We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Icelandair Hotel Akureyri

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Icelandair Hotel Akureyri to your Saves list
Icelandair Hotel Akureyri
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Thingvallastraeti 23, Akureyri, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Akureyri
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Really nice stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Just before Christmas we had a 'Northern Lights' break with Icelandair. The Akureyri Icelandair hotel was excellent; we actually upgraded for a very small sum so that we had a room overlooking the delightful town of Akureyri and the estuary. The hotel restaurant was particularly good. We can recommend the additional organised trips and especially enjoyed the whale watching excursion. Also you should go on the one to Lake Myvatn just to eat arctic char at the Cowshed restaurant. Well done Icelandair - very friendly and well organised.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    156
    37
    4
    0
See reviews for
42
183
39
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
huddersfield, England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We came here a week before Christmas and most of the activity seemed to be centred around here (most of the shops and restaurants were quiet in Akureyri and some even closed without warning). There were a number of office Christmas parties taking advantage of the Xmas buffet in the restaurant. This was very good but (as always in Iceland) take a deep breath before you look at the bill.

The modern but 'office-like' windows seem at odds with a hotel but a review further down says it is was previously a technical college (that explains it then)

Defintely good for the geothermal baths next door (two outdoor mid sized, laned swimming pools plus jacuzzi and steam rooms) Get your free tickets from reception. Take note that the school children use this pool for their lessons but were well behaved and only used one pool while we were there. Remember to strictly observe the hygeine rules (leave boots outside changing room, shower naked beforehand). We took the hotel robes but you can probably hire some there.

Although its a small town you can get by without any cash at all. If we needed to go out of town (e.g. to the ski hill) the reception would call us a taxi and all of them accept credit cards.

It is downhill to town and a little treacherous in winter but you can borrow crampons from reception - no really!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The rooms are very modern and clean. The staff is very helpful. Because the hotel is uphill from downtown and the sidewalks and streets are icy, you'll want cleats if you are there in winter (the hotel has some pairs available). The breakfast buffet was good - more fresh fruit than you would guess in Northern Iceland! The restaurant had a good selection of local delicacies and the staff was very friendly. Our only complaint was that the toilet was on one side of the room and the shower on the other. This caused us a bit more cross-room traffic than usual. We would definitely stay here again. .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This hotel was previously a technical college converted 2 yrs ago to a hotel. Rooms are nice. The staff was outstanding! It sits across from the geothermal pool which is very nice!! The breakfast is very nice and if you decide to have dinner there it is also very good! If you decide to do a tour book it immediately as we waited too long and didn't get to go on the tour we wanted. I really enjoyed this town. small and quaint. We did the whale watching tour and saw some humpback whales. Dress warm with layers if going in the winter.

Room Tip: make sure to book your tours as soon as you check in as they are limited in size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, MD
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We had to walk down a very icy hill to get to town. We took a cab back! The hotel is new and very comfortable. Rooms were ready very quickly for our morning arrival. The buffet breakfast was very nice though not as extensive as the one at the Natura in Reykjavik.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

The lobby/lounge has a warm, inviting atmosphere and the front desk is efficient and helpful. My room has a modern look and large windows with a view. It is very comfortable. Across the street is the town swimming pool and sauna which is excellent and inexpensive. Breakfast is good. Staying at this hotel and spending time at the pool is one of the best vacation experiences I have had.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Icelandair Hotel Akureyri a couple of weeks ago while on a very
quick Northern Lights tour of Iceland. Loved Akureyri and the hotel was really very, very
nice----new, clean, comfortable, and very quiet. It was a bit of a hike up the hill from the main part of town,
but we needed the exercise and it didn't hurt us at all. Town is delightful. We enjoyed the
welcome drink at the hotel (a hot rum drink---mostly apple juice) and the lobby there is warm
and welcoming. Breakfast buffet was fine, although nothing to rave about. Located directly
across the street from the city's swim center with different degrees of heated pools and such,
it is a great location and a good way to spend a cold afternoon or evening after touring the
sights. All the hotel's service workers were friendly and helpful at all times. Would give this
hotel a two thumbs-up.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Icelandair Hotel Akureyri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icelandair Hotel Akureyri

Address: Thingvallastraeti 23, Akureyri, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Northeast Region > Akureyri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Akureyri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Icelandair Hotel Akureyri 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Icelandair Hotel Akureyri is your comfy base camp to enjoy and experience Iceland's beautiful North. Stay and play in our vibrant Northern capital, with its many shops, restaurants, local events and friendly people. Explore the amazing countryside, full of some of Iceland's most amazing natural attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Icelandair Hotel Akureyri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Icelandair Hotel Akureyri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.