We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, reasonable prices(for iceland)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pakkhus Restaurant

Pakkhus Restaurant
Krosseyjarvegi 3 | by the harbour, Hofn 780, Iceland
+354 4782280
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Hofn
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $16 - $41
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Pittsburgh, PA
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Great food, reasonable prices(for iceland)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I had the lobster pizza (delicious) and a glass of wine. My husband had the Cod (very good) and 2 beers. We split the volcano skyr(great, very different from anything I have had before). The bill was $104 (which is not too bad given the prices in the area are all inflated). We had very good service and the atmosphere was very nice and authentic feeling. We had a nice view of the harbor as well.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    65
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Wahou!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Terrific langoustines, probably the best I've ever had! And a very creative and tasty dessert: the volcano Skyr! A very nice building and decoration, excellent service, what more could you ask for? Right, it's a bit expensive but not a ripp-off and definitely worth it. Piece of advice: book or come early.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazed at the Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

The night we went they were not open for dinner, which wasn't too disappointing because we had just come for a cup of coffee anyway. They had bands playing blues that night, and it cost 30.000 ISK per person for admission. When we said we just wanted coffee, they gave us some on the house and told us we could sit downstairs. When we handed back our used mugs, one of the waiters gave us two recipe books for food in the Vantajokull region as "memorabilia". Absolutely fantastic.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freetown, Sierra Leone
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Lobster Sandwich.... AMAZING!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

On a winter's day in the middle of January, there weren't many options for places to eat but I'm so happy the lovely lady in the information centre pointed us here for lunch.

The service was quick and efficient and the design simple and clean... the food was the real treat. The lobster sandwich was really excellent, loads of lobster pieces, fresh bread, a tangy sauce and a nice selection of stir-fried veg.

With two coffees to finish off it turned out to be one of our cheapest (and best) meals in Iceland.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alva, Scotland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

One of us chose lamb shank which was melt in the mouth and cooked to perfection (and it was the very fussy one of us!) The other had chicken salad. The chicken which was beautifully cooked was served on a bed of delicious leaves, grains and nuts. Best food we had in a restaurant in Iceland. Recommend it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pakkhus Restaurant also viewed

Hofn, East Region
Hofn, East Region
 

Been to Pakkhus Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pakkhus Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.