We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whale watching during storm...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of North Sailing - Husavik Original Whale Watching

North Sailing - Husavik Original Whale Watching
Hafnarstett 11 | Iceland, Husavik IS-640 , Iceland
+354 464 7272
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 15 Attractions in Husavik
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: North Sailing is proud to be pioneers in whale watching in Iceland. We run and operate four traditional Icelandic oak boats, as well as three schooners, all of them environmentally friendly. Our customers can choose between our Original 3-hour- whale watching tour, which runs several times a day from April till October, or our schooner tours, which focus on whales plus puffins plus the sailing experience. Skjalfandi Bay, adjacent to our hometown Husavik, is known for its excellent whale sightings. We regularly see humpback whales and minke whales and the chances to see the white-beaked dolphin and the harbour porpoise are fairly high in the bay as well. Our success rate in the year 2013 was 99,1 %, but of course we are operating in wild nature and can only hope that the whales and dolphins continue to visit the bay. Protecting our environment and acting ecologically responsible is therefore a key element of our operations. Good to know: We provide warm overalls for all customers, free parking and wheelchair access to our boats. Our highly motivated staff is well trained and our customers' well being and safety is our highest priority when taking you out to encounter the marine wildlife first hand.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Whale watching during storm...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The crew did absolutely do it's best to track whales, but with a strong wind, it was not really fun being see-sick for the first time in my life...
It was quite surprising that we were not asked to wear life-vests, but only arctic suits and some kind of rain coat that did not really help.
Also, one of the benches was broken and we were asked to sit somewhere else.

I would love to see whales some other time, but not under these conditions..

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North_Sailing, Ticket Sales at North Sailing - Husavik Original Whale Watching, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Sorry to hear that you were seasick on the tour with us. It can happen to anyone, especially if the sea is rough.
Wearing life vests is not compulsory under current law, which is why you were not asked to wear them. I can assure you that there were vests available on board for all passengers and members of crew. The suits that we provide are for warmth, and they also keep you afloat, if needed.
We would be happy to welcome you back to Húsavík someday; and we hope that the weather will be more favorable for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    60
    19
    11
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Does it worth spending 3 hours ?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We are family of four. Took the basic 3 hours whale watch tour. The team is very welcoming, very professional. However, in a 3 hours tour we hardly saw whales, and from very long distance. I know it's a matter of luck, and they do not guarantee (and maybe the chances in August are lower since the whales are leaving the bay). I have no complains to the company. But from my personal experience, to spend 3 hours on a boat for the chance that you might see a whale from close look, it doesn't worth it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North_Sailing, Ticket Sales at North Sailing - Husavik Original Whale Watching, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
We're sorry you were not able to get a close look at the whales. As you correctly say, it is a matter of luck if the whales are easy to spot or not. There are still whales in the bay in August, and even later into the autumn, but it seems they were not willing to be watched closely on the day you and your family took a tour.
We thank you for your kind words about our welcoming and professional staff. we would be happy to see you again on one of our tours in the future.
Best regards from Húsavík,
Adrienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Fabulous experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We had an amazing trip and got to see a humpback whale fully diving out of the water and captured it on film. I know that we were very lucky to see this and this particular whale seem to like splashing and showing off his beautiful fin. It was wonderful and an experience I will remember for the rest of my life. Thanks

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North_Sailing, Ticket Sales at North Sailing - Husavik Original Whale Watching, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
We're so glad you had a wonderful experience with us. Jumping humback whales are truly an amazing sight. Thank you for sharing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“no good planing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We bought tickets around one hour before the boat was leaving and arrive some time before to the boat at they told us when we bought it and exactly at the time we were supposed to start getting into the boat someone from the company came and told us that the boat is not departing because someone is ill and that there are just 20 tickets left for the next boat what created chaos in the selling point. The people from the selling point was attending the phone instead of the people who was in the queue.

They should tell us when we bought the ticket that there won't be boat departure and send someone from the company to the place where was supposed to be the departure to inform when the people was arriving.

Otherwise the experience was good and we saw whales. We also got warm clothes in the boat and they gave us a lot of information about whales

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North_Sailing, Tour Coordinator at North Sailing - Husavik Original Whale Watching, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Hello, and thank you for the review.
I'm glad you enjoyed the whale watching tour with us but I'm are sorry that we had to cancel
the first tour.

We did receive the notice of the engineer being to sick to be able to work just some 20 minutes before departure and until then we were expecting him for the tour. I can insure you that we did our best to find a new engineer but about 10 minutes before the departure we saw we would have to cancel the tour.

We did our best to offer everyone a tour a soon as possible but since this was the biggest boat that we had to cancel the tour on was it impossible to fit everyone on the next tour (which was on a much smaller boat).

Best regards from Husavik,
Oddvar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Go to Husavik”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Superb whale watching trip with North Sailing, as others have commented good commentary and whale watching (Humpbacks) along with dolphins. If I had been there longer would have gone out again it was that good.

I would not be tempted to go whale watching again from Rejkavik. Minke whales which seem very difficult to spot.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North_Sailing, Ticket Sales at North Sailing - Husavik Original Whale Watching, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank for taking the time to write a review. We're glad you enjoyed your tour with us. We think that Husavik is the best place to go whale watching in Iceland, and we are pleased to know that you agree with us.
We hope to see you again on one (or more) of our tours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Sailing - Husavik Original Whale Watching also viewed

Husavik, Northeast Region
 

Been to North Sailing - Husavik Original Whale Watching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Sailing - Husavik Original Whale Watching, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.