We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Husavik Cape Hotel

Save Saved
You added Husavik Cape Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Husavik Cape Hotel
Laugarbrekka 26, Husavik 640, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Husavik B&B and Inns
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Clean and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We booked at Husavik Guesthouse in August and arrived much earlier than check-in time. The young woman at the desk was friendly and we luckily got a free upgrade to their sister hotel Husavik Cape Hotel because they received a cancellation. It was in a great location, easy walk to the harbour. The room was clea and a good size. The only downside was the bad connection to internet sometimes. The breakfast is ok and they give complimentary free hot drinks at all times in their dining area. I think when it comes to a small town, it's good value for money. We did not have high expections so everything was a lovely surprise.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    16
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
10
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montréal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Out of 11 hotels used during a recent 2-week trip in Iceland, this one is certainly the worst. It's not clear to me as yet if this is a hotel or a garage, as will appear if you look carefully at the pictures. Anyways, my room had no view: it was entirely blocked by the (newly built?) garage gabled roof. Get this, I didn't have a view on the roof, no, the roof was actually blocking entirely my window. The garage is actually as big as the hotel. So, not really a good place to stay. Unless you need an oil change. Another first: no toilet paper. What you get is a dispenser (didn't know they still existed) for small, one-sheet, thinnest paper I have ever seen. You got the picture.

Room Tip: Opposite to garage, I guess.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrlygurHnefill, Owner at Husavik Cape Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
We are very sorry that your stay at our hotel did not satisfy your expectations. The building you refer to is the workshop of the local theater company where they make sets and costumes for their productions. Unfortunately, this building blocks out the beautiful view of the bay in the room you stayed in and three other rooms on the second floor. We sell these rooms with a good discount and many people prefer to stay in them and save money. These rooms have access to the 2nd floor balcony that offers a spectacular view of the town and the ocean. If you were offered the room at full price, I want to apologize to you. I hope the rest of your trip was satisfactory. Kind regards, Örlygur Hnefill, manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new hampshire
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We very much liked this hotel. The young man at the desk was so helpful, letting us choose our room and make a sandwich to take on the whale boat at no charge. Our room on the second floor had big windows, so lots of light and plenty of room for suitcases. The bathroom had a great feature - a heated towel rack that you could turn on. It was perfect for washing out a few small things which dried quickly overnight. The geothermal hot water is rather stinky, but that pretty much comes with the territory in Iceland. The hotel is about 2 blocks from the center of town, so easy to walk down to the harbor and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenside
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The Cape Hotel is an ideal place to stay in Húsavík. Our innkeeper, Oliver, was incredibly helpful, but all the staff was extremely friendly. We felt as if we were in someone’s home. Our room was very comfortable and special features included the dining room which functioned as a library and free wifi access in all the rooms. The location is perfect- on a quiet street with a great view of the harbor, and the center of town is a 5 minute walk away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
244 helpful votes 244 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed for one night but it was very nice. We were in room 101 which was nice as it had 2 large windows, one overlooking the harbour and one overlooking the snow covered mountains across the fjord. The room was a nice size with a very comfortable double bed, a day bed and a nice sofa to sit on. The blackout curtains worked well. Breakfast is adequate, but it's served in a windowless room. It would be nice to see the beautiful views of the area. The hotel is a nice place to stay after or before whale watching as it's just above the harbour.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albacete
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

While we arrive to Husavik (Fall), we were the only gests in the hotel. The host lend us the whole hotel for us, a completely new modern hotel. Everithing clean and beautiful. Good price for Iceland. It was tough, a special experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My family and I arrived on a Friday night at the end of the tourist season, so we were a little short of options given that there were few places available for families at the time we arrived in Husavik.

It was a lovely and clean hotel with a very helpful man at reception when we checked in. It was reasonably expensive but, as I said, we had few options and it included breakfast which was fine for what we were after.

The man let us put our milk and yoghurt in their fridge and he also helped me find a bottle opener for our wine, which was nice. He chatted to us about the Aurora, which we were hoping to see and was very pleasant.

The room was very clean and spacious, the only things I would suggest is perhaps a small fridge and tea and coffee making facilities in the room. There might have been the option of getting tea and coffee from the dining area should we have wanted it but we weren't sure if this was an option or not.

The only criticism I have is that at breakfast, another man was on duty and he was very diligent, making sure that everything was well stocked, but this was very off-putting as he would hover right beside you while you were getting food, waiting to refill things. It wouldn't have been as bad if he had said something friendly, or smiled, but he just stood there making you feel uncomfortable. If this could be avoided, it was otherwise a very pleasant place to stay!

Room Tip: We had the room at the front overlooking the harbour, which was pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Husavik Cape Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Husavik Cape Hotel

Address: Laugarbrekka 26, Husavik 640, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Northeast Region > Husavik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Husavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Husavik Cape Hotel is a great place to stay if you are going whale watching in Husavik, the whale watching capital of Iceland. We offer 16 rooms with a great view. Our rooms are spacious, beds are made and breakfast is included. We look forward to your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Husavik Cape Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Husavik Cape Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.