We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty, ugly and poor value” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Alex Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Alex Guesthouse to your Saves list
Alex Guesthouse
1.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Adalgata 60 | Aðalgata 60, Keflavik 230, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“Dirty, ugly and poor value”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

We choose this place due to our very early flight and its close location to the Blue Lagoon. It was a total dissapointment and a big shock after a lovely afternoon relaxing in the magical setting of the Blue Lagoon. I'd have preferred to stay in a decent place in town and drive the extra hour in the morning so ugly it was. We had two cabins and they were basic (which I don''t mind), charmless, dirty and in bad maintenance condition. One of the radiators on ours was leaking and half the lights didn't work.
I appreciate Iceland is expensive but comparing it to other places we stayed this place was just not good value.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    52
    29
    15
    3
See reviews for
14
66
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 138 cities Reviews in 138 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

My friend and I stayed at the Alex twice during our trip to Iceland. The first night we flew into Keflavik at 11pm. We picked up a rental car and drove to the Motel Alex. I had booked a room with two twin beds. It was a decent price for Iceland accommodation. Our room was clean and the shared toilet/showers were close by and mostly clean. When we returned a few days later, we booked the sleeping bag accommodation cabin. It was definitely more rustic, but it was fine for one night. We shared toilets/showers with the campers, but we were allowed to go into the building and use the wireless (I don't think campers are allowed to do this). The staff was fairly helpful. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast USA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

The wifi was broken and so was the tv in my "hut". The proprieter made no attempt to correct either of these. My hut was infested with spiders and there was a wad of a sticky substance on the outer surface of the duvet. Thankfully I was only here for one night before an early flight. You can do better elsewhere!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Montana
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

We only stayed over at hotel Alex for one night but after a long flight and a horrid case of jet lag we were more than happy. The rooms were clean, the breakfast was great and the people were nice and helpful. We were picked up at the airport and taken back promptly the next morning to catch our flight. The workers were also very helpful getting us to to the bus stop on our way to the Blue Lagoon and suggesting places to eat around the area. We were more than satisfied.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Stayed in one of the cabins here following our late arrival at Keflavik airport. It did take a while to get there with the free transit because so many flights arrived at the same time as mine and the minibus was not huge. The cabins were really lovely and fully equipped with a miniature bathroom and even 2 hotplates. Breakfast was basic but fine. Would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

we stayed at alex on our first and last night of our iceland trip.
we flew in late (landing around midnight) and out early morning. the motel is quite close to the airport (2 mins car ride) and they provide free transport: very convenient and hassle free; also, they offer breakfast from 430am so you can eat something even if leaving super early.
we slept in one of the bungalow outside: quiet and reasonably clean, the bed is a bit small (i'd say something less than a queen).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

My friend and I did an extended layover in Iceland before heading off to the UK. We LOVED Hotel Alex. It looks a little weird from the outside but the rooms were clean, well kept, and the beds were comfortable. I'm not sure if we accidentally slept on top of the comforters or what, but we passed out in like 5 minutes both nights of our stay. The shades also did wonders to keep the light out. The staff was extremely helpful in pointing out things for us to do in walking distance (not too terribly much) and they picked us up from the airport at 6am on the day of our arrival and let us check in almost 6 hours early for no extra charge. The breakfast was simple but filling. On the 2nd day of our trip we missed the bus to Blue Lagoon twice so the friendly man at the front desk went out of his way to drive us to the airport so we could pick up the bus from there. On the day we had to leave we were given a free ride to the airport at 5am and all members of the staff were extremely helpful. There was a hot tub powered by geothermal water outside and the bathrooms were quite spacious. The kitchen was stocked with the necessary items and no other guests disturbed our food while we had it in the fridge. The only cons we experience and they were minimal - 1. it was hard to pick up the wifi connection once you left the computer/foyer area so we just took our computers to the lobby and even then it was somewhat limited and extremely slow, 2- breakfast was over by 10 so when we were jetlagged the 2nd day we missed it by 15 minutes which was unfortunate, and 3- the walls were kind of thin so that we could hear when groups of people would arrive at weird times of the night, but it never woke us up just bothered us if we were already awake! All in all, a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alex Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alex Guesthouse

Address: Adalgata 60 | Aðalgata 60, Keflavik 230, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Southern Peninsula > Keflavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Keflavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Alex Guesthouse 1*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Alex Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alex Hotel Keflavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alex Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.