We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generous on the langoustines!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tilveran

Tilveran
Linnetstigur 1, Hafnarfjordur, Hafnarfjordur, Reykjavik 220, Iceland
565 5250
Improve this listing
Restaurant details
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Generous on the langoustines!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Had the langoustine soup starter and the langoustine pasta - both of which were excellent and came in generous portions, but were rather similar in taste to one other. Would definitely recommend one or the other, or just one if you aren't a huge eater!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    12
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, TX
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Excellent fish, but they claim it as a specialty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

I stopped in by chance to this little restaurant. The place where I stayed recommended a yellow house for dinner. There were many around, I assume I hit the correct yellow house, but the food was amazing. The service was excellent too. The only snafu was that I ordered the 3 course menu and instead got the fish trio. It was still amazing, and still featured the fish of the day. And it was cheaper than the 3 course menu, so I didn't complain.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kopavogur, Iceland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Exellent little place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Hafnafjörðurs best kept secret.Seafood restaurant and a good one. The food is good the atmosphere is nice and this place has never been expensive. I go there often and I take my foreign friends there when they are visiting Iceland. I specially like the plaice with the lobster sauce but they have a full menu so you can get something you like.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“An excellent fish restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Good service subtle lighting & good choice of food on the menu. The fish chosen was cooked to perfection - popular with the locals too.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Very good Lobster Soup”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I was with a couple of friends and we wanted to have a seafood for lunch. Not knowing where to go we asked the tourist office in Hafnarfjordur to recommend a place and we were not disappointed. I ordered the lobster soup which came as a main meal with salad and some bread. It was absolutely delicious. My friends ordered the set lunch, with carrot soup followed by three types of fried fish and coffee, they were very happy with their meal too. I thought that the food was very reasonable priced and will go again if I came back to Iceland. The restaurant is very modern and unpretentious and the service efficient.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tilveran also viewed

Hafnarfjordur, Reykjavik
 
Hafnarfjordur, Reykjavik
Hafnarfjordur, Reykjavik
 

Been to Tilveran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tilveran, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.