We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Atmosphere - Food So-So & Expensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Viking Village Restaurant

The Viking Village Restaurant
Strandgata 55, Hafnarfjordur, Reykjavik, Iceland
+ 354 565 1213
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $11 - $49
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Lakeland, Minnesota
Top Contributor
296 reviews 296 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
233 helpful votes 233 helpful votes
“Fun Atmosphere - Food So-So & Expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I wouldn't necessarily recommend coming here for the food, but it is a very good option for large groups. The Viking kitsch is almost overwhelming. A lot of wood, dark wood, fish tanks which I thought was truly bizarre in the scheme and theme of things, Viking "stuff" and collections everywhere. It's worth a stop to see it all, and many people do come in just to take pictures.

I dined on the fish & chips as I've had whale and shark before and was looking for something a bit more 'normal.' I expected better as I was told the fish was fresh. It wasn't great, but the blueberry cake for dessert wasn't half bad. The local tap brew was quite good and iced cold.

The wait staff dresses in simple Viking garb, and there's one Viking gent, Oliver, who roams around singing ancient tunes while tapping his battleaxe. It's kitschy fun, but if you're on a budget, either forget it or get a beer and an appetizer to share - the food is very expensive.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    31
    17
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hognoul, Liege, Belgium
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good local atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Local food such as cured shark is not what I am used to but I recommand the Viking menu which is quite enjoyable. Singing Viking may look like a tourist attraction but is well done. Avoid wine and stay on local beer. Good for groups.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariestad, Sweden
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Top grades for food & atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I love this place! It might be a tourist trap, but a nice one! Great viking atmosphere, rustic furniture and dressed up vikings to entertain you. You can get special viking meals on the menu. We however took pasta which was excellent and for the dessert the world's best apple pie. I'm not kidding. The world's best apple pie. It's worth going here just for this, trust me! Prices are normal. We have also stayed at the Viking hotel next door which is also really nice, and Hafnarfjördur is definitely worth a visit. Take the bus, car or taxi there. And don't miss out on the apple pie.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerusalem
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very unique and excellent food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We celbrate the end of orgenized tour in Iceland and had a very fine evening in this restaurant.It is a family buisness and the family members are working in this restaurant.Very good service.The evening included "viking performance" with lovely songs.The food was excellent food.Very generous dishes.Do not miss it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice but breakfats is a little bit the same everyday”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Nice restaurants, but if you are staying at the hotel breakfats is a little bit the same everyday, I recommend to change at least one day the food.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Viking Village Restaurant also viewed

Hafnarfjordur, Reykjavik
Hafnarfjordur, Reykjavik
 

Been to The Viking Village Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Viking Village Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.