We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impossible to fault” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pakkhus Restaurant

Pakkhus Restaurant
Krosseyjarvegi 3 | by the harbour, Hofn 780, Iceland
+354 4782280
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Hofn
Price range: $16 - $41
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Brussels
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Impossible to fault”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Not cheap by any measure but this was a wonderful meal: the langoustine that the place is famous for, but also the meat dishes. No worries about the service either. Only real issue was the paucity of carbs: potatoes and bread were thin on the ground

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    64
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Koper, Slovenia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Nice restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We have spent one night at the Hotn and we eat at the restaurant. We have to wait for approx. 30 minutes fot the table because they are full al the time. While waiting you can drknk a beer downsters where is very nice decorated bar and drink a Vatnajokull beer.We seat near the window where was a nice view on the habrour. The food was very good. I are the pizza with lobster - very good, my boyfridn grilled lobsters which were also very tasty. Before main we ate starte, served on a glacier. There were different ind of cheese, salami...At the end we order a dessert - some kind vulcano - it was very good looking and tasty.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food, expensive, poor service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Iceland isn't known for customer service but this was pretty poor. We ordered and waited over 30min for any service. I think our waitress went off shift and no one replaced her. I ended up walking to the bar myself to get water and get noticed.

The food when it did come was excellent, however I can't speak to dessert because it never arrived! We were in the restaurant for about 1h30 minutes when I just gave up and went to the bar for the bill.

I'd say go if you're not in a rush and you're willing to speak up for yourself.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We didn't expect to find such a great restaurant in this small fishing town, but we were so pleased that we found it! The wait was long (because it's one of two good restuarants in town) but it was well worth the wait. There's a big, comfortable bar/waiting room downstairs. Then, you go up for dinner. The building is really cool - old post-and-beam timbers, and great views of the docks. The food was incredible - good local foods, a large dose of creative cuisine and plating, and exceptional taste. The "lava and ash" dessert was amazing (despite the unusual name!) Expensive, but well worth it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Either fish or lamb was great! We loved it. Service was fine (in comparison to other Icelandic restaurants) but the food was very exquisite

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pakkhus Restaurant also viewed

Hofn, East Region
Hofn, East Region
 

Been to Pakkhus Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pakkhus Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.