We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best dinner buffet in Iceland!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Smyrlabjorg Country Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Smyrlabjorg Country Hotel to your Saves list
Smyrlabjorg Country Hotel
Smyrlabjorg i Suoursveit | Hornafirði, Hofn 781, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Hofn
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best dinner buffet in Iceland!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I really can't see how people are complaining about the food here - it was BY FAR the best of any guesthouse we stayed in. The breakfast was fairly average as it was basic oatmeal / bacon / eggs / sausage / cereal. But the dinner buffet was outstanding. They had 6 kinds of pate (including reindeer!) and various pastas, fish dishes, and even a few vegetarian options. They had fish soups and a carvery of beef and lamb and at least 6 dessert options. The only bad things were the plain vegetables, but that's because they don't grow vegetables there; they come frozen in bags. The point is - we were amazed at how good the food was here.

Yes, they cater to large groups so the dining room was pretty crowded, if that could be considered a bad thing. The rooms are small and basic, which didn't bother us - it's Iceland and they're all pretty much the same, everywhere. But - WiFi is only available in public areas (not the rooms) and it would have been nice to have that available. Still, the overall accommodation is good enough and it's totally worth staying there for the dinner alone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    41
    29
    10
    2
See reviews for
18
60
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

This farm stay caters mostly to large groups. It was okay although our room was in a container. We had dinner in Höfn before arrival so cannot comment on their dinner buffet. We recommend checking with reception for when the tour buses finish breakfast and time it so you arrive after they have left. This was the first accomodation we had in Iceland that used the coffee machines at breakfast. Even after two double espressos, I barely felt any caffeine. It was expensive for such an average experience. Yet because accomodations in this area are sparse, it is acceptable for a night or two.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

My fiancee and I stayed here one night during our 5-day trip through southern Iceland (which was fantastic!) and were not thrilled. Probably better in off-season but in tourist season it was flooded with big loud tour buses in the big loud dining room with not great food. Rooms were ok. Plusses were the sweet dogs and an adorable sheep family of Mom, Dad and baby who let us creep up to about 6 feet away as they munched away on their flowers and grass and gazed at us wondering what type of animal we were. So on balance - not great, sort of acceptable.

Room Tip: can't really give advice about this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed one night at this hotel. The rooms are on the small side, but very clean and comfortable. It was nice to have the 'black out' on the curtains as there was not a lot of darkness in early June. Free wifi only available in the dining room. We arranged to have dinner there and they suggested we come about half an hour before a small tour group arrived which we thought was nice. There was plenty of choice in the food and we found the staff helpful and attentive. Breakfast was a little limited - I think the group had eaten most of the fruit. Plenty of cereal, toast and the usual European cold meats, hardboiled eggs and cheese.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

This was by far the worst place we stayed in Iceland. The room was (just about) acceptable albeit small. The food was absolutely appalling. Dinner was 5900kr for a dreadful buffet. This was more expensive than the langoustine restaurant in Hofn(!) and the most expensive we encountered in Iceland but by far the worst. We ate dinner the first night but not again. As a previous reviewer has said there was no option than to take the 90km round trip into Hofn to get a nice meal. The buffet was put out at 6pm and not replenished or replaced so by 8pm the ice cream was a pool of slop! The hot choice was a roast which reminded me of the worst school dinners. The waitresses disappeared with plates piled high with wasted food .... Breakfast was no better; for example the herrings were put out early and under a lamp so were warm by 8am ... The place has grown too big and now seems simply to cater for coach parties and so presumably doesn't care about repeat business.

All the 3 other places we stayed in Iceland qualified for a 5 so this is not one of the usual whingers. This place should be avoided !!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

What I liked: good beds, electric heating, blinds to have a completely dark room (which is needed in June as it stays light 24h), good buffet for both dinner & breakfast, good location for excursion with glacier jeeps & skidotour (road 985)
What I disliked: very small bathroom, no wifi on the room - only in the bar/restaurant, it seemed to be more of an establishment focused on big groups as the dining room was huge (less 'cosy' atmosphere when restaurant is fully seated)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

In June 2012 the place was still part under construction, with builders equipment lying around and building work going on. The brief for this place seems to have been find the cheapest materials possible, throw some sterile rooms together, next to them build an enormous factory unit-like dining hall then randomly throw in tables, chairs, a few sofas, bar and buffet without the slightest thought to ambience. Put on your hiking equipment to trip from the sofa area to bar, then add crampons to make it to the buffet from the tables, the distance is enormous. Clearly the farmer, in this farm hotel, has not properly stepped up from feeding his cattle to moving on up to paying guests. Out of our 6 places to stay in Iceland to date, the breakfast buffet was the worst. We skipped the night buffet as school field trip dinners came straight to mind. The 50km trip to Hofn to a real restaurant was worth it. Ultimately though all the ingredients are there to make this farm hotel a very pleasant place to stay. All the owner needs to do is get in some housekeeping and hospitality specialists to show him how to cater to paying guests. Please also get the Internet to work in the rooms as there is nothing to do otherwise. For now only worth a 2. 4 is easily within reach

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Smyrlabjorg Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smyrlabjorg Country Hotel

Address: Smyrlabjorg i Suoursveit | Hornafirði, Hofn 781, Iceland
Location: Iceland > East Region > Hofn
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Hofn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smyrlabjörg is family owned country hotel between Jökulsárlón and Höfn.We offer 52 rooms all with private bathroom. Triple rooms and family rooms are also available as double and single rooms.Meals are available for guests in our restaurant, in summer time we offer a dinner buffet and a menu. In low season we only offer menu, on the menu we use local products from our local farmers, and all fish and lobster we buy in Höfn.we really hope you will enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Smyrlabjorg Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smyrlabjorg Country Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.