We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, clean, comfortable and great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hali Country Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hali Country Hotel to your Saves list
Hali Country Hotel
Hali 781, Hofn, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 19 Hofn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Modern, clean, comfortable and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I was recommended to the hotel by a friend and was not disappointed. The standard of the rooms is execellent, really clean and very modern, they are also away from the restaurant so are very quiet. All rooms have a TV and free wifi.
The food here was excellent, fresh fish - try the smoked Char! The hotel is ideally situated if you plan to visit the glacial lake at Jokulsaron.
The staff couldn't do enough to help.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking towards the sea if they are available
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    122
    27
    5
    1
See reviews for
53
161
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Super friendly and clean accommodation in insanely beautiful setting! The lamb and chard for winner were delicious and so was breakfast. Can highly recommend! Amazing location! Well worth the 7 hour drive from Reykjavik. Very close to the glacier! Super friendly staff made us feel very welcome!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vlissingen
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

When we arrived we were a little surprised, as in fact the hotel is divided over multiple cabins, and it is like usual in iceland, metalplated from the outside, the looks were deceiving however - when we arrived into our rooms, we were surprised by the comfort, luxury, cleanness, beautiful styled bathrooms and a great view. This hotel was for us the best in Iceland, the location is just near Jokulsarlon (the ice-lake) and it is a very good start to either drive with a super-jeep to the north, or with a normal car to the east. The staff was friendly, there was a pc available with the latest weather forecast & northern lights. The restaurant was nice and cozy, and it is the only place where one could actually eat from the hotel, because there is nothing else near.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Set between the escarpment, a lake and then the sea you can't get better, rooms were excellent, there is the availability to cook your own meal in a communal kitchen if you choose or are on a budget, quite a lot of basics are left by guests. The restaurant serves lovely food, if a bit of a limited menu, excellently positioned for the iceberg lake, Jokulsarlon, which is a must see :-)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Canada
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed here for one night on a photographic tour, because we had to be at the Jokulsarlon Lagoon both at sunset, and sunrise, so we weren't really in the Inn for too long, and there is certainly nowhere else close by.

The name "Country Hotel" is somewhat misleading, it being more like a cross between a motel and youth hostel. The new rooms, with private bathrooms are really very nice, and the bathroom has underfloor heating, which was super after being out on glaciers for hours.

The dining room was fine, but the choice somewhat limited, basically to fish and lamb. We had the lamb, which was local, and very good, but the "specially selected" wine to go with it was pretty rough. Probably better to stick to the Icelandic beer.

We would stay here again, but would probably have to if we wanted to visit the lagoon again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Very simple, but comfortable rooms. Fabulous grounds, if you can call it that. In the midst of ocean and mountains and probably a great spot for northern lights if the weather's right (it was raining the one night I was there). As others have said, dinner was pricey, but the fish straight from the farm was delish, as was the breakfast buffet. Stay here for proximity to the glacier lagoon.

Room Tip: I had the room with private bathroom and view of the ocean. It was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

The country hotel Hali is conveniently located approx 12 km from the Jokulsarlon Glacier lagoon and that gives plenty of opportunity to see it in different natural lighting conditions. We stayed for 2 nights in Sept. The room was comfortable and large. The kitchen was very well equipped and had a nice sitting place that gets beautifully lighted up during sunrise and overlooks the farm and the sea beyond. Bathrooms and showers are adequate for the number of persons sharing and we actually did not feel that we were using shared toilets. The restaurant serves excellent char with mashed potatoes and greens, however, it was quite costly as is any other restaurant in Iceland. They have a stable within the compound and it was really great experience to be close to a couple of Icelandic horses.
A great place to stay in South East Iceland.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hali Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hali Country Hotel

Address: Hali 781, Hofn, Iceland
Location: Iceland > East Region > Hofn
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Hofn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hali Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Hali Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hali Country Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.