We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than sleeping in a car!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fit Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Fit Hostel to your Saves list
Fit Hostel
Fitjabraut 6a | Njardvik, Keflavik 260, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Better than sleeping in a car!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This was our first hostel in Iceland - in fact, our first hostel ever. Before that, I had always preferred hotels, but during the road trip through Iceland there isn't really much of a choice.
We were arriving to Keflavik airport around midnight, and needed a place to sleep before heading down along the south-east coast. Going to Reykjavik would be in totally different direction, plus we didn't want to sort out city parking. Unfortunately, there isn't much accommodation options to choose from in the area around Keflavik airport.

LOCATION
Fit Hostel, or Njarðvík Hostel, is also knows as Hostel by the Airport, which is partly true. However, as it lies about 4km away from the terminal, getting there without a car would be a problem, especially in cold season. Even with a car and during the light summer nights, armed with GPS, it was a bit tricky to find - the entrance to the hostel grounds is from some sort of a junk yard on the back of the street.

RECEPTION
Quite adequate, given the late hour. Considering that most of the hostels in Iceland close for the night around 9pm (even during the high season), it is definitely a bonus. We were shown to our room with no hassle and the guy at the reception was very pleasant (as most of the icelandic folks!).

ROOM
We booked a room for 2, but they didn't have any available, and gave us whole 6-bed dorm to ourselves. The beds were ok, and we used our own sleeping bags. The room had a key, but the lock didn't work, so we had to bar the doors with our suitcases to avoid going back to the reception which was in another building.
Unfortunately, that room was right next to the common/dining area and the kitchen, and there were people sitting chatting through the night - they tried to keep it down, but the walls were very thin. And as early as 5.30-6am people started moving in to cook/eat, banging frying pans and boiling water. No sleeping in for the tired travelers!

And yes, one more thing to add to the sleeping quality - the planes are taking off right above the hostel thus compensating for the "airport hostel" title :))


BATHROOM
Toilets were clean, but we didn't use the showers. Kitchen looked ok.

CONCLUSION
For 40 EUR that we paid for a private room it was OK. However, the other Icelandic hostels we stayed at during our journey were definitely better. Next time I might stay in the same hostel if I absolutely have to, but not longer for one night. I cannot imagine how other travelers end up there for several days in a row - Iceland is big, and there are far better places to find a shelter!

Room Tip: Any room away from the kitchen and public/dining areas would do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    20
    17
    11
    7
See reviews for
3
17
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Wanted to charge 1000 kr (like $8!) extra for the duvet, which is an abomination in a cold country! Hard to find, in a warehouse district a few miles from airport. I had a rental car, so can't comment about taxis. Absolutely no charm: just a crowded through-place. The staff man was efficient at 2 am, to his credit. Sleep for a few hours, then move on. And bring your own blanket! Brrrr.....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

This was the worst place I've ever stayed in Iceland. Looked more like ex-army barracks, the advertised hot tub doesn't exist any more, apparently it is broken. I had hoped to catch a bus at 7am to get to the airport, but buses don't start that early in the morning, so I had to pay for a taxi 2500 Kronas. Do your research on public transport first if you are thinking of staying here because you need to catch an early flight. One girl I met in the hostel said it takes about 1 hour to walk from the hostel to the airport terminal, but with luggage that's not much fun. Next time I'll stay in Downtown Reykjavik.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011 via mobile

not very good service to airport
better to be prepared to hitchhike if you are staying here for short way to the airport
but if it is not busy time you can ask reception to give you ride
nice walking route along the shore

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

We had great service from all other Icelandic hostels except this one. There were no staff on duty for the 2 days of our stay. We phoned the reception number to arrange for someone to come so we could pay our bill, but it took another call and 2 hours before someone arrived.
As for the facilities, the bathrooms smelt damp and the communal areas were cold and draughty. Other than this, the hostel, including the bedrooms and kitchens were clean and of decent quality.
As is traditional for hostels, many guests leave their surplus food - this is especially plentiful so close to the airport. Watch the use-by dates, though - they don't seem to be checked by staff.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2009

I stayed here last week, and I really liked this hostel. Someone's earlier review said that Fit Hostel is hard to find. It's EASY to find. Just get off the exit to Njarvik, and drive toward town. After you pass the lighted trail by a small lake, it's there on the right, with a big sign--JET HOSTEL. Hard to miss.

I went to Iceland to explore nature, and so I didn't much reason to stay in Reykjavik. Keflavik and Njardvik are away from the bustle of the city, and there are grocery stores, and a great swimming pool with geothermal hot tubs that is brand-new.

I wanted to explore the Reykjanes Peninsula, so Fit Hostel is totally convenient to getting out to the peninsula and out to fantastic geothermal areas, lava cliffs, bird rookeries, and hiking trails. I made several trips out to the area, as well as to Grindavik, and I was happy not to have to drive into Reyjavik every day. It's also close to Blafjell, the local ski area, and close to the Blue Lagoon. If you are car touring and staying in hostels, it just makes sense to stay here.

The hostel has a kitchen on each floor, and there are two separate buildings, each with 2 floors. There's a good mix of private and dorm rooms and quite often, you can have a dorm room with fewer people than the number of beds. Good cold refrigerators, and nice stainless steel kitchen with dining areas. It's your basic hostel; you're here for a place to sleep, cook and organize your travel--not for a honeymoon.

The proprietor just bought a diesel bus and so if you have a group, he will organize a tour for you for a fraction of the tour rates.

The convenience of this place to the airport goes without saying. Quick taxi ride to and from, whereas downtown Reyjavik is an expensive and drawn-out bus ride. I plan to stay at Jet Hostel again when I go back to Iceland in the fall.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchorage
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

We really enjoyed Fit Hostal. Our advice: don't waste time at City Hostel! After a really bad, noisy and uncomfortable night at City Hostel in downtown Reykjavik, we moved to Fit Hostel in Njardvik for three days. We were at the end of ten day trip in Iceland, and we were really happy to finally find a place that was clean and friendly! We were just disappointed that we didn't take a bus to the Njardvik hostel ("Fit Hostel") earlier! The buses run from downtown Reykjavik to Keflavik every hour (just asked to get dropped off). Fit Hostel was perfect for what we needed... we are in our forties, and wanted some privacy (our own room) at a reasonable price. We were fed up with the 20something scene and the all-night partying at the City Hostal. So Njardvik/Fit Hostal was a much better choice, as it was close to the airport ($10 cab ride, but the owner offered to drive us, so we never needed a cab to the airport)! There is also a great new swimming pool/water park in Keflavik which is a five minute drive/ fifteen minute walk from the hostel. Also, there is hiking near the geothermal plants/lighthouse on the Reykjanes peninsula (need a car, but only 15 minutes away by car). Njardvik Hostal is also really close to the blue lagoon (10 minutes by car). I think a lot of people staying at the Hostel were on their way to the airport and only spent one night there, but for us, three days let us see a lot more.... don't overlook the location as just a stop on the way to the airport! The location is actually better than Reykjavik Hostels for most of the interesting attractions in the area.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fit Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fit Hostel

Address: Fitjabraut 6a | Njardvik, Keflavik 260, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Southern Peninsula > Keflavik
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Keflavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostel/guesthouse offers sleeping bag and made up beds accomodation in 29 rooms and can accommodate about 100 people at a time. The rooms are without bathrooms but they are available on all floors. Both houses offer cooking facilities, breakfast, living rooms, TVs, showers, internet access, washing facilities and a hot tub ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Fit Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fit Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.