We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel/apartment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hafnarfjordur

Save Saved
You added Hotel Hafnarfjordur to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Hafnarfjordur
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Reykjavikurvegur 72, Hafnarfjordur, Reykjavik 220, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Hafnarfjordur
Aberford, Leeds
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good value hotel/apartment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Just back from a 5 night stay. Very comfortable and convenient for use as a base for exploring Reykjavik and south west Iceland. Room was large and very clean - particularly important for both of us. Adequate choice for breakfast (but avoid the orange and apple juice).
I chose this hotel knowing that we would be hiring a car and is considerably cheaper than the city centre alternatives.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    57
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
21
48
11
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This hotel was close enough to Keflavik for an easy ride to the airport. We reserved a family room for 4 which turned out to have 2 bedrooms with 2 beds in each, plus another bed in the living room area, 2 full bathrooms and a fully equipped kitchenette. The rooms were plain but spotlessly clean. The area was convenient to Reykjavik with a number of restaurants and grocery stores close by. The breakfast was a welcome addition as was the free internet service. All of the staff that we encountered were friendly and helpful when needed. The next time in Iceland we would consider a longer stay at this location as quite a few interesting sights are within a few hours drive.

Room Tip: I used map quest for directions which turn out to overly complicated. Much easier to find using a ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We spent two nights at Hotel Hafnarfjordur in early August, as part of a trip that began in Toronto (after a drive there from Western New York) and ultimately took us to Amsterdam. We thought we would add three days of Iceland to the intinerary since we were flying Icelandair, and we are glad we did.

We rented a car when we arrived in Iceland so we were able to get to the hotel without any problem, though we did get looped up on the directions when trying to find the place the second day of our stay (GPS would be handy to have in Iceland, since the roads seemed to be only sporadically marked). The timing of the arrival was such that we arrived at the hotel very early, around 7:30 am, which was well before when the room was ready. Since we arrived on a Sunday and were very hungry after the trip, we paid for breakfast at the hotel since it was our understanding that few places were open on Sunday morning and we were too tired to mount a search. That worked out well and I was glad they could accommodate us. I should also note that there is a pizza place next door which saved the day after we came back exhausted after a long day of sightseeing later that night.

The hotel itself is utilitarian in kind of a Scandinavian-type of way which means big emphasis on function, no emphasis on bling. That was fine with us as we used the hotel primarily for sleep; too much to see elsewhere. The room we had was the largest in the hotel, with 5 beds since we had 5 people in our group. As anyone who has a family with 5 people knows, the hotel world is traditionally made for 4 or less, so it can be difficult to find one room for everyone. We were pleased that this hotel did since we did not have to rent two hotel rooms. There was plenty of room for everyone.

The breakfast was great. The oatmeal was very good, there were sliced meats and yogurt too. There were also tomatoes which, I believe, were grown locally in greenhouses and were quite tasty. There was also melon (looked like honeydew, but I don't recall it being green; it did taste great, though). I believe they also served toast and cereal.

The hotel room appeared to have room darkening shades, which is something you need since it only gets dark for maybe an hour a day in early August. The tubless shower worked fine, though the second tub and shower had no shower curtain which may be typical for there, but is strange to an American. Also, you may notice that the shower water has a sulphur odor; I'm not sure if that is something typical to Iceland (my guess, based on the island's use of geothermal energy) or is something that is hotel-specific.

As for Iceland itself, there is a lot to see. If we had to do it all over again, we would have added another day or two in Iceland, and subtracted a day or two from Amsterdam. The natural beauty is stunning, especially the Golden Circle route including Gulfoss, Geysir and Thingvellir. We really only scratched the surface and Iceland is big enough that you probably want to stay a few days in one place, and then go someplace else so you can do more exploring without having to drive all the way back to the Reykjavik area. Reykjavik is also quite charming, and is only about 10 minutes or so away. The older section is cute, and there are lots of eating choices. We ate dinner at a place called Caruso, and the food was excellent. Don't miss the Gull lager, which is great.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

My friend and I stayed here over the long 4th of July holiday from the States and had a really great experience with them. The hotel isn't posh, but it's very clean and our room was HUGE and very comfortable. The beds were very firm, but I slept great on them and so did my friend. The chairs and couch in our room were also very, very comfortable. The pillows were also good.

It's not too far from Rekykjavik's city center- taxi was about 3600ISK to center of town... but the #1 bus runs frequently in and out- it just doesn't run late at night. The day time staff is very knowledgable about tours and transportation and can book most anything for you. You can also buy bottled water or other drinks from them at the front desk. They also allowed us early check-in- which was SO wonderful!

All of the tours that we used picked us up directly from the hotel (Reykjavik Excursions was the best we used.) and the FlyBus will drop you off and pick you up for airport transportation. (If the tours did NOT pick us up, I may have felt differently about the location.)

Breakfast was good, in my opinion... There were waffles and deli meats, boiled eggs (great protein to give you energy all day!) and oatmeal... yogurt, toast and cheeses.

Only thing(s) that I didn't think were awesome was that there is not wifi in your room- just in the lobby. (You can connect your laptop to a chord for internet in your room, but if you have an ipad, for example, you're out of luck.)
Also, the showers were very small- BUT the water pressure was fantastic... just if you have sore muscles from hiking, etc, you aren't going to be able to do any stretching under the hot water. Also, the window curtains were fine, but some black out shades would be welcome in a place that didn't get dark while we were there.

All in all, I'd easily stay here again. It was expensive compared to what I normally spend on European hotels, but so was every single other hotel I looked at in Iceland!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haukur B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Hafnarfjordur, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam

We are pleased to hear your positive feedback for our hotel. We put effort on personal service and are happy to hear that you used our Information/Tour Desk which is new in our hotel and provides information to our guests.

We have a new FREE WiFi / wireless internet access in all our hotel, both in the rooms and in lobby. Access code is given by the reception staff, so perhaps by mistake this has not been well informed to you. In addition to that as you mention we have cables in every room.

We are happy to hear that your trip to Iceland was enjoyable, and we welcome you again to our Hótel Hafnarfjörður.

Best regards,
Sunna Halla
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

This hotel is situated about 30 minutes from Keflavik and about 15 mins from Reykjavik. Most excursion companies will pick you up so this isn't a problem, but Taxis are expensive and buses are infrequent at the weekends, so the distance out of town could be a problem for some.

The staff at the hotel were excellent and friendly - nothing was too much trouble and they definitely made our stay much easier.

I had a superior single room which was spacious and hade everything... Fridge, small stove, microwave, kitchen utensils, crockery and cutlery! More like a small apartment really. The bed was really comfortable, the room was clean and everything worked although the bracket for the shower was broken so I had to hold it by hand.

I was there in June, so it is the season of almost 24 hour sun and the curtains were thin, so they could do with thicker curtains or shutters to block out the light. EIther that or take an eye mask. Rooms were well insulated from sound, either that or the other guests were very considerate.

Breakfast was a "continental" buffet of breads, ham, cheese, preserves etc - nothing special, but certainly enough to get you going for the day. The orange and apple "juice" is best avoided though - not sure what it was but it's far from fruit!

There's a little shop next door - "Snaeland" where you can pick up snacks, sweets, drinks, ice-creams etc, which came in very handy. Bust stops, shops and a few places to eat nearby.

All in all, very happy with my stay. Only real problem was the distance from Reykjavik centre, but this is not insurmountable. Would definitely consider it again,

Room Tip: If you are there in summer months, try and choose a room on the west side - the sun rises very early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haukur B, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Hafnarfjordur, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam

We are pleased to hear your feedback for our hotel. We put effort on personal service and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here.

Regarding your comments, we have a NEW juice machine, so from now on our guests can enjoy fresh juice every morning. Thank you for your feedback.

We welcome you again to our Hótel Hafnarfjörður.


Greetings from our staff,

Magnús
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Maryland, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

The Hotel was clean - very important to us...and quiet large for our family of 3. while we did eat out, there was a very nice kitchenette to dine in. The staff was very nice and more than willing to help you find the local attractions and places to eat - whatever you need. It would definately stay here again. It was about 10 minutes outside of Reykjavik, but a great location to head out on the Golden Cirlce tour. it is between the airport and downtown Reykjavik and closer to the Blue Lagoon than any hotels in Downtown Reykjavik.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewkerne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

This is a great place to stay for a night or two whilst you visit Hafnardjordur and/or Reykjavik. The room was extremely clean and well equipped with a kitchenette. The breakfast buffet was good (except, as others note, the terrible orange "juice"!). It is walking distance to the harbour and about 15mins drive into Reykjavik. Great value, friendly service, don't hesitate to book.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Hafnarfjordur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hafnarfjordur

Address: Reykjavikurvegur 72, Hafnarfjordur, Reykjavik 220, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Hafnarfjordur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Hafnarfjordur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hafnarfjordur 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Hafnarfjordur is a newly build three-star hotel in the capital area of Reykjavik. The centre of the harbour town, which is famous for its stories about elves and mystical beings, is just short distance away. The hotel is the ideal choice for independent travellers, companies and families for both long and short term stays. The hotel has a friendly atmosphere aims to make guests feel comfortable and to give them a home away from home.We offer 71 deluxe and soundproofed guestrooms with beautiful furniture. The range of accommodation is spacious, bright and well-equipped. The hotel is a non-smoking hotel with non-smoking rooms only. Many of the rooms provide a kitchenette with a microwave oven, a toaster, a refrigerator and all other necessary cooking utilities.Unfortunately we do not have a proper restaurant but if you wish we can recommend you some good ones which are nearby.Hafnarfjordur is Icelands 3rd-biggest community. Hafnarfjordurs harbour is just 10 minutes walk from the hotel. Here you can take a walk and enjoy the sunset. The town has its own culture and entertainment and hosts an annual Viking Festival plus the Bright Days Festival and the Christmas Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Hafnarfjordur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hafnarfjordur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.