We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bed and Breakfast, Keflavik Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bed and Breakfast, Keflavik Airport to your Saves list
Bed and Breakfast, Keflavik Airport
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Valhallarbraut 761 | Reykjanesbaer, Keflavik 235, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 14 Keflavik B&B and Inns
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great value and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012 via mobile

Very convenient for Keflavik airport. Staff are friendly and helpful - nothing is too much trouble for them. If there was a kettle in the room it would be even perfect.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    81
    47
    8
    4
See reviews for
33
74
10
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Our group of 6 booked 1 night at Bed and Breakfast Keflavik, Keflavik Airport for an 18 hr layover on an IcelandAir flight. The family room we booked slept 6 adults comfortably in 2 rooms. For 25€ pp, we got transfers to & from the airport, breakfast & a good night's sleep. Before our stay, Jonas and Lovisa sent us info about car and motor-home rentals, day tours, shuttle service to the Blue Lagoon & Reykjavik, & more. Our flight arrived at 11:40 PM. Late check-in was no problem as Bed and Breakfast Keflavik, Keflavik Airport is open 24 hrs. Conveniently located minutes from Keflavik International Airport, the free pick-up & drop-off saved us money on pricey taxis. These former barracks were good value for our money. We highly recommend them for overnight layovers at Keflavik Airport & would stay here again.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 141 cities Reviews in 141 cities
252 helpful votes 252 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

We chose this place solely on location since our flight was arriving at midnight and the courtesy shuttle ride to the hotel. The room was so bare bones it was almost humorous. Our room had 6 single beds in it scattered all over the place (even though it was only two of us). This "B&B" does not hide that it was a military barracks. The room had no chairs, no phone, no clock, no TV, no ice bucket, no shampoo, no hair dryer, and only liquid soap to use as shampoo / hand soap. But, the room was clean and provided towels.

Breakfast was nothing fancy, but adequate enough. This is truly a utilitarian hotel and was fine for one night. It was kind of like camping.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK and Worldwide
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
138 hotel reviews
Reviews in 131 cities Reviews in 131 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

I wanted to be near the airport, ready for an early-morning flight. A quick phone-around suggested that every bed in Keflavik was taken, but this place had lots of capacity, as incoming flights had been cancelled. Given that they had a large number of rooms free, it was surprising that I was sent to the most distant part of the complex, where my room stank to high heaven of cigarette smoke. (Smoking is illegal in ALL hotel rooms in Iceland.) I had to tramp all the way back to reception, and while they changed my room without question, the cleaning staff MUST have known there was a problem with that room, and it should have been marked as unsuitable for letting. Anyway, once I was installed, everything was fine. The arrangement of rooms was peculiar in my block, since two rooms shared a single bathroom and kitchen. The bathrooms were fine, but the kitchens were unusable as there were no pots, pans or cutlery provided, though as I had a full backpacking kit with me, I was able to cook anyway! The early morning breakfast was most welcome, and a minibus shuttle was provided to the airport. (Remember to book this the night before.) Overall... OK... but I could have done without the long walks and the hassle of changing rooms.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham, uk
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

As with most of the guests, we stayed before an early morning flight. Good location for airport but is a little tricky to find (we pulled in and referred to one of the tourist maps that were scattered on the main road).

Our room was very strange and this is where I will explain the "modern museum" bit. The buildings used to be an American barracks and it all seems as if they left in a hurry, the sheets have been changed and tourists and stopping by! There are still signs up with contact and emergency details, their old gym and just a strange vibe to the place.

We were in the alternative building, just opposite the main building and I am not sure it would suit everybody. We booked a double room, which we did have but there was a bathroom and kitchen area which was shared in the middle between ours and an adjoining room. Luckily no one stayed in that room (useful also because we were only left one towel and one pillow) but it was just a little strange.

Breakfast was served very early to allow for flights and was basic but when it is early it did the job.

Very helpful and friendly staff who also lay on a bus shuttle to the hotel.

Weird but does the job.

Room Tip: ask to be in the main building if you don't want to share a bathroom/kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Our arrival in Iceland was right after midnight and we did not want to drive to Reykjavik but get some sleep. That´s why we have chosen this B&B for our first night in Iceland.
Well, no need to say that the accommodation is located close to the airport (about 5 mins by car). The B&B offers a complimentary shuttle from and to the airport, which is a big plus!
Staff was very friendly and helpful.
The room itself was spacious and clean.
Despite the close location to the airport it was really quiet and one could sleep well.
Breakfast was good.

In summary I can really recommend this accommodation!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

A nice location and large rooms but not so comfortable (remember this is a former military base !). Really hard to find coming from Reykjavik but nice shuttle service to the airport. A good place to sleep when you really have to fly early, otherwise I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bed and Breakfast, Keflavik Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast, Keflavik Airport

Address: Valhallarbraut 761 | Reykjanesbaer, Keflavik 235, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Southern Peninsula > Keflavik
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Keflavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bed and Breakfast, Keflavik Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned Bed and Breakfast, Keflavik airport. 58 rooms, single, double/twin, triple, family4, family5, family6, with private bathrooms. Breakfast served 04:30-09:30 Shuttle service to/from Keflavik airport for no extra charge. GYM center and minibar. Fully equipped kitchen for our guests. Blue Lagoon only 17 minutes away. We try our best to let you feel like home. Good choice for first or last night in Iceland. Groups welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Bed and Breakfast, Keflavik Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bed and Breakfast, Keflavik Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.