We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go to Husavik” 5 of 5 stars
Review of North Sailing - Husavik Original Whale Watching

North Sailing - Husavik Original Whale Watching
Hafnarstett 11 | Iceland, Husavik IS-640 , Iceland
+354 464 7272
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 12 attractions in Husavik
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: North Sailing is proud to be pioneers in whale watching in Iceland. We run and operate four traditional Icelandic oak boats, as well as three schooners, all of them environmentally friendly. Our customers can choose between our Original 3-hour- whale watching tour, which runs several times a day from April till October, or our schooner tours, which focus on whales plus puffins plus the sailing experience. Skjálfandi Bay, adjacent to our hometown Húsavík, is known for its excellent whale sightings. We regularly see humpback whales and minke whales and the chances to see the white-beaked dolphin and the harbour porpoise are fairly high in the bay as well. Our success rate in the year 2012 was 99,1 %, but of course we are operating in wild nature and can only hope that the whales and dolphins continue to visit the bay. Protecting our environment and acting ecologically responsible is therefore a key element of our operations. Good to know: We provide warm overalls for all customers, free parking and wheelchair access to our boats. Our highly motivated staff is well trained and our customers’ well being and safety is our highest priority when taking you out to encounter the marine wildlife first hand.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Go to Husavik”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Superb whale watching trip with North Sailing, as others have commented good commentary and whale watching (Humpbacks) along with dolphins. If I had been there longer would have gone out again it was that good.

I would not be tempted to go whale watching again from Rejkavik. Minke whales which seem very difficult to spot.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North_Sailing, Ticket Sales at North Sailing - Husavik Original Whale Watching, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank for taking the time to write a review. We're glad you enjoyed your tour with us. We think that Husavik is the best place to go whale watching in Iceland, and we are pleased to know that you agree with us.
We hope to see you again on one (or more) of our tours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    35
    11
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leiden, The Netherlands
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing humpbacks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

After we spend some days In Iceland we left our campsite in Akureyri and drove by bus to Húsavík for some whale watching. Though there was a heavy storm de day in front, today we could make the trip to see some whales. The enthousiastic crew told us a lot of information about the behaviour and appearance of the whales, dolphins and puffins (and other seabirds) we might encounter during our sailing tour. You could here that she knew a lot about these animals and the surroundings. We saw beautiful humpbacks swimming close to our ship and a puffin flying over. The thing I really liked about "North Sailing" is that they really care about the animals. A small group of people in a speedboat almost sailed into the humpback and our crew said that they came way to close to the whale. You could here from the voice of the tourguide that she was really unhappy about it. "North sailing" puts the nature and it's animals on the first place. We (the tourists) are the ones entering their homes, and "North sailing" respects their health. It made me feel proud to be on this ship and not in the speedboat. Thanks North Sailing for this amazing experience! I'll never forget it!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North_Sailing, Tour Coordinator at North Sailing - Husavik Original Whale Watching, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Conny, thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience! It really means a lot to us to receive such a nice feetback for our work! Hope to see you again in Húsavík some day! Thank you and best regards from Husavik, Oddvar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainz
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Four Humpbacks and Dolphins”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We were lucky to see four whales and also a big group of dolphins, when we sailed with North Sailing. We did the Puffins, Whales and Sails tour. First we passed an island were thousands of Puffins live. They were in the air, in the water, everywhere.
Then we went to a bay, where there is a good chance to see whales. And we did. It was impressing, because they came up directly in front of and beside the ship. The crew was friendly and explained interesting things about whales.
The only thing which I found not that good is that the captain decided pretty early to travel back to Husavik. We were pretty good in time, so we did not spend the estimated and actually paid time on board. That was a pity, because we left while one whale was close to the ship and most people would have loved to stay a view minutes longer to watch that great animal.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North_Sailing, Tour Coordinator at North Sailing - Husavik Original Whale Watching, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Conny,

thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience!

It really means a lot to us to receive such a nice feetback for our work!

Hope to see you again in Húsavík some day!

Thank you and best regards from Husavik,
Oddvar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Disappointment and bad customer service.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Unfortunatey due to bad weather, our 10am prebooked whale tour reservation was canceled. Also all the tours was canceled for the rest of the day. We could understand that the weather was out of the company's control so we decided to rebook for the next morning.
We asked the staff at the information desk if we should have the tickets there and then, but we were told that it was not necessary and that we could pick the tickets up near to the time of our trip at 10am. So to pass the time when the weather was bad, we first had a coffee and cake at the Skuld cafe that was located nearby. Then we checked out the Whale museum in the afternoon and in the evening we decided to have dinner at North sailings restaurant Gamli Baukur. When we arrived at the companies ticket desk, the staff gave us the tickets for our tour. We then saw that on the back of the tickets, we could have received 20 % discount at the cafe, the museum and at their restaurant. We were disappointed that they did not give us the ticket earlier. What is the point of getting the discount if we have already been to these places the day before. The staff could have been more considerate by giving us the tickets beforehand, especially as we had prepaid in advance and we had to rearrange our tour due to bad weather. Things only got worse before we were going to board the boat with many other people. We were then told only 10 mins before starting our boat trip that the engineer was sick so they had to cancel this tour. The next tour had only 20 places available. So they recommended us to go as quickly to the information desk to reschedule and it was first come first serve. If the 20 places were taken then we would have to wait until the 12pm boat tour. We knew that we could not take the later trip because we were on a tight time schedule already. We raced to the ticket desk,to only find out that the 20 places were already taken. We thought this was strange because we were one of the first people in the queue (third in line). The ticket staff was not friendly at all. We also heard one of the staff members being unfriendly to a couple with a small kid. I can understand if a person is sick and cannot come into work, but ringing just 10 mins before the actual tour is going to happen, then I think it's ridiculous! The engineer must know if he/she is not feeling well more than just 10 mins before starting to work. The customer service we received and witnessed with other peopled was terrible. We are not saying that all staff members are bad that work there, but the ones that we have seen and heard needs to definitely improve their customer service skills! We received our money back because we could not do the trips in the afternoon. It was a disappointment overall.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North_Sailing, Tour Coordinator at North Sailing - Husavik Original Whale Watching, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Lee-Klotz
we are really sorry to hear about your experience and I see that a lot of this is apparently a misunderstanding.

1. The reason we did not go out the day you were booked was because we care about our customers safety and wellness and the weather conditions for this day were terrible. I'm afraid we can not control the weather conditions.

2. There is no discount on Gamli Baukur or Café Skuld with our tickets but on the back there is a 20% discount for the tour Whales, Puffins & Sails. There are indeed pictures of both Gamli Baukur and Café Skuld but there is no discount claimed to be offered there. We do give discount vouchers to our customers for the Whale Museum but it is also not on the back of our tickets. Those are discount vouchers made by the Whale Museum to be handed over to our customers. You are correct that it should have been wise to get the discount vouchers before while you were going there before the tour and that was our mistake and I'm really sorry for that.

3. We did receive the notice of the engineer being to sick to be able to work just some 20 minutes before departure and until then we were expecting him for the tour. I can insure you that we did our best to find a new engineer but about 10 minutes before the departure we saw we would have to cancel the tour.

4. We did try to offer everyone a tour a soon as possible but since this was the biggest boat that we had to cancel the tour on was it impossible to fit everyone on the next tour (which was on a much smaller boat).

I find it strange if you experience our staff to be "not friendly at all" and some of them even "bad" but I have never heard that before. I will make sure to check it out.

I can insure you that the experience you had was a unique one and I hope you will
have the chance to join us some other day for whale watching to experience how it fantastic it is.

With best regards from Husavik,
Oddvar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erlangen, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Whales and puffins”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We began our whale watching tour with a delay of 2.5 hours because one of the schooners had broken down. They gave us 20% off for this and even called the guest house to cancel the dinner for us - very good service.
North Sailing provides waterproof and warm overalls for all passengers which are highly recommendable to wear even at good weather conditions. Nonetheless one should wear warm clothes underneath as well and bring waterproof shoes with them.
First part of the trip led us to Lundey Island where the puffins - well - were supposed to breed. Since it was late in august we saw only a few of them in the water but at least we saw some.
Second part was looking out for the whales. At the ticket office they have a poster saying what whales were in the bay these days so everyone can decide if it's worth or not. We were "promised" to see and after half an hour of looking out finally saw two humpback whales, some of the biggest found in Iceland. There are always 3 or 4 boats out, so it's very probable to see some whales.
The guide and skipper were very experienced and gave us a lot of background knowledge.
We enjoyed the way home with a cup of hot chocolate and a cinnamon roll and the whole thing was rounded up by sailing (!) home for at least 15 min.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North_Sailing, Tour Coordinator at North Sailing - Husavik Original Whale Watching, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Julia,

thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience!

It really means a lot to us to receive such a nice feetback for our work!

Hope to see you again in Húsavík some day!

Thank you and best regards from Husavik,
Oddvar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Sailing - Husavik Original Whale Watching also viewed

Husavik, Northeast Region
 

Been to North Sailing - Husavik Original Whale Watching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Sailing - Husavik Original Whale Watching, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added North Sailing - Husavik Original Whale Watching to your Saves list