign stating that usage of them will incur an extra 1000ISK fee (about £5-6). I have stayed in many hostels, and the linen, and towels have always been provided as standard.

Staying in Iceland in the summer can mean a lot of light outside throughout the night, luckily the rooms come with good blackout blinds to allow people to sleep. The bunk beds were comfortable.

I don't want this to sound as a negative towards the place, but I was woken up around 7am, by an old man outside who was singing in the communal kitchen. I assume he was a guest and not a member of staff, but found it hard to sleep while he was making what I can only describe as a mix of African tribal chants and the noise made by a diggerydoo!!

In conclusion, if you are a student or backpacker, and want value for money, this is the place to go. If you like your luxuries, like your own bathroom, and real beds, it isn't. I am a frequent traveller to Iceland, and on my last stay a hostel in the city center was costing about £100 a night (scary price!), but this one is much more reasonably priced, especially by Icelandic standards. I would stay again if I need to be near the airport, but otherwise its maybe better to travel into Reykjavik

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    21
    16
    11
    7
See reviews for
4
17
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Previously people have rated Fit badly - the only reason I can think for this is it's location, as it's clean and comfortable with helpful staff and very cheap. It is situated in an industrial estate so you wouldn't obviously visit this hostel for the scenery but for convenience (is minutes away from the airport) and affordability, it's very good and would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We picked this hostel as it was the cheapest we found closest to the airport. It was very clean throughout with a good kitchen. However we found it a little uncomfortable as we were the only travellers staying there. There were people upstairs who the lonely planet states are homeless or asylum seekers. With this said it was a good nights sleep ready for our early flight,good value for money.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I stayed in the hostel for 5 nights. It was quiet and had everything I needed. Hot shower, clothes washing facilities, Wi-Fi. It's a 20 minute bus journey from the blue lagoon and bus trips to Reykjavik are easy. The only draw back is that it's a small town with not a huge amount to do. If you want a quite few days with a few day trips it's perfect but there's far more going in Reykjavik. Regarding the hostel itself there is nothing to complain about considering the good price and is great for self catering.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I chose this hostel at the end of my trip to Iceland, because I had an early flight to catch and this hostel was close from the airport, plus it was one of the most economical.
I had a triple room with two of my friends. It was basic but basic was what I needed, so it was fine. It had good kitchen, which would be useful for the guests who want to cook. Shared bathroom was also good.
To reach this hostel is a little tricky. You can see the hostel from the major road but there is no direct exit to the hostel, instead you will have to use the back road.
There is no free shuttle provided by hostel but there is 24 hours taxi service to the airport.
The only thing that made me uncomfortable was the phone-checking-in system. After working hours, there were no staffs around and I had to call receptionist and give my credit card number. Although the staff sounded kind and welcoming, this was awkward and probably not so safe because it can be heard by other guests in the kitchen or hallways.
I still think this is a good choice if you can arrive during the working hours for a night before departure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille, France
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This hostel does not have really good reviews and i think it is unfair.There is not so much places where to stay when you arrive at the airport, no camping site, other places are expensive and busy.
Location is perfect, staff friendly, clean and practical.
Of course it is not a five star hostel, but compared to other accomodations in Iceland, the ratio quality price is really good.

if you arrive late, or leave early in the morning, from the airport, rather than spending the night at Reykjavik, do not hesitate

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prata di Pordenone, Italy
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Cheap and near to the airport, but has many weakness. The room was tiny, but the worst thing is that there is only one shower and two wc for the guests of own bulding.
The person asked me if I was member of Hostel International (if you aren't you have to pay an extra fee), but I didn't find this hostel in the HI website!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fit Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fit Hostel

Address: Fitjabraut 6a | Njardvik, Keflavik 260, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Southern Peninsula > Keflavik
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Keflavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostel/guesthouse offers sleeping bag and made up beds accomodation in 29 rooms and can accommodate about 100 people at a time. The rooms are without bathrooms but they are available on all floors. Both houses offer cooking facilities, breakfast, living rooms, TVs, showers, internet access, washing facilities and a hot tub ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Fit Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fit Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.