We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I want to stay longer!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Berg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Berg to your Saves list
Hotel Berg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bakkavegur 17 | Bakkavegi 17, Keflavik 230, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Keflavik
Whistler, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“I want to stay longer!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

This is my second time at the Hotel Berg and I love it even more than during my first trip (where I stayed 2 nights). It should not be used just for a stopover for one night before leaving the next morning. The peninsula has so much to discover that I could spend a week there! It's not really a "Hotel" in the traditional sense and has much more the feel of a family run B&B (which I prefer much more to a sterile, anonymous hotel). It is all very clean and comfortable, lots of seating areas, many books to read, videos to watch just in case inclement weather keeps you from going outside. Much information about the surrounding area and island is to be found either from the brochures or by talking to the owners or their staff, who are very nice, friendly, knowledgeable and service oriented. The self service buffet style breakfast is great with loads of good quality food. The location is totally quiet and no street noise can be heard. It is located right at the start of a great hiking trail above the cliffs at the ocean and overlooks the Harbor. A very nice restaurant is a stone's throw away as is an interesting glass blowing store. I am going to come back soon, I hope!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    67
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
57
217
24
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed here on our last night before we left Iceland. Lovely hotel, very clean, modern, warm and inviting. I only give it an average on location as it is a bit far to use as a base for exploring Reyjavik but an ideal 5 min drive to the airport.

Breakfast was delicious with good coffee, waffles and baked eggs. I was a little disappointed that the jacuzzi was off at the time we were here as this was something I was looking forward to, but I would recommend this as a place to stay for easy access to the airport and if you wanted to explore Keflavik.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Excellent hotel, overlooking Keflavik harbour and only about 3 miles from the airport.
We stayed here for two nights at the end of our southern Iceland trip, where we had a day at the Blue Lagoon. The overall appearance of the hotel is excellent. It has a central area where you can get tea/coffee (free) and a breakfast area with kitchen which we were able to use in the evening to get ice for our own drinks.
The bedrooms were comfortable, although a little cramped with limited space for clothes and our ample luggage bags.
We thought this was one of the best places we stayed at based on value for money and have no hesitation in recommending it as a base for exploring the Keflavik peninsula or a stop over for the airport/ blue lagoon.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Berg is a great accommodation that I highly recommend for either a one night stay near Keflavik or a longer trip. It is very well kept and so convenient -- the breakfast kitchen and honor bar are perfect for late arrivals or early departures. We stayed in March and the rooms were toasty warm and the beds were comfortable. We got to meet the famous dog (truly a local TV star) who helps preside over the counter (usually snoring peacefully) and reception was both easy and informative. For a great meal a short walk from the hotel ask about the fish restaurant just across the harbor from the hotel. It was great and seemed even more authentic because on a Sunday night we seemed to be the only non Icelanders in there (I couldn't tell if they were locals or not.) Honestly, Hotel Berg was such a nice farewell to Iceland after a great trip. We will definitely return! Reserve early as it seems to be quickly filled!!

Room Tip: Our room on the first floor was fine and there was no noise issue at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Just returned from a fantastic 4 night stay at Hotel Berg, and would like to thank the staff for making our stay perfect.
Wow, what a place, everything you could want and more.
A perfect location for the airport (5 mins away) great views, 2 mins walk into town.
Excellent, friendly staff, lovely rooms,comfy communal lounge,complimentary tea and coffee 24/7, great breakfast, what more could you ask for?
Although Keflavik itself is not really a tourist destination, the whole surrounding area has much to offer and Hotel Berg makes the perfect base.
I would recommend this small friendly hotel to anyone thinking of staying in the area.

Room Tip: If possible, ask for a room overlooking the harbour, the views are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

A very friendly welcome and stay at this clean and inviting hotel. We were picked up from the airport by the hotels own car as soon as we landed with no extra cost. They were full of excellent advise and it's well worth hiring a small car through the hotel instead of the expensive internet sites. From asking if I could hire a car to putting the key in the ignition was less than 15 mins! The hotel is extremely comfortable and quiet and if possible try and ask for room 18. Its more like a suite! There is plenty of space in the common areas to relax, drink coffee and reflect on the days activities. And the breakfast is excellent in a homely kitchen setting. The town is quite small but the hotel is a perfect hub for travels around the southwest peninsula. I would recommend this hotel in a heartbeat to anyone thinking of staying in that area.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front give you views of the marina. 18 is an excellent choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridgend
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Can't think of anything to complain about. Everything about this place is perfect. The staff are really helpfull, even down to ringing the bus company to request a stop outside the hotel for us.
The pick up service to and from the airport is great, as is the free coffee machine. I wish them all the best for the future and would not hesitate to book it again

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Berg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berg

Address: Bakkavegur 17 | Bakkavegi 17, Keflavik 230, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Southern Peninsula > Keflavik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Keflavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Berg 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Berg is a brand new hotel beside the small boat harbour in Keflavík. It stands above the promenade, which is floodlit from 6 September each year then throughout the winter season.Our guests awake to the sound of birdsong. Fishermen sail colourful small vessels in and out of the harbour. The views from the hotel windows are magnificent, with stunning natural vistas in all directions. The sunsets over Garðskagi, just a short distance from the hotel, are one of the most delightful sights Iceland has to offer.At Hotel Berg, we do our very best to provide you with all the comforts of home. We will attend to your requests in a relaxed, personal manner as we seek to create a pleasant atmosphere, while at the same time meeting your requirements for high-quality furnishings and facilities. We run the hotel as a family – a mature couple and our grown-up children – and we live on the premises.Hotel Berg has eleven rooms with accommodation for 22 people. Every room has an en-suite bathroom, wireless Internet, a safe, high-quality bedding, a fridge, a hair-drier and other conveniences. You will find further information by clicking the Rooms link above.Enjoy a breakfast buffet between 07:00 and 10:00. Early breakfasts are available when ordered in advanced.A fire burns in the sitting room hearth, casting a warm glow over the elegant Icelandic furniture. The stunning view from the window looks over the harbour and the town to the ocean and distant mountains.Take a soothing dip in the hot tub outside on the patio. When the sky is clear on a crisp winter evening, you may even catch a glimpse of the Northern Lights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Berg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Berg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.