We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great if you have a Hire Car” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hafnarfjordur

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Hafnarfjordur to your Saves list
Hotel Hafnarfjordur
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Reykjavikurvegur 72, Hafnarfjordur, Reykjavik 220, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hafnarfjordur
Bristol
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great if you have a Hire Car”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Located in a business/commercial area with plenty free car parking and a 10/15 min walk from the harbour in the town where there are several good restaurants. Close to the hotel restaurants looked uninspiring. Room Ikea style with fridge, microwave, kettle, pans etc. Reasonably priced for Iceland. Stayed 3 nights and breakfast good but same every day. Fresh and replenished quickly and choice of cereal, fresh fruit ,cheese,egg,salad, rolls etc. Room large and comfortable.-About a 10 minute drive to Reykjavik. Plenty of maps, brochures available at reception and regular bus service every 20 mins to Reykjavik .Reception staff helpful.

Room Tip: Facing car park at back would be quieter than on the road side-Boy racers on a Saturday night can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    116
    32
    4
    2
See reviews for
40
112
21
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Llanllwni, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

This was our last hotel that we stayed in whilst in Iceland. This was a very nice hotel and 6 of us shared a farly large room - I'm sure that the room was only designed to hold 4 people!!!
This was a very clean hotel and we benefit from a lovely 'pasta bake' evening meal with a vegetarian choice. Our breakfast was quite basic compared to the other hotels that we visited - we had a choice of Waffles, toast and fresh fruit only.
Sadly, Wifi was only available for us to use from middnight onwards - possibly because of the amount of people using the wifi service?

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed here for three nights and were very impressed.The rooms were great, absolutely immaculate. I have never stayed in a cleaner hotel. The room was very spacious with four beds and even a small kitchen. A complimentary genuine Icelandic breakfast is served in the morning, which is very good. My only complaint would be that the location of the hotel is not all that great and is a bit out of the way of the attractions and sight-seeing places. Overall, this hotel was wonderful and if we ever go back to Iceland, we will definitely staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
København, Danmark
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

HH are about 10 km from Reykjavik centrum and a taxi cost 4000 isk each way. So if you would like to have a drink to you food it could be a good idea to get a hotel i Reykjavik centrum. However it can be difficult as there is to few hotels rooms. 4 new hotels are beening build in 2014. The HH hotel is a turist hotel wich offers ok rooms and service. The cleaning is very good and the staff freindly. Ask for a room away from the side as there is a heavly trafic road on the reception side. The breakfast resturang is in the basement, with out Windows, wich is alway a bad idea, and you feel locked in. The breakfast it selves is boring, good it is included otherwise I would have been eating else where.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Hi there recently staid at this Hotel while the hotel itself is clean and tidy staff helpful my concern is they do not tell you that the hotel is in the middle of a working industrial estate, there are no views like in the pictures they show on the website, there are various places to eat ie fast foods around the Hotel but not really what we where after for 25th anniversary, there is a good bus service right outside into both towns all in all not a great place to stay if you are looking to see the hustle and bustle of the main towns, rooms are cleaned everyday not that well any cups, glasses and plates are not washed up you have to do that yourself sheets are changed after 1 week I think this a bit to long and having to wash your own dishes is strange I thought this was a hotel thing when servicing a room

Room Tip: upgrade if your thinking of staying here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Myself and my friend arrived to Hafnarfjordur late in the night, and from the moment we stepped into the hotel we received a friendly welcome, check in was done efficiently, arrangements made for our day travels and we were even offered a late night hot drink. What a good start to a cold trip.

The room was clean, full of amenities for cooking and storing food, a lovely shower/bathroom and a working tv.

The first full day of our stay staff were helpful in arranging excursions for us with hotel pick ups, and making these excursions efficiently making sure we had full use of our time in Iceland.

Breakfast was ok, however I did expect a cooked breakfast, it was still tasty breakfast all the same.

Everytime we entered we left/returned to the hotel we were given a nice farewell or a nice welcome back.

The hotel also gave us recommendations of excursions to partake in and also places to eat.
This was of great use to us.

I can't speak highly enough of this hotel, and my only downside was we could not stay longer.

For anyone looking at staying close to Reykjavik, but just outside of the capital, this place is ideal (especially with a great bar grill around the back of the hotel)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isafjordur, Iceland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I stayed in Hafnarfjörður Hotel twice: both times with my friends, both times with no complaints. Staff is kind and helpful; rooms are big, clean and cozy; breakfast is rich and nice; pretty, small play-room with pool table for the guests. It's located just near a couple of little pubs and fast foods, a pizzeria, an ice cream shop just outside the entrance. Pretty far from the center and from all the Reykjavík hot-spots though, and pretty expensive, considering that you can find way cheaper hotel right in Laugavegur. If I were with my family or by myself, I would look for something else, but if I'll come back with my mates, Hotel Hafnarfjörður is on top of the list.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Hafnarfjordur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hafnarfjordur

Address: Reykjavikurvegur 72, Hafnarfjordur, Reykjavik 220, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Hafnarfjordur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hafnarfjordur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hafnarfjordur 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Hafnarfjordur is a newly build three-star hotel in the capital area of Reykjavik. The centre of the harbour town, which is famous for its stories about elves and mystical beings, is just short distance away. The hotel is the ideal choice for independent travellers, companies and families for both long and short term stays. The hotel has a friendly atmosphere aims to make guests feel comfortable and to give them a home away from home.We offer 71 deluxe and soundproofed guestrooms with beautiful furniture. The range of accommodation is spacious, bright and well-equipped. The hotel is a non-smoking hotel with non-smoking rooms only. Many of the rooms provide a kitchenette with a microwave oven, a toaster, a refrigerator and all other necessary cooking utilities.Unfortunately we do not have a proper restaurant but if you wish we can recommend you some good ones which are nearby.Hafnarfjordur is Icelands 3rd-biggest community. Hafnarfjordurs harbour is just 10 minutes walk from the hotel. Here you can take a walk and enjoy the sunset. The town has its own culture and entertainment and hosts an annual Viking Festival plus the Bright Days Festival and the Christmas Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Hafnarfjordur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hafnarfjordur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.