Even though I had made my reservation more than a month in advance, it still took forever for them to get back to me every time I needed to contact them. A week before I arrived they sent me an email asking me to call when I was on my way, but they did not pick up the phone. When we did arrive, we called again and had to wait quite some time for somebody to come let us in. When somebody did come, he acted like it was an inconvenience for him. Then he charged me for more than the room I had reserved and when I asked about it he said something about the rates being different depending on the country you are from. He charged us for a room with a bathroom (most rooms share a bathroom), but our bathroom in the room had no working lights, so we had to use the communal bathroom anyway. Not that it mattered, since we were the only ones there. We were also told before hand that we would be able to use the hot tub and the washer and drier. When we got there, the hot tub was dirty and full of leaves, and there was no washer or drier to be found. Our room was clean and decently decorated, but items that other guests had forgotten were left out in the open. The kitchen had flies (in November) and to use the Wi-Fi you had to sit in the living room as close to the router as you could get. In the evening, we opened what we thought was a closet door in the kitchen while looking for a broom, and it turned out to be a staircase straight into the apartment of the family that lives down stairs. All in all, not a great experience.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I'm sorry to hear that your stay was not pleasant at all and it's good to get this review because if we don´t know what is wrong with our service, we can´t improve so thank you for posting.
Report response as inappropriate
However I do want to answear and explain.
# During wintertime (off-season) we only have one staff member to answear phone and e-mails and unfortunately he did not pick up the phone at your first call. We also tell all our customers that we are usually not at the guesthouse so it may take us few minutes to come and welcome our guests, it usually takes about 3-15 minutes and depends on traffic and where we are at the moment we get the call.
# I'm sorry that you felt like you were not welcome, I´ve noticed him about you review and expirience.
# Regarding overcharging, I found your booking confirmation. You did booke a double room with private bathroom at 8400 ISK and you were also charged for a double room with private bathroom (8400 ISK). I don't know why you think you were overcharged, our booking was based on your e-mail were the price was also listed. We also do ask our guests at arrival, before we do accept payment if the room and price is right.
# There is no different rates depending on what country you are from. We are obligated to ask our guests about their nationality since we do have to keep track on overnight stays and nationality for the Statistics department of Iceland.
# The hot tub is not in use during wintertime except for bigger groups. I don't know who told you that you could use it but it has been like this for years and I sure that my staff did not tell you that it would be filled with water and ok to use.
# The washer and dryer are downstairs and free of charge for our guests. If you would have asked we would have showed you where to find them and how to use. We always ask our guests if they have any questions or need any help.
# We have flies all year around, you can also find the in December and January so I don't know how we can keep them out, it's just part of nature.
# The Wi-fi router is not in the living room it's kept downstairs so it should not matter where you sit to get connection.
# The staircase leads to the ground floor of the guesthouse. There is no family living there. During that time we had University students staying there. You can find the laundry room downstairs as well as another kichen, toilet and TV Lounge.
# Regarding no light in the bathroom. We are only one phone call away and would have changed the lightbulb immediately if we would have known.
I do hope you had an amazing time here in Iceland and that the unpleasant stay at our guesthouse did not ruin your vacation. Thank you again for writing this review. It's good to get reviews, both negative and positive.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.