We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Icelandic hospitality at its best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Countryhotel Sveinbjarnargerdi

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Akureyri
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Countryhotel Sveinbjarnargerdi
Save
You added Countryhotel Sveinbjarnargerdi to your Saves list
Sveinbjarnagerdi 2, Akureyri 601, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 24 Akureyri B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Schiedam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Icelandic hospitality at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

We stayed two nights in this hotel in october, as part of a 16-day tour round the island. Although there were very few other guests (the first night we we the only guests), the owner went out of his way to make sure we had a pleasant stay. He cooked us a lovely 3-course dinner each night, which was the best we had in Iceland: the soup I will never forget, the fish was well prepared, tasted lovely. Candles were lit, he prepared the hot tub for us, lighted the fireplace as soon as we entered the public area. Definitely the best example of Icelandic hospitality that we have experienced.
The hotel itself has a pleasant athmosphere, nice, clean rooms. Its location outside of Akureyri makes it quiet and a perfect place to stay for visiting Akureyri as well doing some daytrips in the environment, on which the hotel staff can advise you.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    16
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
110 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

A well-maintained hotel with a view along the hillsides overlooking the water. It is only a short drive to Akureyri. Friendly staff greeted us and offered a lot of suggestions on where to visit. While the bathroom was a bit small, it was very clean, and the room featured hardwood floors. There was plenty of common area space at the reception with a fireplace.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enschede NL
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

About 15 kilometers east of Akureyri you'll find the countryhotel Sveinbjarnargerdi. A nice, comfortable country hotel with a great view on the bay connecting Akureyri to the Greenland Sea. I must confess that when we visited the hotel there was a clear-blue sky but nonetheless....
And if you want to visit Akureyri you can drive down the A1 easily into the city centre.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

The Sveinbjarnargerdi  Hotel is located 15 km north of the town of Akureyri and is just off the highway.  Myvatn is only an hour away.  There were very few guests in the hotel when we arrived but there was a welcoming fireplace in the lobby.  Parking is available at the side of the hotel and is convenient and free.

The hotel provides a buffet breakfast with fresh home-made bread and jams amongst other things.  During our stay, the hotel owner offered us bacon and eggs to go with our buffet - delicious.  WiFi is not available in the rooms but is available in the comfortable lobby and is free.

There is an outdoor hot tub which is open 24 hours.  We found that the temperature of the water is usually set at 38 degrees and is not hot enough for our liking.  On pointing this out to the young man at the desk he said he could easily raise the setting to 40 degrees. The hot tub is a great place to sit and soak at night and look out for the northern lights.

It was a very comfortable stay for two nights at this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

On a 10 day roundtrip we stayed one night in this countryhotel as most places in Akureyri were fully booked. The location is not ideal as it is about a 20 minutes drive to the city. Since we had our own car this was not a big problem for us.

The entrance hall of the hotel is very nicely decorated and the welcome was very warm. The owner gave us good tips on the area and also gave us a discount voucher for a restaurant in downtown Akureyr. We went there for dinner and it was very good.

The rooms are basic but clean and comfortable. Wifi is free and reliable.

The breakfast next morning was also quite basic with limited choice.

The price was not cheap, but then again, no hotels in Iceland seem to be cheap.

All in all a good stay as long as you know what to expect.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

We stayed for 1 night in this clean and very nice hotel. 15 minutes from Akureyri by car. Very helpfull staff.

Room Tip: frontside had nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

On arrival we were very nicely welcomed by dutch staff member Franz (well, we hope it's the right spelling) and he showed us our room eventhough we arrived early that day.

The room was spacious with a large comfortable bed and a desk with a TV.
The bathroom was quiet small, but who wants to sleep in the bath anyways?!
The room was very clean as well as the bathroom.
WiFi was availabe free of charge, we just needed to get to the recption for the log in key.
Breakfast was loads and the self baked bread was just georgeous.

Franz gave us really good sightseeing tipps for the rest of our holiday. He even lighted a fire in the open fireplace in the lobby while we were talking. GREAT!

Unfortunately we only stayed there for one night but you can easily stay in this hotel for a longer period of time.

The hotel also serves dinner in their restaurant but as we were only two couples staying in the hotel the restaurant was closed. But Franz gave us a good tipp for a restaurant in Akureyri and also a discount voucher for this restaurant.

We can highly recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Countryhotel Sveinbjarnargerdi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Countryhotel Sveinbjarnargerdi

Address: Sveinbjarnagerdi 2, Akureyri 601, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Northeast Region > Akureyri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Akureyri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Countryhotel Sveinbjarnargerdi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.