We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient for airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Berg

Save Saved
You added Hotel Berg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Berg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bakkavegur 17 | Bakkavegi 17, Keflavik 230, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Keflavik
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very convenient for airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This hotel is very well situated just a few minutes drive from the airport. We stayed here twice during our week in Iceland; on arrival at the beginning of the week, and prior to our departure at the end of our holiday, due to our late night/early morning flight times. We were hoping for a shuttle service to the hotel on our arrival in Iceland just after midnight, but arrived to find nobody waiting for us, so we jumped in a taxi, and were greeted by a very sleepy, not particularly happy to see us young man at the hotel. The rooms are immaculate and well equipped and there is a lovely home-from-home feel to this place, with a help yourself buffet breakfast and coffee on tap in the main communal dining room. There is even a hot tub though we did not have time to make use of it. We had booked a car rental through the hotel,and the car was ready outside for us when we woke up on our first morning, this was a really useful service, being able to simply drive the car back there at the end of the week and make use of the free shuttle back to the airport (which we did do on our departure), and were really impressed that breakfast was available at 4am prior to our departure. Unfortunately, we were given an unscheduled wake-up call at 12.50am (we didn't need to wake up until 4am) and I think the call was meant for another room. Special mention really must go to the owner of this hotel though, she is so friendly and helpful, and went out of her way to make our stay in Iceland enjoyable, showing us a scenic route to take on the map on our first morning there. We hope to return to Iceland and would book this hotel again, despite a couple of tiny hiccups. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    242
    51
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
49
173
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed here having arrived at the airport in late afternoon - a great find.
Very nice staff, lots of candles, cosy and brand new room which was very comfortable.
Nice location overlooking a very pretty harbour.
Stone's throw from great restaurant with lovely fish called Cafe Duus.
Breakfast was fun - just get it yourself and make your own waffles.
Lovely huge picture window - perfect for morning coffee.
They were open for dinner but we ate out.
An ideal first or last night near the airport.

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This is a great place near the airport. Very convenient for the Blue Lagoon and other sites in the South West. Modern, well-furnished rooms and great value too. Good buffet breakfast will set you up for a day of exploring.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

We stayed one night before leaving Iceland. Staff was very friendly, while checking in she also arranged our boarding passes for the flight the next morning. Room was comfortable, clean with great bed. Breakfast is from 4 am which is vey handy if you have an early flight. Free airport shuttle. I would defenitly stay here again

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Perfect place to stay in Keflavik near the small harbour with beautiful views, close to airport and blue lagoon, friendly atmosphere, clean and cosy rooms, very close to good restaurant - ask the host how to find. Remeber if you want to explore Iceland you need to rent a car!!!

Room Tip: all are clean and cosy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selva di Val Gardena, Italy
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Very nice hotel with a good staff. Our room was very nice and clean. We sleep here at our arrival and also one day before our departure. The Hotel is located in a good place, only 10 minutes from the airport and in front of a nice harbour. We suggest it for the cleanliness and the helpfulness of the owner.

Room Tip: Nice suite in front of the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Deserves all the high review ratings it gets. It is so close to the airport - and yet in a lovely sea view area (you may not see the sea from your room though). Rooms are excellent. Breakfast is pretty basic but includes make it yourself waffles - which is always fun!

Room Tip: If you want a sea view - you may need to phone and ask them - you do get great sunsets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Berg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berg

Address: Bakkavegur 17 | Bakkavegi 17, Keflavik 230, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Southern Peninsula > Keflavik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Keflavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Berg 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Berg is a brand new hotel beside the small boat harbour in Keflavík. It stands above the promenade, which is floodlit from 6 September each year then throughout the winter season.Our guests awake to the sound of birdsong. Fishermen sail colourful small vessels in and out of the harbour. The views from the hotel windows are magnificent, with stunning natural vistas in all directions. The sunsets over Garðskagi, just a short distance from the hotel, are one of the most delightful sights Iceland has to offer.At Hotel Berg, we do our very best to provide you with all the comforts of home. We will attend to your requests in a relaxed, personal manner as we seek to create a pleasant atmosphere, while at the same time meeting your requirements for high-quality furnishings and facilities. We run the hotel as a family – a mature couple and our grown-up children – and we live on the premises.Hotel Berg has eleven rooms with accommodation for 22 people. Every room has an en-suite bathroom, wireless Internet, a safe, high-quality bedding, a fridge, a hair-drier and other conveniences. You will find further information by clicking the Rooms link above.Enjoy a breakfast buffet between 07:00 and 10:00. Early breakfasts are available when ordered in advanced.A fire burns in the sitting room hearth, casting a warm glow over the elegant Icelandic furniture. The stunning view from the window looks over the harbour and the town to the ocean and distant mountains.Take a soothing dip in the hot tub outside on the patio. When the sky is clear on a crisp winter evening, you may even catch a glimpse of the Northern Lights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Berg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Berg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.