We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely night of sleep!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guesthouse Thverholt

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keflavik
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Guesthouse Thverholt
Save
You added Guesthouse Thverholt to your Saves list
Thverholt 5 | Reykjanesbaer, Keflavik 230, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 14 Keflavik B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely night of sleep!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

This place is very clean and the rooms (and shared bathroom) are tasty and very comfortable! Its perfect for a stop-over in Iceland (very close to the airport as stated before). I had my luggage still checked but I missed nothing: there were clean towels and shower stuff, wifi and a nice breakfast. What else do you need? Thank you for a pleasant and friendly stay! Ps. I found this picture is not very representive...(it's nicer in real;)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
14
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed just one night here and it was perfect. Host was very helpful before and during our stay. We had a very early AM flight so we got here the afternoon before - had time to drop our bags and drive back to Blue Lagoon (15 minutes away) for relaxing afternoon there. The B&B is easy walking distance to 'downtown' Keflavik - Ragnar gave us a great recommendation for a local fish house right on the harbor.
The four rooms all share a common bathroom/shower, but we never had a wait. The rooms are all very modern, clean and tastefully done, and the breakfast was easy to 'grab and go' as we had to leave around 5 am for our rental car return and check in.
I'd definitely stay here again if we had a late arrival or early departure from Keflavik.

Room Tip: I think there are only four - one is facing the front street, the other three are toward the garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludwigsburg, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

! Highly recommended !

Just 5 minutes from Keflavík Airport this guesthouse is located excellently, if you're going to / coming from the airport or want to visit the Reykjanes peninsula in the very south west of Iceland.

4 guest rooms, kitchen, bathroom and living room are located on the ground floor and are available for guests, each of them very clean and arranged with great attention to detail. We spent a relaxed night in acomfortable bed. The rooms are quite big and you won't have any issues, even with lots of luggage. As mentioned already, breakfast is self-service from the fridge, which was nothing special but OK for us. The price was fair, compared to all the other guest houses we had in Iceland.

Ragnar was a great help: I forgot my wallet at Hertz at the airport without noticing it (including information about Thverholt Guesthouse - fortunatelly!). ~1 or 2 hours later (at 0:30 A.M.) I got an SMS from Ragnar and he told me, that Hertz will drop of my wallet at the guesthouse later and I can pick it up or wait until next morning to get it. Although Ragnar had a severe cold, he got up with us quite early and handed on the wallet to me. Thanks again Ragnar (and Hertz)!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

The guesthouse is in the basement of the owner. 4 rooms, livingroom, kitchen, bathroom. Really clean and cozy, bed and linen was better than any hotel we stayed in. Perfect! (and near airport)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed here for one night on our way to the airport. It is a few minutes drive from airport. Nice, comfortable place and spacey rooms with good price. The breakfast was self service from the fridge, nothing special but at least something to fill your stomach with and easy if you are heading for an early flight. Don't forget to visit Blue Lagoon, while you are at the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at this lovely guesthouse in Keflavík. The accomodation was modern and clean and there were lots of pieces of original art by the owner Helga which really added something special to the decor. We were met by Ragnar, co owner of the guesthouse and he couldn't have done any more to ensure we felt at home. We had to catch an earlyish flight to the airport, which was only 3/4 minutes away, so staying at the guesthouse was perfect for us. There was a range of toiletries in the bathroom for guest use, which we thought was a lovely touch.The breakfast was adequate for us. We would highly recommend the guesthouse based both on value for money and friendliness.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked comfortable to us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pescara
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

it was the best place where i slept in Iceland ! big room, very good breakfast; you are near to keflavik International airport, and only 30-40 minutes deiving by car to Blue Lagoon!!
the owner makes a very good breakfast, the house is very big and comfortable.
the only thing i want say to you it is to take a gps with you, or maybe you will not find the guesthouse

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Guesthouse Thverholt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Thverholt

Address: Thverholt 5 | Reykjanesbaer, Keflavik 230, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Southern Peninsula > Keflavik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Keflavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The friendly Thverholt good-value-for-money accommodation in Keflavik is located only a 3 minutes drive from Keflavik International Airport. This affordable accommodation on Iceland offers comfortable guest-rooms, allowing for a convenient holiday in the Reykjanes region. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guesthouse Thverholt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.