We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, clean rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Husavik Cape Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Husavik Cape Hotel to your Saves list
Husavik Cape Hotel
Laugarbrekka 26, Husavik 640, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Husavik B&B and Inns
Singapore
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Excellent service, clean rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

The hotel owners went the extra mile by offering to help us to check road conditions and tours when we were in Husavik.
Breakfast was sumptuous: cakes, bread, cookies, biscuitscereal, ham and cheese and the hotel offers free flow of hot chocolate, coffee and tea throughout the day.
Rooms were clean and the location was perfect. We walked to our whale watching boat tour, the church and the harbour from the hotel. It is an approximately 15 minute walk - very pleasant. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    19
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
15
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The staff and owners were some of the MOST FRIENDLY chaps we met in Iceland. Orlygur, the young guy and son of the proprietor family at the front desk when we arrived was so extremely helpful in everything. First of all, we had booked through a third party internet site and the room was for three persons and we were only two. Orlygur offered to redo the reservation for a room for two and reduced the price accordingly. Then he let us choose a room, 201, with a view over the lovely little town of Husavik! Furthermore we got tips for the town, he recommended a lovely little restaurant, named Naustid, down by the pier, not too far from the hotel, a place run by three ladies, with lovely food, ultra fresh, catch of the day and very fairly priced. Later that day we met the father of Orlygur, when we asked for hot water he himself put on the cattle to boil the water. We had a very pleasant chat with him and found out he was a former member of parliament of Icement.In the spacious breakfast hall you encounter loads of bookshelves, floor to ceiling, with the library of his father, a recognized historian who recopilated the sagas and included them in lectures at Iceland University in Husavik. Also there are many new books with all sorts of information and photographs about Husavik and Iceland, which you actually may consult. Also worth mentioning in terms of service, there a coffee machine for the guest to have coffee throughout the day. Breakfast was simple but abundant and included in the price. All in all a great stay. We would defenitely stay there again (we plan on going back to Iceland once more!).

During our stay in Husavik we went Whale Watching with North Sailing, highly recommended! We saw lots of whales on our trip. In the town center you will find the souvenir shop, a kind of general store on Gardarsbraut street, across the street from the pier and close to the church, where a very helpful person provided my wife with additional memorycards for her camara, putting a lot of effort looking up a memory card which was less expensive and had double memory. It is the place to get these things as well as souvenirs and all sorts.

Room Tip: Room 201 has a great view over Husavik harbour and town!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The proprietor is one of the nicest chaps we met in Iceland. What a lovely guy. But the place itself is a mixed bag: lousy breakfast, military-barracks-like atmosphere, and water that smelled like sulphur. It's a great location, and the proprietor's friendliness made up for a lot, but I can't say that I highly recommend this property. You could do better; you could do worse.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We booked at Husavik Guesthouse in August and arrived much earlier than check-in time. The young woman at the desk was friendly and we luckily got a free upgrade to their sister hotel Husavik Cape Hotel because they received a cancellation. It was in a great location, easy walk to the harbour. The room was clea and a good size. The only downside was the bad connection to internet sometimes. The breakfast is ok and they give complimentary free hot drinks at all times in their dining area. I think when it comes to a small town, it's good value for money. We did not have high expections so everything was a lovely surprise.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montréal
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Out of 11 hotels used during a recent 2-week trip in Iceland, this one is certainly the worst. It's not clear to me as yet if this is a hotel or a garage, as will appear if you look carefully at the pictures. Anyways, my room had no view: it was entirely blocked by the (newly built?) garage gabled roof. Get this, I didn't have a view on the roof, no, the roof was actually blocking entirely my window. The garage is actually as big as the hotel. So, not really a good place to stay. Unless you need an oil change. Another first: no toilet paper. What you get is a dispenser (didn't know they still existed) for small, one-sheet, thinnest paper I have ever seen. You got the picture.

Room Tip: Opposite to garage, I guess.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrlygurHnefill, Owner at Husavik Cape Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
We are very sorry that your stay at our hotel did not satisfy your expectations. The building you refer to is the workshop of the local theater company where they make sets and costumes for their productions. Unfortunately, this building blocks out the beautiful view of the bay in the room you stayed in and three other rooms on the second floor. We sell these rooms with a good discount and many people prefer to stay in them and save money. These rooms have access to the 2nd floor balcony that offers a spectacular view of the town and the ocean. If you were offered the room at full price, I want to apologize to you. I hope the rest of your trip was satisfactory. Kind regards, Örlygur Hnefill, manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new hampshire
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We very much liked this hotel. The young man at the desk was so helpful, letting us choose our room and make a sandwich to take on the whale boat at no charge. Our room on the second floor had big windows, so lots of light and plenty of room for suitcases. The bathroom had a great feature - a heated towel rack that you could turn on. It was perfect for washing out a few small things which dried quickly overnight. The geothermal hot water is rather stinky, but that pretty much comes with the territory in Iceland. The hotel is about 2 blocks from the center of town, so easy to walk down to the harbor and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenside
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The Cape Hotel is an ideal place to stay in Húsavík. Our innkeeper, Oliver, was incredibly helpful, but all the staff was extremely friendly. We felt as if we were in someone’s home. Our room was very comfortable and special features included the dining room which functioned as a library and free wifi access in all the rooms. The location is perfect- on a quiet street with a great view of the harbor, and the center of town is a 5 minute walk away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Husavik Cape Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Husavik Cape Hotel

Address: Laugarbrekka 26, Husavik 640, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Northeast Region > Husavik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Husavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Husavik Cape Hotel is a great place to stay if you are going whale watching in Husavik, the whale watching capital of Iceland. We offer 16 rooms with a great view. Our rooms are spacious, beds are made and breakfast is included. We look forward to your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Husavik Cape Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Husavik Cape Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.