We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic tours” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Traveling Viking

The Traveling Viking
Akureyri, Iceland
+354 896 3569
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 18 Activities in Akureyri
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Traveling Viking is a family run tour company in Akureyri.We focus on high quality tours around Iceland with focus on the North. Our Game of Thrones tour is the original one, chosen by the producers of GoT.
Anlaby
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic tours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We did two tours. One to Lake Myvatn area. This was an excellent trip very informative and knowledgeable guide. Stopped off for lunch at lovely restaurant, which is obviously a well kept Icelandic secret. Second trip was whale watching, managed to see humpback whales. Sea fishing on the way back anyone could have a go. Mainly Coley was caught but one of our group fished a cod, Fish was filleted, bagged ready for cooking, no charge. Another enjoyable trip. Would use this company again if we were lucky enough to be visiting Iceland in the future

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    2
    0
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia, Cyprus
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Day to remember in Akyreyri”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We have used recently the services of the Traveling Viking during our visit in Akureyri, and we have only the best things to say about the company and our guide, Lidja. We visited the lake Myvatn, the pseudo craters nearby, the spectacular lava fields and also the sulphur mines. We also had the chance to relax and take a bath in a lagoon near a geothermal plant! All in all a great experience, thanx!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not good tour”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

With so many rave reviews, our expectations for this day tour were perhaps too high. We were looking forward to this trip but were disappointed as we travelled on the old and not comfortable van leaving Akureyri with an mostly silent driver. Our drive to Lake Myvatn had many exellent view points but I had read more on the internet before coming to Iceland then what our guide could inform us with. I think the viking is lovely and I truly hope the business goes well - but I just think this day he wasn't particularly good.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
“Northern Wonders - such a great exprerience !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

As I decided to join the "Northern Wonders" daytrip, I've never expected that there would be so many great memories which will stay forever. I guess there's no better way exploring the greatest parts of North Iceland than with the "Travelling Wiking". The presentation of our guide Kristján was full of knowledge and enthusiasm. He responded to the demand of our very young group and entertained us very well. The combination of the amazing and breathtaking countryside and the personal guidance made up such a great day.
I would always recomment it!!

Sophia

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Great day out with The Trav. Viking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Cannot speak to highly of this small family run company. Our experience, from first contact, thru' enquiry, to some 'phone calls with Jon Thor to complete booking and pick up on the day, was a delight. The driver/guide for our tour to Akureyri (for whale watching - yes we saw humpback) was Kristjan who made a really good day into a Great One. He had all the usual tourist info you would expect but also talked, just the right amount, about so much more besides. He was phased by nothing - our small boat was cancelled due to the sea conditions so off we went get us booked onto a larger one that was sailing. His concern extended to worrying about us and the rough seas to the extent that he was waiting by the berth when we docked and looked relieved to see 2 smiling happy clients back on shore. He was always ready to point out some thing of interest that one might have missed as we drove back via Godafoss waterfall (amazing!!).
Mention should be made that we were the only 2 booked but they still went ahead with the trip and I believe we had what someone else referred to as an old van - I think you will find it is their original 8 seater minibus built with off road ability - which allowed Kristjan to give us the added joy of a short gravel track trip right by the coast itself (no place for big coach needing tarmac) - it was clean comfortable and Kristjan, informed us powerful and extremely reliable.
Do yourself a favour go small, go extremely personal and (particularly if off of a cruise ship) get great value for money. A definite recommendation from these 2 happy travellers!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Traveling Viking also viewed

Akureyri, Northeast Region
Akureyri, Northeast Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Myvatn, Northeast Region
 

Been to The Traveling Viking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Traveling Viking, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.