We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a clean room for the night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hali Country Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hali Country Hotel to your Saves list
Hali Country Hotel
Hali 781, Hofn, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 19 Hofn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Just a clean room for the night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The reason for us to stay here was because we needed an overnight stay in the area after visiting the Jokulsarlon lagoon. If you drive from Reykjavik, by the time you stop along the way and get to the lagoon & beach, you will need a place to stay for the night. This B&B is about a 10 minutes drive from the lagoon, so just manage your time to get here by dinner time. While the view is very nice with the mountain and water, Hali Country Hotel is not your charming B&B with the ambition to please, but just a clean room to get some decent sleep before continuing on with your journey. They also serve dinner, which is basic but fresh homemade cooking, and breakfast is included in the room. With no other options to eat or sleep in the immediate area, this B&B is the solution, but again, don't expect anything more. Right now they are building new houses to respond to the increasing number of tourists who need accommodation in the area, it's quite a construction site and can look depressing. The "hotel" also has a museum that guests of the hotel can visit free of charge. All in all, you will be in and out of this place so fast there's almost no reason to look at it twice. Jokulsarlon, however, is worth all the time and effort of the trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    122
    27
    5
    1
See reviews for
53
161
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, England
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The hotel consists of a main building with reception and restaurant and accommodation spread over several buildings. We had a very large and spacious room in building 2 which is being extended. We were aware of this at the time of booking and the workman could not start until 10 am and had to finish at 5 pm so this was not irritating. Unknown to us we could have booked B&B and cooked for ourselves in building 2 which had a fully equipped kitchen with fridge etc for the use of guests and a pleasant dining area. You would need to bring your own food as the nearest shop is some way away however at least 1 couple did this. We stayed here as it very close to the Jockulsarlon lagoon and glacier walks. The food was excellent particularly the buffet dinner; the only option in the tourist season was IKr 5,500 each which was expensive, no coffee or sweet. Also if you are a vegetarian and non fish eater there would be almost nothing to eat. Breakfast was also good but on both mornings they ran out of plates, cups, coffee and the pancakes maker never kept up with demand. The hotel was pretty full and we had to ask staff to replenish. We were told it was close to the end of the season and staff were hard to find, sorry as this was our most expensive hotel in Iceland that is not acceptable. We had high expectation from the reviews and it did not meet them consequently an average review based on price and service. On our second night as we were in the area we ate at the Pakkhus restaurant in Hofn, excellent food, our service was good but we noticed other e were slow, it was packed with people queuing to get in. Overall Hali is very convenient of ice lagoon, comfortable and clean but expensive, even by Icelandic prices.

Room Tip: If you want the cheaper option opt for shared facilities and breakfast only and cook for yourself in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

It was a clean hotel but I was a bit disappointed after reading so many raving reviews. Of the 3 places I stayed in Iceland (Centerhotel and Reykjavik Downtown Hostel) it was probably my least favourite. Not to say it wasn't nice - rooms were spacious and clean. But it was not great value for the money. Our room was on the end of building 2, so we had a beautiful view of...construction. The wifi signal was very weak and not accessible in our room. Dinner and breakfast was wonderful, but dinner was overpriced. Staff were just ok - it took a while for them to even approach me when I came to check in. Overall it is a convenient place to stay if you want to be close to the lagoon but I had high expectations after booking this on Trip Advisor reviews and was a bit let down. If I were to do it again, I would book a cheaper place.

Room Tip: None of the rooms I think are amazing or bad - try to avoid the end rooms where you won't get wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We hadn't planned to stay at Hali, but were so glad that we ended up there. We were making our way from Hofn to Vik, but only got as far as Skaftafell before we had to turn back as a huge sand-storm developed, making continuing to Vik impossible. Our excellent tour company (Discover the World) hastily rearranged accommodation for us at Hali, saving us from the fate of other people we heard about who ended up having to sleep on the floors of local church halls. We ended up staying two nights at Hali, waiting for the storm to pass. What an oasis! The place is family run, and ALL the staff we met were genuinely friendly, warm, open and welcoming. The woman who seemed to be in charge could not have been more helpful with advice about the storm, and willing to talk. The place has a lovely calm and relaxed feel (maybe something about the farm having been in the family for over 1000 years!). It was such a contrast to the more impersonal hotels we had stayed in up to this point. The room was fine, with access to a shared kitchen being a big bonus. Free wifi. The restaurant was good (although slightly pricy); limited menu with no vegetarian option on the menu, but they were only to happy to cook a vegetarian meal for someone who asked. There is also a surprisingly excellent museum on the site, which is really not to be missed, and which is free to guests. It's also a great base for Jokulsarlon and Skaftafell. We will definitely make a point of staying there again when we are next in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

stayed here one night to visit Jockulsarlon Lagoon. Room was large and clean, but lacked character. bathroom was very nice. we had a view of the mountain. they are extending the building to add more rooms and there are construction materials that takes away from the view of the water a bit. no big deal. We ordered the artic char for dinner and it was excellent, probably the best fish dinner we had on our trip.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Nice hotel with very comfortable bed and excellent shower. Although this is something of a chain hotel, it does have character and is a good place to stay for those passing through on Route 1.

The hotel does not have an elevator, so if that's important to you, you may want to call ahead to see if they have accessible options.

Breakfast was great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We are on a one month Iceland tour, having been here two years ago for two weeks. All our arrangements were made by Nordic Visitor as part of a self drive tour, so, we don't know the specific prices for accommodation. Nordic Visitor, in their tour packages offer three types of accommodation and we booked comfort accommodation (private bathroom, "nice" hotels & guesthouses), breakfast is always included. This will be one of many reviews for this trip.

As we drive along, this is on our route and we asked to make frequent stops in our itinerary, so, we didn't specifically pick this location. It was as the title says, nice, friendly and with a beautiful view. There has been a real boom in tourism in Iceland and compared to two years ago, we're seeing far more visitors on this trip than we saw two years ago. This hotel is currently building an addition and construction is right beside the room in which we're staying. At check in we were apologetically told about the construction and handed a note explaining that building would only go on from 10 to 6 so as not to disturb guests. Other than having construction right beside us, we were not disturbed. Nice room, clean, the usual Icelandic buffet breakfast, nothing special but not disappointing. Overall a pleasant place.

Room Tip: Ask for mountain or ocean as per your preference, or, don't ask and be pleasantly surprised.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hali Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hali Country Hotel

Address: Hali 781, Hofn, Iceland
Location: Iceland > East Region > Hofn
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Hofn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hali Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Hali Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hali Country Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.