We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best located hotel ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Glymur

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Glymur to your Saves list
Hotel Glymur
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Hvalfjorder (Whale Fjord) - Northern Shore, Akranes, Iceland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
January & February offer
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Akranes
London, England
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best located hotel ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2006

Stayed there for my last two days in Iceland. Best hotel we tried. Best located hotel there is. The food and the staff were very good and the owners were so nice as well. Mountain side hot tubs to relax with a cold lager in hand wathcing the Northern Lights. You can not go wrong with that. We will be staying at this hotel again, and we think that this is a must stay place when in Iceland.

Then we found out that we could have stayed there for the most of our trips as pretty much all the spots we saw and wanted to see where within a day driving distance.

  • Liked — The hot tubs
  • Disliked — To leave
  • Tips/Secrets — Try the special Icelandic smoked lamb
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    71
    21
    9
    2
See reviews for
54
207
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton ,England
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2006

Having read the reviews on Trip Advisor I booked 3 nights at the Glymur during our recent 11 day stay in Iceland, we were not disappointed. The hotel is situated off the road on a hillside overlooking the fjord, and although the pink painted building is a little eye catching, everything is top class.
The rooms, split level with lounge downstairs and bedroom up stairs, are excellent, we had a fantastic view over the fjord. The highlight ,like for many, was sitting in the hot tubs, glass of cold lager, drinking in the amazing view. That memory will keep me going through many a long winter night! Thick white towels and bathrobes are in your rooms for use in the tubs.
The food was excellent, we had one of their buffet evening meals and although pricey, isn't everything in Iceland, was beautiful.
Would I go back? Yes please, like a shot.
This is a "must stay" in Iceland.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Use the hot tubs, even if it's raining!!!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2006

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Glymur for three days in August. (being it was the end of our trip to Iceland we regretted not staying our whole vacation there) We both thought it was truly the most incredible hotel experience that either of us have ever had. The staff (and owners) were amazing, the food was perfect (especially the soup). The view is incredibly soothing. It was magical, just magical, what more can I say.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — sulphur smell at times in shower
  • Tips/Secrets — ask about the elves
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2006

OK, Iceland has many, many wonderful qualities. Superb lodging is not one of them. But Hotel Glymur manages to rise above them all and excels on nearly all fronts....
1. Location: You can't beat its out of the way location and incredible views over the fjord....spectacular when sitting in one of their two outdoor hot pots, sipping an after dinner drink, and watching the sun go down (since it doesn't really set in the summer). If you're the serious hiking type, make sure to visit their namesake waterfall. A gorgeous hike, well worth the time/effort...t'would be a great picnic option.
2. Rooms: They're great. Recently redone, they are two-level "suites" with a living area downstairs and bedroom upstairs, and the new beds are very comfortable. (Of course, the bathroom being downstairs is a bit of a nuisance for those midnight runs, but...)
3. Food: The restaurant is outstanding! A good winelist (esp for Iceland) and excellent food. Not cheap, however, by any stretch. Breakfast was well done as well.
4. Staff: Great. Pleasant, accomodating, proactive.

If you're found of traditional U.S. high-end B&Bs or small Adirondack lodges, you'll love Glymur. It was the best lodging of our two weeks in Iceland and we'll definitely hed back.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Glymur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Glymur

Address: Hvalfjorder (Whale Fjord) - Northern Shore, Akranes, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > West Region > Akranes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Akranes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Glymur 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic boutique hotel, only 75 min from Keflavik International Airport. Located on a high hillside over viewing the sea. The hotel has 22 mini-suite, spa area, library, piano-bar, conference facilities and magical surroundings. The hotel has a large art collection and beautiful restaurant. Looking for something different? This is it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Glymur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glymur Hotel Akranes
Hotel Glymur Iceland/Akranes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Glymur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.