We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely wooden interior and good burger” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gamli Baukur

Gamli Baukur
Hafnarstett, Husavik, Iceland
464 2442
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 11 Restaurants in Husavik
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Stuttgart, Germany
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely wooden interior and good burger”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Located right at the harbor front, there is this lovely small restaurant with an all wooden interior as if in an old boat. Serve both regular main courses and smaller dishes like soup and burgers. We had an Icelandic meat soup and a béarnaise burger. For me, this was one of the best burger is had in Iceland.
Service a bit too impersonal for me.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    82
    20
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trondheim, Norway
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good food and great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Friendly staff, free Wifi and good food. We came back a second time on our trip to Husavik. Fresh fish every day on the menu. The location is the best part. Gamli Baukur faces the harbour and the whale watching boats, and the atmosphere is really nice. Would recommend it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and reasonably-priced food (for Iceland)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We ate here two nights during our stay in Husavik. The fish was excellent and fresh. Very well prepared and presented. Fun atmosphere with locals and tourists alike. Great local beer!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Most tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I liked the interior, very warm and cosy. We liked our first meal so much we ate there again.

The staff are very friendly and the burgers were the tastiest I ever had, I asked for BBQ sauce rather than the sauce they offered, the burgers do not ave any wheat in them and so can be eaten without the bun if you are allergic to gluten.

They have an array of dishes to suit all budgets.

There service is prompt and the food professionally presented.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Perfect stop after whale watching or lunch anytime”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Perfect for soup and light lunch after whale watching- a bit expensive but so is every other restaurant in Iceland! Great Icelandic soup. The perfect setting with nautical decorations and 'old time' feel. The kids loved the hot chocolate!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gamli Baukur also viewed

Husavik, Northeast Region
Husavik, Northeast Region
 
Husavik, Northeast Region
Husavik, Northeast Region
 

Been to Gamli Baukur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gamli Baukur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.