We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Icelandair Hotel Akureyri

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Icelandair Hotel Akureyri to your Saves list
Icelandair Hotel Akureyri
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Thingvallastraeti 23, Akureyri, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Akureyri
berkeley
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here recently for 2 nights as a part of an Icelandic Air package. The hotel is beautifully decorated in a clean Scandinavian style. I chose to pay extra (about $30/night) for a room on the top (5th) floor with a lovely view out over the fjord and part of the town and to have wifi included. Unlike the Icelandair Hotel Natura in Reykjavik, when you purchase this upgrade they will allow multiple devices for the wifi use. In the latter hotel, you must pay for wifi each day for *each* device. Still cranky about that.

The staff are superb. Very helpful, very friendly. The included breakfast was more than adequate even though there was no hot meats/potatoes/eggs. You can make your own waffle, and then there's cereals, hot porridge, hard-boiled eggs, pickled herring and condiments, sliced cheeses and cold meats, breads and spreads, fruit, Skyr..... so interesting to see a bottle of cod liver oil available! ;) Beside the reception desk you can purchase sandwiches, drinks, candy and such for a reasonable price. Sandwiches were 750 kr. I had a sandwich for dinner both nights and they were fresh and quite tasty. A welcome specialty bar drink came with my package and it was yummy. I didn't utilize the wine bar/bar otherwise but it looked like a brilliant system they had set up.

My room was great. I had no trouble with the shower water escaping. The room size was just fine for my use. The bed and bedding were lovely. I don't mind sleeping with a sheeted duvet. The room was very quiet.

Town buses are free and there's a stop right outside the hotel. I know some people walked into town but I chose to bus. It's very quick to get into town, and the ride back takes a while but gives you a tour of residential areas that I found interesting.

One of the best things about this hotel is that it's across the street from the town geothermal-heated pool complex - with maybe 9 different pools. It was fantastic. I wish I'd had time to go there every day.

Excellent facility. Really fine staff. Very pleased.

Room Tip: I was given the choice of a fjord or a mountain view. I chose fjord, but in retrospect, I would have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    146
    37
    2
    0
See reviews for
36
168
36
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hafnarfjordur, Iceland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Warm winter wonderland

Me my husband and our 2 kids stayed at icelandair hotel Akureyri at the first weekend in February for a ski holyday - and had a wonderful time.
The Icelandair Hotel Akureyri is gratly located for skiing and other activities for the Akureyri aria. It´s short walking distains from the town center and right by the nice swimming pool they have in Akureyri.
The family rooms well designed with good beds and they also look smart. We were rely comfortable the 4 of us.
The hotel has good lockers for your skiing gear so you don't need to take any of it into your room, and the atmosphere of the hotel is nice with reindeer and sheep skin – it´s a warm winter wonderland.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Akureyri and are very pleased. The rooms are very nice and extremely clean and offer view that make you feel special.
The food in the bar on the ground floor is good and very tasty. Staff is very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Checked in for a weekend, the hotel is new and very nice. Rooms just a litlle bit to small for my, but since everything is new, i forgive that. I skipped breakfast, but went for a little pricey brunch on Sunday morning. Just around the corner we have the Swimming pool, delighted with that. 10 minute stroll to downtown Akureyri. Will return. Wifi sucks. P.S. They sell Wine cards for the wine automat. Be sure to buy them at happy hour ( 50% off. btw. 17:00 - 19:00)

Room Tip: Ask for a room that looks at the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardabaer
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Me and my wife stayed for two nights with a big group of people. The rooms are rather small, but very well designed. The hotel is quite new and the quality and cleanliness of the rooms reflected that. The staff was very accommodating and the lobby was a great place to meet and hang out. The location is good, right next to one of the greatest swimming pools in Iceland, and a relatively short walk downtown (up a quite steep hill on the way back actually). Will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The view is great from the top floors facing east.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights between 22 and 24th February 2013. I was on Northern Lights in Akureyri package with Icelandair. This hotel is really great. Lobby is very, very nice. Staff at reception is fantastic and very helpful. My room was ready 20 minutes after check-in time which is 2.00 pm. I didn't mind to wait at main lobby as it was great place to relax and I was offered free tea.
Rooms are big, clean, comfortable and very well designed with walk-in shower at the one side of the room and walk-in toilet and sink and the other side. Long bench to sit on with some space for luggage below and plasma TV I didn't have time to turn on are another pluses.
As I was busy during both days I decided to stay in the hotel for dinners twice instead of going out to the town. Food in restaurant was excellent and staff quick and efficient.
Local swimming pool (probably the best minicipal pool in whole Iceland) is across the street and you get free entrance ticket from reception. The walk to the town is around 10 minutes so its not a big deal (Akureyri is very compact).
I normally don't write reviews but this hotel was so nice I decided to share my opinion.
I really enjoyed my stay there and Akureyri itself which in winter is not overcrowded with tourist. Once you land at the airport you will want to grab your camera and start taking pictures (that's what I did).
I hope I will come back there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Nice hotel, very pleasant, helpful staff. I didn't get up for breakfast on either of the 2 mornings I was there, but had brunch at the weekend which although typically Islandically expensive, was delicious. Dinner again although expensive was of a very high standard, and again the staff was excellent. Room was clean, warm and modern. There was free internet access in the lobby, which was helpful. Town was a c 7 minute walk away and although the return journey was uphill it was very do-able. Nothing out of the ordinary or special but a clean comfortable relaxed hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms on level one are below reception level, with no views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Icelandair Hotel Akureyri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icelandair Hotel Akureyri

Address: Thingvallastraeti 23, Akureyri, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Northeast Region > Akureyri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Akureyri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Icelandair Hotel Akureyri 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Icelandair Hotel Akureyri is your comfy base camp to enjoy and experience Iceland's beautiful North. Stay and play in our vibrant Northern capital, with its many shops, restaurants, local events and friendly people. Explore the amazing countryside, full of some of Iceland's most amazing natural attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Icelandair Hotel Akureyri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Icelandair Hotel Akureyri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.