We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't (be bothered to) do culture” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Fosshotel Husavik

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Fosshotel Husavik to your Saves list
Fosshotel Husavik
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ketilsbraut 22, Husavik 640, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Husavik
London, England
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Can't (be bothered to) do culture”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We visited the Fosshotel Husavik for 2 nights on an organised tour of Iceland and found it by far the most disappointing hotel of what was otherwise an excellent trip. The building is a bit old and tired but lacked even the attention of a good clean and the attitude of the staff was very disappointing.

We know that out tour organiser had requested double rooms for us but almost everyone was put in a twin room, when our guide discovered this 'error' she questioned the receptionist who said that there was nothing he could do and that it was not possible for the beds to be pushed together. What he really meant was that they could not be bothered to do this - in our room there were 4 separate configurations in which the beds could be successfully joined.

The poor attitude to guests continued at dinner when an incorrect number of vegetarian meals had been prepared... one of our party offered to share his starter with one of the unlucky ones and so asked for an empty plate to be brought - but the restaurant manageress simply said that this was ridiculous and flatly refused to bring one!

I can't comment on value or pricing as this was part of a package but the other hotels on our trip were much better and it may be that the Fosshotel is the only place in Husavik that takes groups - I certainly wouldn't book in here if I had a choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    49
    41
    19
    6
See reviews for
17
77
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The hotel looks like a hospital, but is conveniently situated for the small town of Husavik and whale watching. The room was reasonably clean, but the lights were all full - and I mean full - of dead flies. My complaint to reception was greeted by a shrug. The dining room was like a 1960s faded ballroom, but the food wasn't too bad at all and there was a happy hour which meant the drinks weren't as astronomical as usual in Iceland. It was okay, but you wouldn't want more than a night here. A haunt of huge coach parties.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

After looking at some of the other reviews and pictures, it is very obvious that we were not in the new part of the hotel! Our room was clean ( except for all the dead flies on the window sill), but it had a worn look and feel. I thought for sure it had been a boarding school at sometime as the room felt like a dorm room. Our tv remote volume did not work, the bathroom sink floor drain backed up when the sink was used, soap bubbles abounded! Linens were clean, but worn. We were on the 4th floor and chose to use the stairs most of the time. ( elevator could fit only 2 people at a time). The light fixture in the stairwell on the 4th was out, so the stairway was a bit dark until you hit the other floor levels. Carpet in stair well, ( as was our room) was worn and tired looking. We were given free wifi because we had booked on line -- but it was a hassle to use, only one person at a time and it was a process to connect. The breakfast buffet was good with a large selection of items to choose from. Our staff interaction was so slight, I can't even comment on it. The most positive thing this hotel has going is the location. We looked out over the wharf area, it was easy walking to everything - and that is an important aspect for us. Unfortunately, the weather was an issue and whale watching was not an option during our time frame. It was an ok facility, but definitely not worth what we paid for the stay.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants, England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Hotel just 2 streets away from the restaurants and whale watching. Nice breakfast with wide choice. Whale themed rooms are a good size. Staff ok but noticeably not as helpful and friendly as everywhere else we went in Iceland. Room not cleaned on the first night. If you are going whale watching it is an ideal hotel for location otherwise does not stand out

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stettler, Alberta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Our room was billed as a deluxe whale themed room. So after driving 8 hours, we find a room with indoor outdoor carpet that is supposed to look like rocks at the bottom of the ocean and a group of three whale themed paintings on the wall, (badly done). That was the extent of the whale theme. Our room was hot, as it faced west and staff had not thought to shut the curtains. There was only one small window. Flies were all over. The bed had a bottom sheet that did not fit properly, made of thin material that franklly looked like it had been used forever - not a proper hotel sheet. We slept on top of the covers. Stains on one pillowcase, stains on the couch and chair fabrics. Windows were dirty. On top of all this they charge for wi fi! Compared to the other rooms we had stayed in in Iceland, this was a very poor hotel. I'm not sure why our travel agent booked us here - we were supposed to stay two nights, but got out after one.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Our experience with another Fosshotel was fairly good, but this one was relatively bad. Icelandic hotels are not generally the most modern and clean, but this hotel is in a bad condition. Flies everywhere, toilet did not flush, water smells like rotten eggs due to heating it with ground heat (sulfur rich). Wifi slow and very expensive, unfriendly staff (moaning with even the slightest request). The room was very hot and damp (did i mention the flies?). They do not even make the beds properly. Moreover, this was one of our most expensive hotels! Hotel location was fair, but this was the only hotel we had to drive around for for a while to find it. No good signs on the road.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I stayed there on a tour, My room was spartan and a little beat up, more like a dorm room than a hotel room, but everything worked. The breakfast buffet was good but standard; our dinner was good, Husavik is a charming town and the hotel is right in the middle.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fosshotel Husavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosshotel Husavik

Address: Ketilsbraut 22, Husavik 640, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Northeast Region > Husavik
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Husavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosshotel Husavik 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Husavik is called "the Whale Watching Capital of Europa" - and the harbour is within walking distance from the hotel. The outstanding scenery of Skjalfandi Bay provides the perfect backdrop for any of the many sporting activities the area offers such as fishing, horseriding, skiing or hiking. The county surrounding Husavik is know for it's natural wonders and beautiful landscape. Husavik offers the traveller an ideal base for tours to Lake Myvatn (which is only 20min drive away), Icelands most powerful waterfall Dettifoss, the Capital of the North Akureyri (50min drive away) or the canyon of Asbyrgi. Fosshotel Husavik, is the friendly and well equipped hotel with 44 comfortable rooms in the heart of Husavik ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fosshotel Husavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fosshotel Husavik Husavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fosshotel Husavik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.