We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Keflavik

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Keflavik to your Saves list
Hotel Keflavik
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vatnsnesvegi 12-14, Keflavik 230, Iceland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Keflavik
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good location, pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I stayed here during a stopover to the US and it was great. They paid for a taxi to the hotel from the airport (be careful as they will only pay one-way). I had emailed them in advance and they kindly arranged my trip to the Blue Lagoon. Nice rooms, clean, quiet, and a fantastic breakfast!

My only issue was that the opening times of the restaurant are fairly restricted so I didn't get the chance to try a local dish - finding food in the local area for lunch was virtually impossible because it's such a quiet town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    133
    55
    9
    6
See reviews for
90
145
32
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Andalusia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

OK. I understand. Many, if not most, guests just pass through Keflavik just after landing, or just about to take off, at Keflavik International airport. And this is an ideal hotel for this kind of traveller.

I have stayed at Hotel Keflavik a number of times. It has always met my expectations fully. Indeed, even better than that. The hotel is kept up to date by timely renovations [this time the rooms closest to the lift (elevator) were having their beds and bedding upgraded]. Our room was spacious and had just enough closet space for our travelling clothes. The bed was fine. The drapes were good. The TV worked. The en-suite bathroom was basic but clean.

Breakfast is something most guests talk about, and so shall I. Not only is there a wide range of breakfast goodies, they were constantly replenished as needs arose. And the best part? -The breakfast room opens well in time for travellers to stoke up before their [usually* complimentary] transfer to the airport in time for flight check-in.

The dining room is well appointed and has a wide menu of standard hotel fare. Service is good and the staff seem to be able to cope in a number of languages.

I have mentioned a breakfast room and a dining room. So what's with the review's title? Surprisingly, for me at least, there is no facility in the hotel for having lunch. My wife and I arrived at (late) lunch time and had to go out in the driving rain to find a place open for lunch. (We found a good place with a buffet table just around the corner from the Icelandair hotel just up the road).

* the word "usually" denotes the hotel's offer: only one transfer to OR from the airport is included in the room price. So its a good deal for a stay on arrival or departure, but less good for a one-night stop-over.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Our family of five recently spent 24 hours in Iceland. We checked in about 7am (for a small extra fee) and had a large buffet breakfast. The hotel helped me locate a rental car and the agent was there shortly after I checked in. The hotel manager on duty was helpful and friendly. Our room was ready and we were able to take a much needed nap. One of the reasons we decided on an Icelandic layover was to adjust to the European time change before we arrived in Paris. Our room was clean, quiet, and comfortable. After our nap, we drove to the Blue Lagoon. It is beautiful and relaxing. We then drove into Reykjavik for dinner. We went to bed early to ready ourselves for an early flight. I hadn't quite adjusted to the time change and woke up around 3am. I went down to the lobby to try to workout. The gym didn't open until 530. The woman at the front desk was kind enough to let me use the office computer to print out our boarding passes and kill some time. In the midst of this, I got acquainted with a small group of Russian aerospace engineers and a test pilot who were still out celebrating the promotion of one of their colleague's (comrade's). They ended up co-opting me into their celebration with an odd and helpful combination of vodka and espresso shots. The gym would have been nice, but I was bright-eyed and bushy-tailed for our 7am boarding to Paris!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerusalem
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Very convenient place to stay near the Keflavik airport.Very clean and nice decorated rooms.Good food and variety of vegtables in breakfast. Good food served at dinner.A good place to start your trip to Iceland.Nice view from rooms.Helpfull staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We will without hesitation recommend this hotel to our friends and family for their fabulous breakfast, comfortable room, and most attentive staff. A special thanks to hotel manager Steinpor Jonsson for his kindness and for taking such good care of us. We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halmstad, Sweden
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This hotel is ok. It is qualitywise slightly below the Icelandair hotel next door but the prices tend to be lower so I often choose this one over the other (I frequently go to Iceland). I stayed here with my two sons (age 16) in one of the family rooms on the top floor (easily sleeps 3 in one double bed and one large sleeping sofa). It was quiet. The rooms are not spacious so don't plan to spend much time in them. The bed sofa was not made up when we got in (late in the evening) but they fixed it quickly. The personnel is ok.
We stayed here because we went early in the morning to the blue lagoon, before heading in to Reykjavik. I see no reason to stay in Keflavik except if your coming in late and plan to go the blue lagoon, or if you have a really early flight in the morning.
I would not take a detour for the breakfast. It is rather uninspiring (but not bad).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Buyer beware. Only advantage is that the hotel is near the Keflavik Airport. The bad news is that the non-smoking rule is a joke -- we were given 2 different rooms on different floors that smokers were in process of stinking up the floor. When we complained, the front desk person just respond "yeah, well -- people some disregard the smoking policy". But she also had no plans to reinforce the policy.

So, because of the smoking issue, our experience was so bad and it makes it difficult to overlook the other problems with the hotel: Rooms are small, outdated. The hotel is not adequately staffed (see above comment about smoking). The restruarant is small and could not accommodate us. The TV is old. There's no blow dyer. There's no shampoo soap. My recommendation: stay in Reykjavik -- do not stay in this dump of a hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steinþór J, Owner at Hotel Keflavik, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am the Hotel Manager and owner at Hotel Keflavik. I was troubled when readying your review. First of all, i‘m glad that you were able to enjoy one thing about our hotel – the location. Other than that I‘m able to easily notice that you were not so happy with your stay at all.

The smoking rule is no more our policy thena law in Iceland. Smoking bans in hotels , restaurants and bars is first of all an anti-smoking law put in place by the Icelandic government. But we also do have on top of that a non smoking policy with ways of reinforcement for example with a smoking fine of 145 EUR. But you have to understand that this is hard to reinforce by the reception staff that happen to be on the shift during the time of the smoking, and just find out which room just by the scent out on the hallway. They were right, that there are always going to be people who violate the rules – but the only way for the hotel to reinforce the policy and Icelandic law is to have the maids inspect this when cleaning and this is the most effective way to do so.

I‘m sorry that you also felt that your rooms were small and outdated. We have during the last year put hundreds of thousands of dollars into renovation – and as you hopefully could see during your stay in some aspects, for example in tiling on the exterior and more. We have also renovated half of the rooms in the last winter and half of the bathrooms.

It is vital for us to know when you stayed and possibly names and or room numbers so we can investigate this further. I have noticed a booking for two rooms which was on the same date as a smoker problem, these were booked for the 26th of June. Please let me know if that was your reservation. It‘s also important for us to check why there wasn't a hairdryer and other amenities in the room! There should always be a hairdryer and should also be a wall mounted soup which, is hard to understand for me why it wasn't in your room.

But just for your information – there is no competitor of ours which has higher staff/ guest ratio or higher quality TV sets than us.

If you'll anytime stay in Keflavik again - please let me know and we'll try to put something nice together for you and give you an upgrade to compensate for your stay. You can also contact me please at steini@kef.is if youd want to give me some more information about the stay as so we can improve and maybie compensate further
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Keflavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Keflavik

Address: Vatnsnesvegi 12-14, Keflavik 230, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Southern Peninsula > Keflavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Keflavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Keflavik 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Keflavik is positioned in the heart of Keflavik. It is only 5 minutes from the airport, but still with all the perks of an downtown hotel, close to restaurants, shops and museums. The hotel has been renovated on the exterior and interior during the last 8 months. Almost all of the rooms have been refurbished with a modern style but still with a rich and a homey character. The exterior has been tiled with granite tiles and a brand new led-lighting system on the outside. We hope you will enjoy your stay at Hotel Keflavik, we want to provide you with the warm feeling of a family-run establishment but still the quality and service of a 4 star hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Keflavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keflavik Hotel Keflavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Keflavik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.