We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super guide and great sensations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ice Lagoon - Zodiac Boat Tours

Ice Lagoon - Zodiac Boat Tours
Sunnuhlid, Hofn 781, Iceland
00354 860 9996
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 9 things to do in Hofn
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: We offer unique, exclusive Zodiac boat tours on the Ice lagoon Jokulsarlon. Check out our popular adventure tour, our special evening tour or let us help you make an unforgettable private zodiac boat tour for you. You will bring your ideas and we will meet your wishes. Perfect for special occasions, photographers and everything in between. Our experienced guides will take you all the way up to the glacier edge to the majestic world of ice and untouched nature. Jokulsarlon is one of the most amazing natural wonder of Iceland and one of the most popular attractions for travelers to visit. This is the perfect place to experience unspoiled nature and unique environment where huge icebergs calve off the largest glacier in Europe, the great Vatnajokull, and float around in the lagoon of all shapes and colors.
Genk, Belgium
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Super guide and great sensations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Really great explanations and it's absolutely wonderful to swerve around huge icebergs then slow down to hear the thin ice break underneath the zodiac. We even saw a seal and went very close to the where the glacier breaks off into the water. Simply amazing and absolutely beautiful

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    9
    1
    0
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“AMAZING!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We spent 8 days driving around Iceland and this was the highlight of the trip. It was unbelievable! If you go to Iceland, you MUST do this!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new hampshire
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“A Standout Experience in Iceland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We did the Zodiac boat tour at the Jokulsarlon lagoon and it was a highlight of our trip. Worth every penny. They suited us up in warm overalls and put 10 of us in the boat, which gave us plenty of room to move and look around. We went across the lagoon to the glacier where the knowledgeable guide explained how glaciers work. Our guide plucked ice out of the water for us to study (and eat) and then took us as close to icebergs as he dared without doing anything dangerous. It was a magical hour and my only regret was that it went by so fast. Suggest you bring hat and gloves to keep warm.

Even if you don't do the boat tour, you can get a very good look at icebergs from the shore and can be treated to extras like seals and lots of birds.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Amaizing tour.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Easy to get there, easy to book via internet, very welcoming staff - I recommend it very much.The tour is just amazing.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks County, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“An excellent excursion through the icebergs to the glacier.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This was one of the highlights of our trip.

Reservations were easy. I had to call since it was on the same day as the tour and when they answered they were busy getting a group together. They took my cell number and called back and we reserved for a 1730 tour.

We arrived a little before 1700 so we could use the restroom and look around a bit. We were then given thermal suits to wear which kept us very warm on a breezy and chilly day. (They will also protect you if you end up in the water - which we never felt could have happened.)

Our group of six was on the same boat that holds ten people. They took us out to the glacier that is calving the icebergs and then slowly worked our way back to shore during the hour long ride.

This is definitely a must-do if at all possible during your trip.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ice Lagoon - Zodiac Boat Tours also viewed

 

Been to Ice Lagoon - Zodiac Boat Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ice Lagoon - Zodiac Boat Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.