We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No wi-fi” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fosshotel Husavik

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fosshotel Husavik to your Saves list
Fosshotel Husavik
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ketilsbraut 22, Husavik 640, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Husavik
North Bergen, New Jersey
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“No wi-fi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We were very surprised to find that this hotel chain did not offer Wi-fi This was the 6th hotel we stayed in during our Iceland tour and the first one we found without Wi-Fi connection. We stayed on the new hotel wing which was quite large and clean. There was no hair dryer in the room, but as soon as I called the reception area, they provided us with one, so this was no issue. The hotel is centrally located which is a great plus. Breakfast buffet was good and staff was friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    50
    42
    21
    6
See reviews for
18
78
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night before the whale watching the following morning. The location is closed to the pier and the shopping area. The town is pretty small. We had four meals in the hotel. Food was just average in standard. One has to pay for the internet service. However we could not be connected. It may be due to the fact the we stayed in a room at the far end. The rock motif of the carpet may appear appealing in picture but I did not feel it makes the decor attractive.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The whole hotel is dated. Expensive with no amenities, at least it was clean. Room didn't have any tea or coffee making facilities or a mini fridge, much less a hair dryer. Had given us a twin room though we specifically booked a double room through booking.com two months ahead. Thus we had to lug our luggage up and down to get our room changed. Staff reluctantly gave us another room after we insisted. Previous twin room they gave us was small and stuffy! Need to pay for expensive wifi! Breakfast had a good variety. The most expensive hotel we paid for in Iceland and the most disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ntexas
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Located within 2 blocks of whale watch cruise center. Breakfast was extensive and good. Rooms are large and on 2nd floor as well as on northeast have great view of harbor. WIFI is a bit expensive. Easy walk to Whale museum and library with its community museum.

Room Tip: northwest rooms have view of harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed for two nights here and found it to be sufficient and well situated. We were in the renovated section of the hotel, so our room and bathroom were quite nice. I would agree with a previous poster that the dining room was remniscent of a bygone (and unattractive) era but the breakfasts were generous. We had little interaction with the hotel staff, but check-in and check-out were efficient. Bottom line? You are not in the lap of luxury at this hotel, but if you stay in the renovated section you will at least be comfortable. And, they have some pretty good pictures of whales on every wall!

Room Tip: request a room in the renovated section of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I did not care for the decoration – stone motive on the carpet, or for the fact that we had to carry our luggage to the second floor, with no one to help from staff. the rooms are small, and to open a window? its not an easy task. Breakfast was fine and rich with cakes and goodies. Internet was expensive. The hotel is located close to the center.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We visited the Fosshotel Husavik for 2 nights on an organised tour of Iceland and found it by far the most disappointing hotel of what was otherwise an excellent trip. The building is a bit old and tired but lacked even the attention of a good clean and the attitude of the staff was very disappointing.

We know that out tour organiser had requested double rooms for us but almost everyone was put in a twin room, when our guide discovered this 'error' she questioned the receptionist who said that there was nothing he could do and that it was not possible for the beds to be pushed together. What he really meant was that they could not be bothered to do this - in our room there were 4 separate configurations in which the beds could be successfully joined.

The poor attitude to guests continued at dinner when an incorrect number of vegetarian meals had been prepared... one of our party offered to share his starter with one of the unlucky ones and so asked for an empty plate to be brought - but the restaurant manageress simply said that this was ridiculous and flatly refused to bring one!

I can't comment on value or pricing as this was part of a package but the other hotels on our trip were much better and it may be that the Fosshotel is the only place in Husavik that takes groups - I certainly wouldn't book in here if I had a choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fosshotel Husavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosshotel Husavik

Address: Ketilsbraut 22, Husavik 640, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Northeast Region > Husavik
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Husavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosshotel Husavik 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Husavik is called "the Whale Watching Capital of Europa" - and the harbour is within walking distance from the hotel. The outstanding scenery of Skjalfandi Bay provides the perfect backdrop for any of the many sporting activities the area offers such as fishing, horseriding, skiing or hiking. The county surrounding Husavik is know for it's natural wonders and beautiful landscape. Husavik offers the traveller an ideal base for tours to Lake Myvatn (which is only 20min drive away), Icelands most powerful waterfall Dettifoss, the Capital of the North Akureyri (50min drive away) or the canyon of Asbyrgi. Fosshotel Husavik, is the friendly and well equipped hotel with 44 comfortable rooms in the heart of Husavik ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your Fosshotel Husavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fosshotel Husavik Husavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fosshotel Husavik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.