We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpectedly amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pakkhus Restaurant

Pakkhus Restaurant
Krosseyjarvegi 3 | by the harbour, Hofn 780, Iceland
+354 4782280
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Hofn
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $16 - $41
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We didn't expect to find such a great restaurant in this small fishing town, but we were so pleased that we found it! The wait was long (because it's one of two good restuarants in town) but it was well worth the wait. There's a big, comfortable bar/waiting room downstairs. Then, you go up for dinner. The building is really cool - old post-and-beam timbers, and great views of the docks. The food was incredible - good local foods, a large dose of creative cuisine and plating, and exceptional taste. The "lava and ash" dessert was amazing (despite the unusual name!) Expensive, but well worth it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    65
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Either fish or lamb was great! We loved it. Service was fine (in comparison to other Icelandic restaurants) but the food was very exquisite

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fabulous meal of lobster lamb and more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Pakkhus is down by the harbourfront in Hofn and is in a double storey older wooden former (we assume) fish packing shed. They don't take bookings but encourage would be diners to wait downstairs in their cosy bar. The whole place just exudes warmth and welcome. Once seated we enjoyed a wonderful meal of exceptionally well prepared appetizers, lobster soup and a main course of slow cooked lamb which was the best we can ever remember eating. Overall a great meal - well done Pakkhus!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akureyri, Iceland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very good local food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

As entre we had a plate of locally made sausages and cheese and lightly-salted cod for main course. The entre was very interesting and it is good to know that such good sausages are made locally in Iceland but the cod was outstanding. It was perfectly cooked and presented with three kinds of potatoes and a salad - simply delicious.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Petersburg
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Langoustines!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Good and popular place in Hofn. Langoustines were fresh and good cooked. Especially there were delicious langoustines boiled in cream sauce.
Salted cod was there the best also.
Only one question stayed after visiting- to my mind langoustines look otherwise, these look as very big shrimp but in any case it was really delicious. Place is very popular and I recommend reserved a table, in otherwise you will wait in line 30 minutes or more.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pakkhus Restaurant also viewed

Hofn, East Region
Hofn, East Region
 

Been to Pakkhus Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pakkhus Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.