We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Icelandic horses are the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ishestar Horse Riding Day Tours

Ishestar Horse Riding Day Tours
Sorlaskeid 26, Hafnarfjordur, Reykjavik 220 , Iceland
+354-555-7000
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Ishestar Riding Centre offers great facilities for riders. It’s set in beautiful surroundings just outside the town of Hafnarfjorour, about 10 minutes drive from Reykjavik. The facilities and its beautiful surroundings provide endless opportunities of riding, hiking and other outdoor activities. We welcome individuals, families and all kinds of groups who want to enjoy themselves outdoors. The facilities offer people an easy way to enjoy our horses and the experience of our staff will ensure the safety of all our guests. The locker room of the Riding Centre is well equipped. All customers are provided with warm overalls, raingear, riding boots and helmets in all sizes. The Ishestar staff take pride in finding horses to suit individual needs as well as secure the safety of everybody. Ishestar offers daily riding tours at 10:00 and 14:00 during the whole year, both for beginners and advanced riders. We also have a selection of combo tours like Horses and Blue lagoon, Horses and Snorkeling and lot more.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Icelandic horses are the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

A very good ride around the lave fields with some very friendly horses. Good for those with no riding experience and a good refresher for those who haven't ridden for a while. An excellent time was had by all. Icelandic horses are the best.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    94
    23
    11
    14
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views, But A Little Scary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We went horseback riding, and it was mostly very nice, with amazing views. But I must admit, I found the parts where we sped up a bit to be a little scary. And at on point my horse charged forward, which was terrifying, but from what I understand, it's quite unusual.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Horse riding in Iceland's outback”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Brilliant experience. Lovely natured Icelandic horses take you through awesome Icelandic country side. Suitable for all riders from beginners to experienced. Horses are matched to you! Great staff, very friendly and efficient. Appropriate clothing available free.

A highlight of our holiday!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A wonderful way to see the Icelandic countryside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Our trek was included as part of our package deal through Secret Escapes so wasn't sure what to expect, but we had a wonderful time.

The staff at Ishestar were all very welcoming, friendly and knowledgeable. It was very cold (about -6) so we were kitted out with warm overalls, hats, boots and gloves which we were very grateful for once out in the wind and snow. We had a mixed group, from beginners to experienced, but the staff were very good at making sure everyone was happy and comfortable.

The horses were all very placid and friendly and more than happy just to follow each other which is great as it gives you a chance to admire the beautiful lava fields and mountain views. The more experienced riders where also given a chance to go off in a separate group, while the beginners all stayed together.

Would highly recommend Ishestar and would love to return in the summer for another trek.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I'd recommend this trip.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Even though I've never ridden a horse before and was a bit anxious at the beginning, Ishestar staff made it all easy. They were really friendly and made sure that I was doing ok and knew how to handle the horse. The trip was well organized, as there was always someone riding along the column, checking on everyone, instructing if needed as well as stopping for a quick chat. You can tell that people working there love horses and love their job. It was very pleasant experience and I will certainly do it again next time I'm in Reykjavik.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ishestar Horse Riding Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Ishestar Horse Riding Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ishestar Horse Riding Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.