We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hafnarfjordur

Save Saved
You added Hotel Hafnarfjordur to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Hafnarfjordur
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Reykjavikurvegur 72, Hafnarfjordur, Reykjavik 220, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Hafnarfjordur
Rorschach, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

cheaper then all the hotels in Reykjavik - but you have to take a taxi to the center - clean and big rooms. When the school classes invaded the breakfast room you will have the Reykjavik night weekend feeling :-).

Room Tip: rooms to the back - not against street - are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haukur B, General Manager at Hotel Hafnarfjordur, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for this comment, we have the public bus transfer every 15 minutes to the city center, it takes 15 - 20 minutes. Here at the Tour Desk, we provide the guest with Day pass unlimited trip, and offer both 1 day pass and 3 day passes. Only 900 ISK/ 6 Euros and 2.200 ISK/13 Euros.
Hope you enjoyed your stay and your welcome back to Hotel Hafnarfjordur.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    60
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
23
50
11
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crewe
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Recently got back from a stay here. We are a family of 5 so it's never easy to find good quality accommodation that will fit us all. The rooms are great, apartment style that are comfortable and clean. The breakfast is included which is always a bonus, and even our picky kids enjoyed it. Great location 10 mins from Reykjavik on the way to the airport.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
246 helpful votes 246 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Of course 'cheap' is relative in Iceland. This place was basic but clean and cost less than the hotels in Reykjavik. You can drive into town in about twenty minutes. If you are interested in hitting the bars at night, you may want to consider staying closer to town. The breakfast is served in the basement and got the job done. When we checked in late at night, there was a mix up with the exchange rates (we'd booked in euros but had to pay in krona - in cash), which did not occur to us until the next morning - turned out they'd overcharged us by about 30%. Fortunately we had our receipt and they refunded the difference with an apology - do make sure you keep an eye on those exchange rates though! Overall a fine choice for a few nights in Iceland.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We were really pleasantly surprised with this hotel as for the price we expected it to be a bit more basic and we were worried that it was a bit far out of Reykjavik. However, as we landed on the midnight flight from London we were delighted to find that the hotel is actually on the FlyBus route from the airport to the bus station so its actually probably one of the most convenient places to stay for the airport and as others have pointed out its just a 25 minute very easy bus journey in to the centre. Would highly recommend as your first or last stop in Reykjavik and nothing wrong with it for the rest of the trip too, but it depends what kind of facilities you want. We went for the optional upgrade to a room in the tower and were delighted, the room was so spacious that it is one of the best nights sleep I've ever had. Definitely worth the money. Staff were friendly and helpful, they had some snacks available late night but not much else so do bring food if you want to snack in the middle of the night. Breakfast was simple and felt very traditional of the nordic countries.

Room Tip: Upgrade your room for a really enjoyable stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Just spent 6 nights here as basis for exploring Iceland, very happy with our choice. This place offers elements of a hotel (24 hour desk service, tour booking, breakfast included) and aspects of an apartment rental if you choose the upgrade (microwave, fridge with freezer compartment, dishes, hot pot).

The breakfast was more than adequate (boiled eggs, waffles, melon and orange slices, tomato and cucumber slices, selection of teas, coffee, oatmeal with skyr (Icelandic yogurt)) offered at a nice time range 7-10a. The location is perfect if you are looking to explore natural areas of the country, not just Reykjavik. Our double bed was very comfortable, the place is immaculately clean, bathroom new, upgraded room had good light and a nice sofa to spread out on. A few of the staff went above and beyond (printing out a map of places we could go to try to see the Aurora Borealis, suggestions about which clubs might suit our style in Reykjavik) and all were very professional and friendly. One pointed out coupons to help us save on our horseback riding and whale-watching tours. The only thing we didn't like was minor -- the daily clean-up wasn't that thorough, which we thought was fine for a short stay. We hope to come back to Iceland in the summer and will definitely stay here again.

Quick note, leaving early we were able to make it to the Ice Lagoon and back from this location in one day (late September) with time for brief stops at waterfalls, basalt columns, lunch.

Room Tip: We loved the upgraded room and are glad we had the luxury of space to spread out, full windows of li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Spacious room, large bathroom and excellent shower. This hotel was just what we needed for our stay. Lovely breakfast. Short walk away from supermarkets and shops, and an easy bus ride into Reykjavik, as the bus stop is just outside of the hotel. All the staff were very helpful, they helped us book tours and advised us on places to eat - lovely steakhouse in Harnarfjordur! I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a very quiet room at the back of the hotel however we were overlooking a car park which was n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was a pleasant surprise for money! It was clean, spacious, quite and comfortable! The breakfast was extremely convenient and the coffee was wonderful. We rented a car and the hotel was easy to find off the main road and there was ample parking. The free wifi made keeping in touch with home easy and the connection speed was very good. I would definitely stay there again!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hafnarfjordur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hafnarfjordur

Address: Reykjavikurvegur 72, Hafnarfjordur, Reykjavik 220, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Hafnarfjordur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Hafnarfjordur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hafnarfjordur 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Hafnarfjordur is a newly build three-star hotel in the capital area of Reykjavik. The centre of the harbour town, which is famous for its stories about elves and mystical beings, is just short distance away. The hotel is the ideal choice for independent travellers, companies and families for both long and short term stays. The hotel has a friendly atmosphere aims to make guests feel comfortable and to give them a home away from home.We offer 71 deluxe and soundproofed guestrooms with beautiful furniture. The range of accommodation is spacious, bright and well-equipped. The hotel is a non-smoking hotel with non-smoking rooms only. Many of the rooms provide a kitchenette with a microwave oven, a toaster, a refrigerator and all other necessary cooking utilities.Unfortunately we do not have a proper restaurant but if you wish we can recommend you some good ones which are nearby.Hafnarfjordur is Icelands 3rd-biggest community. Hafnarfjordurs harbour is just 10 minutes walk from the hotel. Here you can take a walk and enjoy the sunset. The town has its own culture and entertainment and hosts an annual Viking Festival plus the Bright Days Festival and the Christmas Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Hafnarfjordur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hafnarfjordur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;