We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time on the slopes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hlidarfjall Akureyri

Hlidarfjall Akureyri
Akureyri, Iceland
+354 462 2280
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 17 Activities in Akureyri
Type: Ski/ Snowboard Areas, Sports
Attraction details
Reykjavik, Iceland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great time on the slopes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

This was the main reason for my trip to Iceland, great skiing, staff very helpful and a lot cheaper than skiing in Europe a must visit

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Akureyri, Iceland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great views, great skiing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

A wonderful place to spend the day skiing or sledging. Great for all ages and abilities. The children's/beginners area is free (just have to pay for ski rental which is reasonably priced). Children are also able to sledge in the area. The cafe area could be improved but it does its job. The views over the town of Akureyri are also great from here, summer and winter. There is a ski bus that stops at different places around the town and takes you to the ski area for a reasonable fee.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“What a deal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

As a Coloradan, I was SHOCKED to find the lift tickets so affordable! We got a two day ticket for approximately $50! The skiing was fun, the food at the lodges extremely affordable (try one of the waffles with jam and whipped cream... AMAZING! and only US $4), and all of the locals that we spoke with were very friendly. Beware though, everyone comes up on the holidays! We were there for Maundy Thursday and Good Friday (both public holidays in Iceland) and the lines were 10xs longer than they were on Wednesday. -If you still want to ski on a holiday, get a 2 or 3 hour pass and get there early as it doesn't get really busy until around noon.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great family place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This was our first family skiing experience. They had facilities for every experience level. We were there mid week so it wasn't very busy. There was a ski school for the kids, they spoke both english and icelandic. There were also instructors for the not so experienced adults. Nice place, although I can't compare it with other places.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armidale, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Skiing in Hlíðarfjall (Hlidarfjall)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Really good lifts and facilities. Good friendly service in the ski rental/hire, desk/office, and elsewhere. Prices were reasonable. There is even a free children's area with a free ski "travelator". The prices for the ski lifts and hire are reasonable, see web site. The food was good too. It is a big plus how close Hlíðarfjall is to town only a short drive. Note that there are plans to build a new main building etc on Hlíðarfjall so things will change, see http://landpostur.is/news/miklar_breytingar_i_hlidarfjalli_i_vaendum/

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hlidarfjall Akureyri also viewed

Akureyri, Northeast Region
Akureyri, Northeast Region
 
Akureyri, Northeast Region
 

Been to Hlidarfjall Akureyri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hlidarfjall Akureyri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.