We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won over by the friendly staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hof 1 Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hof 1 Hotel to your Saves list
Hof 1 Hotel
Hof in Oraefi, Hofn 810, Iceland (Formerly Frost and Fire Guesthouse)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Hofn
Norwich, England
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Won over by the friendly staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

To put this in context, we only stayed at this hotel because our planned hotel ( Fosshotel Skaftafell) cancelled our reservation a week before travelling in favour of a film crew, even though we had booked 11 months previous! Therefore with no other options in the vicinity we had reluctantly agreed to this booking. First impressions are of a youth hostel with accomodation to suit. The room we were given was in a seperate building and was so small that suitcases had to be stored end on in order to move about the room. The room itself was however clean and comfortable. The hotel does have a restaurant but with a single menu that changes daily. The food was piping hot and the lamb dish on second day particularly nice. However had we not have had the meals paid for as part of Fosshotel compensation, we would have considered the cost very expensive and poor value.None of the rooms have tv's (which I like) so everyone tends to congregate with after meal coffee in the reception/lounge area. This made for a much better travelling experience and this was a particularly welcoming and comfortable area, with loads of books on Iceland and the local area to peruse. The big plus here though is the staff - very friendly and welcoming. If in the area again would I stay here - maybe.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    34
    49
    27
    13
See reviews for
17
79
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Hotel in a lovely location and nice and quiet - thats it for good points.

Bad points - we pre booked (and paid more for) a room with a private bathroom in the main house (to save us going back and forth). Room was tiny - had a bed and the worlds smallest wardrobe and the only place to put a suitcase was either in front of the door to the room or in front of the door to the bathroom (either not ideal for obvious reasons).

Realised that heater was not working in room. Went to reception where they told us this was the only room in the main house with private bathroom so they could move us but it woudl be to one of the outbuildings. Already dragged bags up so didnt bother but asked for an oil heater which they delievered about 2 hours later.

Shower leaked ALL OVER bathroom floor....may as well have been a wetroom.

Could have coped with all of the above if it wasnt for the food. Dinner was 4500 K each and was inedible. Fish was tough, veggies undercooked and sauce was basically a warmed up tin of chopped tomatoes - you could actually see that they hadnt done anything but empty a tin. I had 2 bowls of the starter (soup was ok) and didnt eat the main course.
Ridiculous price for what is basically self service canteen serving terrible food.

Next morning at breakfast toaster wasnt working. To add to this electricity kept going on and off which meant no tea or coffee as this was from a self service machine. So no toast, no tea and smoked salmon smelt like an ashtray.

Admittedly, when i refused to pay for my meal on checkout they didnt complain just took it off. Also gave us 10% off total bill for dramas at breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The "charming farmhouse" turned out to be modular compartments of a tiny size that are reminiscent of shipping containers. The lighting is poor, with dead bugs accumulated in the fixtures. No TV, no wi-fi in the room, no hairdryer, the light over the sink isn't functioning. No coffee service in the room. You have to hoof it to the main building and purchase tea! The "set meal" is buffet style...no choice, one soup, one dinner, and 5000 kronen each ($40 each - and extra for something to drink!). Window looks directly into a grass bank 10 feet from the wall. Lights too dim to even read by. Nothing nearby, so there's no escape or alternative for meals or activities. Thank goodness there's hiking and beauty 12 miles away, which is the ONLY reason a place like this can exist at all. STAY AWAY.

Room Tip: Choose a room somewhere else! There are plenty of other accommodations along this stretch of road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

While expensive, I think the Hof 1 hotel was worth it. We came in around 5, and were checked in right away by nice, and rather cute, receptionist. We ate there and had the best lamb I've ever had. I was even impressed by the baked potato! The room was fine, Ikea furnished, but the view was great and the hotel was nice and quiet. I love the little village, but if you aren't into that kinda thing, what are you doing in Iceland?

I will definitely be coming back!

I noticed only female staff... Wonder what's up with that...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Basic rooms with shared bathroom. Warm staff, although when asked for hot water for a tea we were told no, as they sold tea.

As other reviews have alluded too, no wifi in rooms, and the meals are expensive. However, we read the reviews prior to arriving and brought our own meals. Breakfast was very good, although we were not expected a hot breakfast, so our expectations were more than met.

We had our window smashed in, and the farmers were exceptionally helpful in fixing it with ducktap.

If you read the reviews, they are accurate.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We had the most delightful stay at the Hof1 Hotel - for 2 nights, between our visit to Skaftafell and Jokusarlon (only about 20-30 minutes to each so great location). The cottage room was a little small, but very warm and comfortable beds. The highlight of our trip was the amazing staff - from all of over Europe - and were so friendly and kind. Dinner at the hotel was delicious every night (best lamb we've ever had), and the staff even gave us wine and champagne to celebrate our recent engagement. We absolutely loved our stay here - it made our Iceland trip so memorable!

Room Tip: We picked the shared bathroom - which is normally fine, except our neighbors were using it every tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed for two nights, as the location was half way between Skaftafell and Jökulsárlón therefore pretty convenient. The surroundings are quite nice.

We had a room in the main house with shared bathroom. We wouldn't normally choose shared facilities but the price drop was significant. The room was nice, good comfortable beds (twins pushed together) and enough space. The bathrooms were fine too, and we never had any problems with having to wait.

Service was okay, we did come back one night to find a couple who wanted to check in and there was no-one to help them. I'm not sure whether they managed to check in or not. There was no-one there and the phone they were instructed to call had been left behind the desk so that was useless.

Breakfast was just okay. It seems to be common in Iceland to have cucumber and tomato with cheese and ham, and they had all of this, plus bread and cereal. But no fruit or hot options.

We didn't use the restaurant. The problem with it was that they only served dinner between 7 and 8 which is very limited. Especially as this is the time sun sets and you get the best light for views and photographs.

Wi-fi was only in the lounge not in the rooms.
We didn't use the spa facilities.

I would recommend this place for somewhere comfortable to sleep and get a shower, and a good location. That's about it. Wi-fi in the rooms and an excellent breakfast might have bumped it up to 4.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hof 1 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hof 1 Hotel

Address: Hof in Oraefi, Hofn 810, Iceland (Formerly Frost and Fire Guesthouse)
Location: Iceland > East Region > Hofn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Hofn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hof 1 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frost And Fire Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hof 1 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.