We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Art deco but stuck in the past” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Kea to your Saves list
Hotel Kea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hafnarstraeti 87 - 89, Akureyri IS-602, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Akureyri
Eastleigh, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Art deco but stuck in the past”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

The hotel has an impressive lobby and is very good art deco design throughout, but it is very tired and not looked after. The room we had was large but the base sheet was torn and the first thing we noticed upon entering the room. The cleanliness was a problem as it was dusty and the shower had years of grime and mould built up as well as fingerprints on the glass. Despite this the hotel was well placed and the breakfast had a great selection.
Happy hour at the bar was quite early but during that time there never seemed to be anyone at the bar and when someone did serve they never had any change. One night the server was in the back of the bar doing something in the rstsurant and we called her for service, we took a seat as we knew she' d take time. Then others stood at the bar after us and she served them first. Surgice to say we left.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    112
    46
    9
    5
See reviews for
29
118
11
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Excellent location! Just at the foot hill of Akuryrakirkja (the famous landmark church) and right in the middle of all the excitement. Its only a 5 minute drive from the airport too.
The hotel premises is well maintained and looks brand new even though its not. We got a room with a balcony facing the mountains. It was marvellous. Not only was the room spacious enough, but also beautiful and thoroughly comfortable in every way.
The breakfast was good. Service too. Very understanding and courteous staff, if not too friendly.
We had an excellent stay!

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the mountains. You may even catch the Northern Lights from your balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located by the downtown stores with many restaurants nearby. The community pool is just up the hill, close enough to easily walk to. The staff were friendly and helpful - when I had a question about my room and asked a maid, she couldn't help but went and found someone who did speak english; problem solved! The front desk helped with local attractions and had lots of good advice. Breakfast was great with lots of variety, both hot and cold dishes. The room (fifth floor) was quiet and very comfortable. Free wifi.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Kea for four nights in October. The location is great being close to several excellent restaruants as other reviews have noted. It is located literally at the bottom of the steps of the Cathedral and a short (uphill) walk to the swimming pool and the Icelandair hotel.
Getting to the hotel by taxi from the airport costs about Kr20000 and less than a 15 minute drive away (tip: you have to call for a taxi if you want one; there is a phone in the baggage claim area and the phone number is also posted by the taxi stand, which is located kitty-corner on the right hand side as you leave the building). The service at the hotel is excellent, free internet in the room and a computer in the lobby for use, which I used for printing. The breakfast is pretty standard as you would find in many Icelandic hotels with a good variety of food on offer. The room size is just right for 1-2 travellers; enough to feel cosy but not stifled and the bathroom was clean. Unlike other hotels I've stayed in while in Iceland, Hotel Kea has a European feel throughout, which was nice. The staff was aso friendly and helpful during my stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Hotel KEA have charm of the best 1980ish hotels in Iceland. In Reykjavik at that time it was Hotel Holt, Hotel Saga and Loftleidir and in Akureyri it was Hotel KEA. KEA is the only hotel who look the same, simular breakfast buffet, interior and spirit.

Polite and nice staff, clean and first class rooms with the charm of 1980ish. This was the time when Saturday Night Fever was no.1 and spaceshuttle was going 1rst time to space.

They kept everything so clean and tighty there, it is like you have gone 30-40 years back in time. Great experince and the Hotel is as good or better as any new 4* Hotels, and will go back any time.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with view over the church or over the pond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This is a great little hotel right where you want to be! We circumnavigated the entire island of Iceland and this was by far my favorite hotel. The town itself is adorable and cute with lots of great shops, cafes, and restaurants. Rooms were comfortable and clean. The best thing by far was its location! I wouldn't stay anywhere else when I return!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosta, Malta
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We visited between 13 & 15 September 2013. We had a room on the top floor so could hear the rain pelt the glass roof in the corridor but the room was quiet, clean spacious and comfortable. The view overlooked the cross road and could see the sea and across the fjord - perfect to have a good idea of the weather outside. Staff were helpful and courteous. Breakfast was standard for Iceland but a good selection of stuff. Enjoyed the stay, wonderful place, wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: We had room overlooking the sea. Nice view better than overlooking steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kea

Address: Hafnarstraeti 87 - 89, Akureyri IS-602, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Northeast Region > Akureyri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Akureyri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kea 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mid 20th-century hotel located in the heart of Akureyri, the gateway to the rich natural splendor of northeast Iceland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Kea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kea Hotel Akureyri

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.