We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best stay we had during our Iceland trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bjarnargerdi Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bjarnargerdi Guesthouse to your Saves list
Bjarnargerdi Guesthouse
Sveinbjarnargerdi, Akureyri, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 23 Akureyri B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of the best stay we had during our Iceland trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We really loved our stay in this Guesthouse. The owner were very welcoming. Plenty of space, the kitchen was OK for preparing our meals. Everything very clean. The view on the fjord was very nice, especially when you enjoy a warm hotpot looking at the sun coming down. We had our clothes cleaned up for free ! No problem with the Wi-Fi and Akureyri is very near from the Guesthouse.
We warmly recommand this stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    12
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
4
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pinerolo
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed there just one night. We were travelling as a family of three, we got a double room with a rollaway bed and bathroom, in the building which is a kind of big apartment, that can also be rented by large groups. We did appreciate the hot thub outside, just one step out of the bedroom, after a whole day of strong and cold wind! The kitchen was well equipped, it was all for us on that night. The common room looks over the bay and the mountains. The people who welcome us were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lüneburg
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed one night here. The room was very well equipped and clean. The free WIFI was always working and reasonable fast.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Stayed one night in the apartment unit. It was very spacious for three of us and plenty of room in the living room. However the other facilities such as cooking utensils, coffee & tea supplies, etc were not available. The front desk has a telephone and you need to give a call to get someone to check-in to your room. Free Wi-Fi is available in the unit but it was very slow. There are other units available in a separate building and they appeared to be reasonably good. The beds are comfortable and we had a good night sleep after a long drive from Geysir to Akureyri via mountain road F35 (Kjoller Road).

You need to go to a nearby hotel for the breakfast and we found that B/F is very good. We will give a miss to this place if we happened to be in this area next time.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bjarnargerdi Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bjarnargerdi Guesthouse

Address: Sveinbjarnargerdi, Akureyri, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Northeast Region > Akureyri
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Akureyri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bjarnargerdi Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bjarnargerdi Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.