We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, nice, nice.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arnanes Country Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Arnanes Country Hotel to your Saves list
Arnanes Country Hotel
by Road 1, Hofn 781, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Hofn
Faenza, Italy
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice, nice, nice.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Really nice and in a good location near the city of Hofn. Our room was a in a comfortable prefabricated trusses next to the main building. The owner is friendly and breakfast, included in the cost of our room, was really abundant, with some tipical products and very good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    57
    23
    9
    6
See reviews for
18
72
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We had originally booked 1 room with bathroom and 1 without (more were not available at the time of booking). We ended up managing to change for two rooms with a bathroom. The rooms with a bathroom are either outside in several little 'houses', and the shared bathroom ones are in the main house. Please note that some rooms are located 1.5km from the hotel itself. We opted not to go there. (otherwise there are other hotels to stay in if you have to drive somewhere else already). The rooms were very clean and comfortable and the surroundings quiet. (a view of the grasslands from the window). There are horseriding tours available, I didn't take one but went to have a look at the horses and the tour which was about to leave. Horses seemed happy though and were let onto a big paddock during the nights. The tours are organised by the son of the family, and the hotel is run by the father. You feel the family atmosphere everywhere, since the father also does the waitering in the restaurant, and takes care of the breakfast. Wireless worked in the main building and in the rooms as well. The hotel is a short drive from Höfn, which I first found a pity but after seeing Höfn, I didn't mind being outside of it. I would recommend this place!

Room Tip: Make sure your room is at the hotel itself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We knew when we made our booking that we had opted for an economy room that was in a basement with very small windows. What we got was perfectly adequate in terms of our expectations. Just be aware that if you chose this option you will get no view, limited natural light, a tiny room, paper thin walls and a shared bathroom. It was clean and had everything we needed but please don't have high expectations with this option! The location would be spectacular I'm sure, with views to the glaciers, had the sea mist had cleared while we there. Just don't expect to see them from your window if you get a basement room! We ate in the restaurant which was typically expensive, food was nice, but portions were small. Breakfast provided everything we wanted. The welcome was a bit haphazard but we warmed to the owner and his hospitality style during our stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We had booked a room with a balcony and mountain views (which are truly great from the premises and the restaurant), but were put in two miniscule basement rooms with no view whatsoever. Despite being able to document our booking details we were offered no excuse and no form of compensation.

The restaurant is on par with most rural Icelandic eateries, but nothing more. The whole place and the restaurant is run be two people, who seem quite overworked.

I'm guessing that if you get the room with the balcony this place could be a very nice place to stay, but apparently you can't be sure, when booking your room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

The country hotel looks pleasant enough, but beware the tied co-owned Guest House, that is over 2 km away and shares the tiny breakfast room.
The owner tries to run most of it himself and falls short. The GuestHouse is his old home converted - not what you want at the end of a long day!

Room Tip: Don't stay in the Guest House
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padua, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We had a great 3 days stay at the Arnanes, we were traveling along the south coast and the hotel, located only 6 km west of Höfn, was a perfect "base camp" for excursions to the Vatnajökull and Skaftafell National Park, and to the whole east coast as well.

Our room was small but cosy, we were in the basement apartments with a clean shared bathroom. The restaurant offers an interesting menu, where you can enjoy icelandic fish/meat specialities and international dishes while looking at Vatnajökull glaciers outside.
They have modest but good wine list and you can also enjoy the Arnanes' homemade beer, which was very tasty as well.

The international breakfast was just great, and the overall welcome and management by Ásmundur has been remarkable.

We would definitely return there again.

Room Tip: Bungalows outside have a better view of the amazing surrounding landscape.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This place is charming, and it offers one of the best breakfast with a lot of variety although it can get crowded (it was the only place that offered good pate). We stayed in the main house on the 2nd floor and had a window with a great view. It was clean, a little tight, but the fact that it was clean was a big factor. I love the character of this place.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Arnanes Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arnanes Country Hotel

Address: by Road 1, Hofn 781, Iceland
Location: Iceland > East Region > Hofn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Hofn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Arnanes Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arnanes Hotel höfn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arnanes Country Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.