We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location right on the sea, comfortable beds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skjaldarvik Guest House

Save Saved
You added Skjaldarvik Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Skjaldarvik Guest House
2.5 of 5 Guest house   |   Road 816 | Skjaldarvik, Akureyri 601, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 22 Akureyri B&B and Inns
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful location right on the sea, comfortable beds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

A lovely guesthouse, with a great view, horses, dogs and chickens. The beds are the most comfortable I have come across in Iceland. the rooms are big. Breakfast and dinner were very good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the sea. Bring a swimsuit, the hotpot at midnight is magical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    28
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
53
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Although only for a night, our stay at this guesthouse was fantastic for so many reasons

Helpful, inviting hosts. We arrived WAY earlier than check-in time, but Disa was super accommodating, as were her daughters, at showing us our room and getting us settled. We were planning on heading to Akureyri after checking in, and visiting the public pool, and our hosts graciously gave us some towels for the road.

SIDE NOTE: VISIT THE POOL IN AKUREYRI! The best in Iceland in our opinion, having visited countless ones on a daily basis during our trip in Iceland.

Back to Skjaldarvik Guesthouse: The place is an old retirement home, and despite having this "hospital" nursing home structure to it, the family has done a fantastic job at adding all these homey touches everywhere. The place is filled with artistic, romantic, creative touches everywhere.... I can't applaud them enough at the fantastic job they have done with the place! We spent a lot of time in the communal lounge which has a fantastic view on the fjord and is very cozy, as well as equipped with a self-serve bar based on the honour system. Although we did not use the hot pot (we swam all afternoon in Akureyri!), it really has a phenomenal location and we hope to come back and use it one day!

Our room was very spacious, and with a lovely view on the fjord. Beautiful views everywhere.

Breakfast was included, and was perfect for our needs. Fruit, cheese, bread, marmalades, meats, the usual continental fare... and Disa made delicious cookies!

In short, fantastic hosts, beautiful remodelled property, lovely and cozy common area, beautiful fjord-mountain side location, a lovely and romantic farm, and just outside of Akureyri. Perfect for us.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view on the fjord!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

I stumbled across the posting for Skjaldarvik and decided to book it at the last minute. My decision was sooo right! What a perfect spot Disa and Ólli have, right on the shores of the fjord. The location is really easy to find, just one turn off hwy1, 6km north of Akureyri. I was able to visit the surrounding area, including Húsavík and Myvatn Nature Baths, all based from Skjaldarvik. It is evident that Disa and Ólli have poured their heart and soul into this place, it is truly a magical destination. The free wifi was very handy to upload my daily photos, and keep on top of email. Disa prepares the food lovingly from scratch, including fresh bread every morning and jams. They get fresh eggs from their chickens every day. The decor had personal touches which completely added to the ambiance. The rooms were comfortable with either a king size or twin beds, and incredible views across the fjord, down duvets and crisp linens. The common area was quite relaxing, and the honour bar was much appreciated as I enjoyed a glass of wine in the outdoor hot pot, watching the sun set (at 11pm). I didn't get a chance to go horseback riding, Disa and Olli's daughter helps run that part of the business. I sadly had to leave to return to Reykjavik after 2 days, and it was difficult to drive away. I would recommend this to my friends or anyone looking for a quiet and gorgeous spot. I will also make an effort to visit Disa and Ólli again someday!!! þakka þér!!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

From the moment we arrived at the Skjaldarvik Farm Stay we were greeted with friendliness -- first from two sweet dogs, a group of clucking chickens, then by the friendly owners who showed us all the amenities and to our comfortable rooms. Right from the bed, we had a beautiful view of the fjord and the mountains beyond, and the hotel itself was sparking clean. They also serve an outstanding, and very beautiful breakfast! I couldn't stop taking pictures of the artful presentation of the food and the dining area.

As an added treat, the co-owner, Oli, asked if we would like to help feed the horses. This was a lot of fun, as the horses were sweet, gentle and enjoyed being fed goodies from a box filed with various breads.

At the end of our stay I tried making reservations at a hotel back in Reykjavic, and was surprised to find that all of the hotels were booked or not available. Disa, the other co-owner of the hotel, was fantastic at helping us locate and make reservations at a guesthouse. (Thank you so much Disa for helping us!)

All together, this was a delightful place to stay if you are exploring the northern part of Iceland and Lake Myvatn. We would definitely come back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the fjord side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

Located just north outside of Akureyri proper, off the main Ring Road, and along the shore of the fjord Eyjafjordur. We thought we made a wrong turn ending up at some type of office building or school. A family with Icelandic horses soon came up along the road, and we discovered they were the guest house owners so we were in the right place! It doesn’t really look like a guest house, but upon entering you can see it is well kept inside and furnished with personal touches from owners Disa, Oli and their 3 daughters. We only stayed overnight after a long drive along the Ring Road, but wished we could have stayed longer! It was the off-season so we had the place mostly to ourselves. Many rooms were empty so we could peek inside the open doors to see the different rooms which varied in size with each decorated for a unique look and personality. Single rooms were small but quite comfortable with a sink/mirror and no bathroom. Each common bathroom and shower room is also decorated differently. Some shower rooms are very large and set up well for the handicapped. We found out that the guest house used to be a retirement home explaining its hospital-like layout. Local Icelandic sweaters, goods, and handicrafts are displayed throughout the house and available for purchase. In front to one end of the property there is a small grove of trees with a nice sitting area. On the fjord-side is a big hot-tub where we were comfortably warm under the chilly Icelandic night sky, sitting in the thermally fed water, and talking with other guests. We were disappointed to learn that the night before our stay had clear skies where the hot-tubbers sat watching the Aurora Borealis dancing overhead. Another plus is the lounge with comfortable sofas, a library, and “honor” bar at the end of the east wing with large windows offering views of the fjord and mountains opposite. A small dining area is located off the front hallway where a breakfast buffet is served in the morning. You can book dinner but we didn’t do that during our stay. The property is not really in walking distance to Akureyri, and there’s not much nearby. However, if you want to relax and enjoy the peace and quiet in the countryside along an Icelandic fjord then this is it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

The location is lovely and the owners are extremely nice. The outdoor hot tub and showers are also fun - though I'd have liked a slightly hotter tub!
They have a nice bar with an honor code so you can take what you want and pay later.
Our breakfast was unbelievably delicious - great homemade bread.
The only major drawback to the place is that it is clearly a former hospital/rehabilitation center and it can feel a little sterile. If you've spent any time in facilities like this, you'll not be very comfortable here - as it can give you the chills. Otherwise, great place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

Very convenient location, good views and big, clean rooms. The view from the hot pot (hot tub) is exceptional and breakfast was particularly good. The one downside is the room doors only close if you bang them really loud. Everyone in lodging was quiet but at night you could hear doors banging as that was only way to close them.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Skjaldarvik Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skjaldarvik Guest House

Address: Road 816 | Skjaldarvik, Akureyri 601, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Northeast Region > Akureyri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Akureyri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Skjaldarvik Guest House 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Skjaldarvik Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skjaldarvik Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.