We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location for Jokulsarlon lagoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hali Country Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hali Country Hotel to your Saves list
Hali Country Hotel
Hali 781, Hofn, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 19 Hofn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Wonderful location for Jokulsarlon lagoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

The country hotel Hali is conveniently located approx 12 km from the Jokulsarlon Glacier lagoon and that gives plenty of opportunity to see it in different natural lighting conditions. We stayed for 2 nights in Sept. The room was comfortable and large. The kitchen was very well equipped and had a nice sitting place that gets beautifully lighted up during sunrise and overlooks the farm and the sea beyond. Bathrooms and showers are adequate for the number of persons sharing and we actually did not feel that we were using shared toilets. The restaurant serves excellent char with mashed potatoes and greens, however, it was quite costly as is any other restaurant in Iceland. They have a stable within the compound and it was really great experience to be close to a couple of Icelandic horses.
A great place to stay in South East Iceland.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    122
    26
    5
    1
See reviews for
52
161
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Photographers looking to be close to the Jokulsarlon lagoon -- this is as close as you'll get. We got a room with shared baths because the private rooms were booked. It wasn't too bad, and the bathrooms are large and clean. Our "house" had a shared kitchen and living room. It's a nice way to meet people. One night was quite gregarious and a lot of fun. The second night had a bunch of different people who were afraid to talk to each other -- so it's all what you make of it. The restaurant on site is ok. All food in Iceland is expensive, so you might want to cook your own if you're in rooms with the shared kitchen. There is another hotel down the same turnoff, so you can do dinner over there if you want.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This Guesthouse come motel was unique and housed a wonderful reception come dining room come library exhibiting images of the special Jolulsarlon glacier and related reading material, some of which had been chosen for the rooms which were comfortable and clean. Only point was that there were no tea making facilities which would have been very welcome, although a kitchen was available with coffee, it was filter. I didn't want to steal someones coffee or make a noise as the establishment also catered fro groups in larger rooms nearby. Ideally designed for the explorer and photographer and would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

tl;dr:
- affordable and very comfortable room
- great location, black sand beach a must-see during sunset for photographers, fabulous stopover while touring southern Iceland
- in the restaurant go with the arctic char and a hot chocolate cake




Location - the guesthouse is located at a tremendous spot very close to the Jökulsárlón glacier lagoon and a few other touristic spots. If you plan to see the south-eastern part of Iceland it's probably the best place to stay. Apart from the great location on a macro scale, you can get to Jökulsárlón by car within a few minutes and there's a black sand beach with little icebergs that looks beautiful during sunrise or sunset. If you're into photography, visiting the beach (it's located about 15 minutes from the guesthouse in the direction of Reykjavik, right after a bridge, to the left) during sunrise or sunset is a must. You won't find a better place to shoot some nice photos in this part of the world. Also, if you're lucky it's a great place to spot an aurora - they often build up over the mountain and are visible just above (or you can drive to the lagoon to see it).

Food - breakfasts were very nice, typical hotel-style. Can't complain much, good cake! :) Soup of the day was always eatable and a good warm meal, but nothing too exciting. As for main courses from the menu, I wouldn't recommend the lamb - it was good but not that big. An absolute MUST is the Arctic Char, or the Arctic Char Combo - the fish is just incredible! Beer was OK, don't drink the wine - it's rubbish. For dessert - the hot chocolate cake is really tasty, highly recommended!

Service - didn't have much to do with the staff but when I lost my icelandic cap, they found it and kept it for me :)

Price - cheap room, a little pricey but not overpriced restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Our destination was the Jokulsarlon Glacial Lagoon and we wanted to spend the night close by. This pretty much left us with one choice – Hali. A 12 km drive from the lagoon, it was a little gem of a spot and a welcome respite after a long day of flying and driving. Hali is located in the middle of nowhere amidst a beautiful landscape where you can enjoy a good meal, get a peaceful night’s sleep, catch the northern lights if you are lucky, and wake up refreshed to the view of Icelandic horses and cows grazing by the water.

Their rooms are basic but very clean, comfortable and modern – some with private, some with shared baths. Sounds do carry in the rooms so you can hear other guests coming and going but we had fairly quiet neighbors so it wasn’t a problem. Wifi is free but slow given the remote location. There is also the use of a free computer in the reception lobby.

Restaurants are far and few between within a few hour drive so we were excited to get a good meal at their restaurant. The entree choices were pretty much arctic char or lamb. We had the arctic char which I thought was fairly good along with a fresh salad. I would have to disagree with the comments about the restaurant prices being too high. Considering that tax and tip are included, we found the restaurant prices comparable with those at home for a similar quality. It’s not fast food. Their included breakfast buffet was very good and typical of the breakfasts elsewhere in Iceland: eggs, meats, cheese, vegetables, cereal, breads, juices, coffee, tea, etc.

To get to Hali, look for a small blue with yellow letters sign (easy to miss) on the ring road and keep your eyes open for a building with huge book spines painted on the side. You’ll know you’ve found it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

First of all this is hotel is the closest to Jokursarlon and this was the main reason we stayed here.
The hotel rooms with shared bathroom were spotlessly clean and the breakfast was good not great like like Hotel Keflavik and for me at least I paid more here for a room for a shared bath than in Keflavik. I guess you pay for the location and the scenery which is great!

Now, my main and biggest problem. If you want to eat dinner at their restaurant be ready for a limited selection of menu items. When we were there we arrived fairly late and very hungry and all they had was arctic char (farmed fish) in 4 different combinations and lamb.

The FUNNY thing is that they told me that they also had 2 different types of soup which were:

- Tomato soup
- Meat Soup

That's exactly the same soup they were serving for lunch almost an hour drive away at the kitchen in Skaftafel National Park. What a Coincidence!!! By the way the next day in Vik(!) they were serving the same thing!!!!!!! Do they have one kitchen for the entire Island?

Now I understand that this is a farm and they eat what they have available there, but we decided to go to Hofn which we did not realize was another 50 minutes away!!! After the driving that much the Tomato soup sounded better and better.

We finally are at Hotel Hofn which had a much wider variety of menu items.

Anyway, the hotel and the location is good, but the food could be improved on.
As a last note this place could be ideal for watching the northern light because there is very little if any light polution around here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife, Spain
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

After 2 weeks driving the ring road clockwise we arrived at Hali in order to visit the nearby iceberg lagoon. For that purpose there is not a better place. It is the closest guesthouse to this spot, only about 5 minute drive. We were blessed with great weather and we also could see the aurora and take pictures of it while we were there. It is a very convenient spot right by the ring road and the sea.

It is composed of 2 guesthouses. We went to the second one where you share bathroom. On the first house you have rooms with both shared and private facilities. There is also a kitchen-livingroom area in each of the houses. For the price difference if I had the chance again, I would go for private. These rooms look much newer and nicer. Also, the rooms with shared bathrooms are all different, they have different views and some are in more quiet positions. The place is rather busy so we heard a lot of noise, people coming and going or using the bath adjacent to our room. It is popular with tour groups. Walls are thin like paper so you hear your neighbours. But that happened in a lot of the guesthouses we visited.

I think the place could be cleaner and the outside needs some updating. The pipes were smelly too (not the usual sulfur smell).

But it is a popular and very convenient spot because of the unbeatable position.

Breakfast was very good and varied in a very nice building that you spot from the road as it looks like books on a self.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hali Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hali Country Hotel

Address: Hali 781, Hofn, Iceland
Location: Iceland > East Region > Hofn
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Hofn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hali Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Hali Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hali Country Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.