We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place with friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Akureyri Backpackers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Akureyri Backpackers to your Saves list
Akureyri Backpackers
Hafnarstraeti 98, Akureyri 600, Iceland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book direct
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Queenstown, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing place with friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We had an awesome week staying here, the staff were all really helpful and answered our millions of annoying questions. They went out of their way to help us and I would recommend this backpackers to anyone. It was very clean and had a really good atmosphere. Thanks!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    52
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
8
33
38
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Definitely nothing bad about this place and style of lodging, however, being in Iceland before, I have accustomised myself for a different type of guesthouses.
When we arrived, we waited for a while, the bar place was packed. There is a certain system to a room and bed numbering, you have to sleep in a bed which you were assigned. All the facilities are downstairs, which is not as nice when staying in second floor. Location is great however, although you may expect some disturbance from the street, we have experienced some sort of street racing, but this is not hostel's fault. On the bright side, free wi-fi, the price itself and welcome beer is always a bonus.
I have stayed in several guesthouses around Iceland and I like those smaller ones, more personal approach. This property seems to look like a superfriendly place where people meet and chill and have a good time, to me it's more of a business thing which lacks the atmosphere I have seen so many times before.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

We have slept here in a share room for a one night and everything was just like you expect from backpacker accommodation. Welcome drink was a bonus, staff was fine and rooms were clean. The location is little bit noisy because the house is on the main shopping street in Akureyri.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teignmouth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Having checked it out on tripadvisor, we knew what to expect, but was still taken in by this places charms, facilities and employees. We were based on the top floor, all key fob entry to your level and room, so great security. Room was fresh and had everything you would expect a good hostel to provide. We had a nice view of the mountains and water and shared toilets were just across from us. These were very clean and more than adequate. The communal bar/lounge relaxation area was funky, original and the WiFi was great, plus the beer went down very well. We stayed two nights and the charm never wore off. We had breakfast on the last day, which was buffet style and was very good. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I went in a skiing trip for the weekend with people from school. We had a whole floor for ourselves, which was very nice. Everything about the hostel was excellent; The location is awesome, it is located right in the center of Akureyri. The staff was very nice, always at your service. The food, the brunch and breakfast took me by surprise, it was so good! The showers and the steamroom were awesome. The rooms are also quite comfortable, except that our room was located next to some club so there was quite a noise during the night. Despite that my stay was very much enjoyable.

What I like the most about my stay is the lobby. It is very cozy where people can gather together, and during the evening you can buy food and drinks. Also the bus seats are awesome!

I would highly recommend this place and next time I go to Akureyri and need an accomodation, I will most definitely visit Akureyri Backpackers again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Greatplace, clean rooms, very friendly peopla at the desk, free drink of welcome, good ambient, sauna for free, clean bathrooms and showers. Breakfast ok. very well located. Its in the main commercial street of the town

Room Tip: all rooms are goods, I stayed in the 2 persons one. but my friends stay at the comunnal one and tehy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I went to Akureyri for a ski-trip with my school in Jan 2013. We were a group of approx. 100 people and had the hostel all for ourselves. This hostel is great, so clean and the staff were very helpful :) They even suggested party-games and gave us some good tips for pub-crawling. The location is also great, right in the middle of town and you can walk to all the good places in Akureyri. The showers in the basement are very good and they also have a sauna. Well equipped kitchen for those who want to cook for themselves.

The only downside was probably the noise from party-people in the street but you can just bring ear-plugs if you are staying over a week-end.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Akureyri Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akureyri Backpackers

Address: Hafnarstraeti 98, Akureyri 600, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Northeast Region > Akureyri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Akureyri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akureyri Backpackers hostel is a budged accommodation in Akureyri. The hostel is in down town Akureyri surrounded by restaurants and recreation. If you are looking for cheap accommodation or just to meet people you will be at the right place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Odigeo, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Akureyri Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akureyri Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.