We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hafnarfjordur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Hafnarfjordur to your Saves list
Hotel Hafnarfjordur
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Reykjavikurvegur 72, Hafnarfjordur, Reykjavik 220, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hafnarfjordur
New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from our 5 day trip to Iceland. First few nights we stayed at this hotel. if you have a car, I think staying in this hotel is better than staying in Reykjavik as the room was three times bigger than the room in the Centerhotel Arnarhvoll. The bed was very comfortable, the room was very clean and the hotel has plenty of parking spots. The breakfast was basic continental so nothing to write about there. Also in the room is a fridge and microwave which was very handy. There are a few supermarkets nearby that are a five minute drive. The staff was very friendly and if I'm ever in uncle and than I will choose this hotel over the one in the center of the city. From this hotel the drive to Reykjavik was 10, 15 minutes and the parking there was not expensive at all. If you get hungry, eat dinner at the Viking Village restaurant -the food was so good!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    63
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
24
54
12
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

If you have a car and don't mind using it to get into town, this hotel is a good bet. Much bigger rooms than a city centre hotel and the staff are helpful and friendly. It is an aparthotel so you get a fridge, microwave and kettle thrown in, which makes it possible to self cater if you want. The only downside is breakfast. It's a bit on the basic side and I never understand why hotels think they can water down orange juice and no one will notice. It really lets the hotel down.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a deluxe room - it doesn't cost too much more but you get a beautiful room with windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

The Hotel Hafnarfjordur is great, but it is a long way from the centre of Reykjavik! It would be fine if you had a car, or intended to rent one, but otherwise the location is not what I would have chosen for a city visit. However, the staff are great, the price is good, the service is excellent, so I would suggest the location certainly the only drawback.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tongeren, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We spent 14 nights here in april 2012 and would absolutely recommend this hotel !

The first thing we noticed on arrival was, besides the friendly welcome, that this hotel is spotlessly clean ! There's housekeeping service every day.

It's actually an appartment hotel, meaning that every room has a small kitchenette with fridge, 2 cooking plates, bassin, microwave and basic utensils present. Breakfast is always included in the price, which is nice of course. The breakfast was simple, but was sufficient for us.

On arrival we were welcomed by the manager. He's Icelandic, but lived in Germany for several years. So he speaks besides English also fluent German. He really goes out of his way to make your stay a pleasant one. We didn't book a car in advance. When we came to the point of booking one ... it was Easter weekend and all car rental companies were closed until tuesday. This meant we would be 'stuck' without a car for 4 days. Of course we weren't too happy about that ... So the woman at the front desk (sorry, can't remember her name ...) contacted the manager to try to find a solution for our problem. Although he wasn't at the hotel at the time, he went through the effort of contacting a company in Hafnarfjörður and arranged them to bring us a car the next day, even when the company was normally closed. The car was brought to the hotel. Dropping off the car on return only consisted of leaving the key at the reception and they'd take care of the rest.

The hotel is located only 10 minutes by car from Reykjavik and about 30 minutes from Keflavik airport. There is a busstop in front of the hotel for those without a car. The number 1 bus takes you into town or to Reykjavik.
The parking at the hotel is free of charge.

We booked a family room. We got a clean and very spacious room at the ground floor. A wall devided the room in 2 parts, creating a little sleeping area with 2 beds in the back. The other 2 beds were placed in front of the wall. The beds were nice and comfortable. We did put them together though :-)
There were 2 sofa's, a desk and TV in the room. It had a large closet.
The bathroom was quite large and had a spacious shower. Towels are changed very regularly (put them on the floor and they'll replace them).

There is a small sitting area with a childrens corner on the ground floor.

Close to the hotel there are several gasstations (Orkan and N1), a Kronan supermarket, an Irish pub, Chinese restaurant, Pizzan take-away, ...

The entire staff is very friendly and helpful, nothing you ask is too much. Extra towels when going swimming ... no problem. Ordering pizza delivery ... consider it done. Arranging taxi or rental car ... smooth service. Making reservations for excursions or for the FlyBus is possible at the tour desk in the hotel.

Every guest gets a complimentary ticket to go to one of the 3 swimmingpools in Hafnarfjördur.

There is someone present at the front desk 24 hours a day, which is nice if you arrive or leave during the night.

There's free wireless internet in the entire hotel, which worked fin ... we never had a problem with connecting either laptop or smartphone in the room. In the rooms is internet through cable. There's also a laptop in the lobby which can be used for free.

All in all this is a great place to stay when you're in the Reykjavik area ! We highly recommend this hotel and are looking forward to our upcoming stay in 2013.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haukur B, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Hafnarfjordur, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam

We are pleased to hear your positive feedback for our hotel. We put effort on personal service and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at our Hotel.

We are also happy to hear that your trip to Iceland was enjoyable, and we welcome you again to our Hótel Hafnarfjörður in 2013.

Best regards,
Magnús
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights because it was close to family in Gardabaer, and the hotel was very good. Staff were very helpful, the rooms clean and pleasant. They even made us some breakfast sandwiches and coffee for us before our 4:30 departure to the airport.
Don't eat at the Chinese restaurant that is close by - it was not good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbus
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed 1 night as we wanted to be close to airport for our afternoon departure. Check-in was smooth, friendly and with a smile. Our room was on the first floor so transporting luggage was easy with parking right outside the front door. The desk clerk provided us a nice map of the harbor area so we could find a place for dinner. Our room was large with a small kitchenette area. The bathroom was clean and bright, however towels were rough. The shampoo bottles were not sealed so I suspect they are refilled each day. The breakfast is standard fare and included waffles.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, CO
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We arrived about 8:30 PM after a long drive from northern Iceland and found the hotel without any problems. As it was nearly dark the road signs were still visible and street lighting was adequate. The two gentlemen at the front desk were efficient and prompt with the paperwork and we were settled in our room in short order. The hotel was very quiet and clean with a good sized room including a small kitchen area. It is located in an area of the city lacking anything of interest for the tourist but that was not an issue for us as our need was to be able to get to the airport for an early flight. It was perfect for that.

The only negative was the sandwiches made for us in the morning since we were departing prior to when breakfast was served. The juice was very thin and was best not consumed. We do understand that it is impossible to serve every guest especially when hours are not convenient but a danish or croissant would have been nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haukur B, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Hafnarfjordur, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam

We are pleased to hear your feedback for our hotel. We put effort on personal service and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel.

As a response to your comment, we have updated our juice machine, so from now on our guests can enjoy fresh juice every morning.

We welcome you again to our Hótel Hafnarfjörður.

Best regards,
Magnús
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hafnarfjordur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hafnarfjordur

Address: Reykjavikurvegur 72, Hafnarfjordur, Reykjavik 220, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Hafnarfjordur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hafnarfjordur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hafnarfjordur 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Hafnarfjordur is a newly build three-star hotel in the capital area of Reykjavik. The centre of the harbour town, which is famous for its stories about elves and mystical beings, is just short distance away. The hotel is the ideal choice for independent travellers, companies and families for both long and short term stays. The hotel has a friendly atmosphere aims to make guests feel comfortable and to give them a home away from home.We offer 71 deluxe and soundproofed guestrooms with beautiful furniture. The range of accommodation is spacious, bright and well-equipped. The hotel is a non-smoking hotel with non-smoking rooms only. Many of the rooms provide a kitchenette with a microwave oven, a toaster, a refrigerator and all other necessary cooking utilities.Unfortunately we do not have a proper restaurant but if you wish we can recommend you some good ones which are nearby.Hafnarfjordur is Icelands 3rd-biggest community. Hafnarfjordurs harbour is just 10 minutes walk from the hotel. Here you can take a walk and enjoy the sunset. The town has its own culture and entertainment and hosts an annual Viking Festival plus the Bright Days Festival and the Christmas Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Hafnarfjordur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hafnarfjordur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.